We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Destinia.com
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,444)
Filter reviews
1,444 results
Traveler rating
821
322
167
84
50
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
821
322
167
84
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviews open fire thatched house lovely spa outdoor pool spa treatments main building the general manager four poster bed climping beach cream tea spa area steam room feature room relaxing break bed and breakfast beautiful room roll top bath
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 1,444 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2021

Just returned from an overnight stay at Bailiffscourt was nothing special considering it was a special occasion and the Hotel new about it not one person mentioned it during our stay ! could not get any beds around the pool full of day users so we had to sit outside after our swim on a blustery October day , did ask for some Biscuits to go with our tea but they weren't prepared to bring them to the spa , Evening meal was average also nothing special either l and not once did anybody ask if every thing was ok with the food or service . On leaving the restaurant we were not acknowledge by any member of staff also happened at Breakfast today as well . Think somebody needs to go and retrain certain members of staff on customer services as for the money we paid it should of been so much better ,

Date of stay: October 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank haddockSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2021

We had a fabulous stay. The hotel staff were welcoming and extremely helpful.
My daughter bought her dog and they could not have made us feel more comfortable having a dog in the hotel.
We had a delicious dinner, very comfortable rooms and it is in the most beautiful setting, I cannot fault it and long to return

Room tip: All the rooms are quiet. If you find walking hard you would be better with a ground floor room as there are no lifts
Date of stay: September 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 750Caroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2021 via mobile

The standard of food was very poor and not up to the standard of a supposedly prestigious establishment. The sandwiches were minute,very ordinary and thinly filled on cheap sliced bread. The cakes were nothing special, one was a blueberry muffin with a blob of cream on top. Where were the beautiful patisserie usually to be found on such occasions. The scones were ok.
Although we were shown to our table in the courtyard and tea arrived promptly we didn’t see any staff after that. We were not offered more tea or asked if everything was ok. The couple seated next to us had to go and look for a waiter to take their order.
It would have been nice if the stained grubby table had had a crisp white tablecloth on it.
We were told when booking that they had a problem with wasps….can I suggest they invest in some proper wasp catchers instead of a glass of what looked like beer with dead wasps floating in it.
We had been looking forward to having afternoon tea here, but it was a complete disappointment with no sense of occasion. For £50 for two I would expect much better.

Room tip: Don’t bother
Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Gill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2021

We had stayed here a few years back and had been throughly looked forward to our stay. We had chosen it as our last night away before our first born arrives. We wish we hadn’t!!
The spa was packed with day trippers leaving few beds for staying customers. When it rains there is nowhere to sit at all. The changing rooms and showers were shut which we understand due to covid but this made it tricky.
The shower in our room was non functional and we had to eat dinner with conditioner still in my hair!!
Our bed was two singles put together with only a thing sheet covering which meant you could feel the hard mattress edges.
Our room turned out to be an adjoining room. We could hear everything the other room was doing and was even woken up in the night to then counting!!
Housekeeping need to up their game. Cobwebs and dust in the room. A used glass from the previous occupants in the bathroom. The toilet hadn’t been flushed on arrival either.
We asked to switch rooms but the only two available were even worse.
The food was good though.
Not even remotely worth the high price tag. We have been fleeced!
To finish it all off having emailed the general manager once we had left to go home to shower and sleep, he doesn’t feel we are worthy of a reply or even a sorry

Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank 145emilyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2021

The hotel is in a very nice location, you can walk the grounds or take a longer stroll along the beach to Littlehampton.

Rooms are excellent with very nice decor, you can have modern or traditional as they have both here. Hotel was full but you would not have know it and there is plenty of space for everyone here. One plus is we had a small issue with our shower, it was fixed within an hour or so - no fuss just fixed.

Food is excellent and they have the balance right in portion size.

Service was a little haphazard during our stay but we put that down to new staff and the issues currently within hospitality.

Spa is very nice, plenty of space indoors and out. Again full on all days we were here but did not feel it, nice trick that now many places can pull off.

It is not cheap but these days you get what you pay for so if you are staying make sure you are on the Dinner, Bed and Breakfast rate. For example dinner is £55 per person.

The only thing stopping an excellent rating was the inconsistencies on the service front. We will return in the hope these get ironed out as we had an excellent break and our dogs loved the place.

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kevin121963
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews