We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter Sunday lunch”

Miller & Carter Haywards Heath
Restaurant details
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Four of us went for lunch on Easter Sunday. The table was booked for 14:45 and we were a little early, but spoke to the staff anyway. We were escorted to our table and had a little nosey at what others were eating (which looked great).

Were scouting the menu for a long time (my fault), but weren't pushed into ordering and were given our drinks so we could chill and have a chat. The server appeared new (a little nervous) but she was very attentive and made sure that we were aware of what we could order, what the steaks come with etc. I was over the moon with the steak (and I am massively fussy); cooked perfectly and cut like butter. What makes a really beefy steak even better...MORE BEEF. The dripping gravy was not oily and made the steak taste superb.

Others on the table had a steak, ribs and the beetroot salad with....a steak. The beers were nice and so were my compatriots after dinner gins. It was also great to see Ali in the restaurant.

The staff all seemed really nice, and even with the guy in the grey suit singing as he walked through the restaurant (sorry mate...your song choice wasn't up my strasse) it was a really nice place to eat. Will definitely be back and will try the chicken next time round.

Thanks for a lovely afternoon.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andywhy10002000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Miller & Carter Haywards Heath, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for such a fantastic review. Im so pleased you enjoyed your time with us. Im particularly pleased you loved your steak. Thats great to hear. Hopefully we will see you again soon.
Kind reagrds

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (30)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

40 minute wait for lunch having told them on arrival we had one hour for lunch, they said no problem!! Unfriendly waitress who did not return to the table, had to eventually flag down another waitress. Food arrived in bits and some of it cold. Unable to have desert as informed it would take a while (said with attitude)! Is it really so hard to have timely hot food served with a smile...apparently so!!

    • Food
1  Thank Pinkymacpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Miller & Carter Haywards Heath, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

As a brand new business we face challenges everyday and thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that on this occassion you have felt let down. However, from your comments I will spend further time training and coaching my team and helping them to learn with different situations.
Thank you once again for your feedback and this will help us, to be able to learn, improve and move forwards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited this place last Tuesday, I have got to say that after reading some of the reviews, I was pleasantly surprised. The service was very good, the food was hot and tasty and the staff very friendly.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MIKE F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Miller & Carter Haywards Heath, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review. I hope to see you again soon.
Many thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Harry, the waiter, was very friendly and service was good. He explained all the options, but we didn't really see the point of the lettuce wedge. The onion loaf was crispy in parts but rather underdone in others. Steaks were lovely, cooked to our liking and so tender that we didn't require the steak knives. May be nice to offer a non carb option to the potatoes e.g. A green salad, or some veg. Desserts were lovely, but the spelling of mousse on the Easter special as moose, left us wondering how it was going to be served...!

Thank Lililt2608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Miller & Carter Haywards Heath, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review. Im so pleased you enjoyed your time with us and that Harry looked after you so well. Ill look into the onion loaf thank you for bringing this to my attention. If you should ever want a salad instead of a carb choice this is never an issue for us and we would be more than happy to supply it instead of potato. Im sorry you didnt like the lettuce wedge but glad to hear that the steaks were enjoyed to your liking. I hope to see you agan soon. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We ate at the resturant during their initial days of operation and the dining experience did not disappoint us. Finally a place to get PROPER steaks and not fillet or minute steaks. The food was wonderful, the selection of wines territfic, and the service attentive. Will definitely return again and again.

1  Thank TheGuys2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Miller & Carter Haywards Heath, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review. Im so happy you had a great time and enjoyed the steaks we provide. We look forward to seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miller & Carter Haywards Heath also viewed

Hassocks, West Sussex
Haywards Heath, West Sussex
 
Lindfield, Haywards Heath
Brighton, Brighton and Hove
 

Been to Miller & Carter Haywards Heath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing