We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel(Midsomer Norton)(Great Value!)
US$100
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$85/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 07/26
Book now, pay at stay
US$86
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 07/26
Book now, pay at stay
US$130
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$101/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 07/23
Book now, pay at stay
US$162
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$177
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Premier Inn Frome Hotel(Frome)(Great Value!)
US$86
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Woolpack Inn(Beckington)(Great Value!)
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$86/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Travelodge Beckington(Beckington)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$62
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Homewood Park Hotel & Spa(Hinton Charterhouse)
Free cancellation until 07/26
Book now, pay at stay
US$238
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 07/28
US$184
US$180
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (547)
Filter reviews
547 results
Traveler rating
367
105
43
19
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
367
105
43
19
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscowshed productsthe main housewalled gardencoach houseoutdoor poolstable blockspiral staircaseattic roomtennis courtscountry retreatfree standing bathspa treatmentssteam roomliving areamud treatmentmain restaurantopen fire
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 547 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

After a long drive from London we were immediately greeted with open arms. Bags taken to the room, car parked for us and a glass of Prosecco all within the first 10minutes of arrival!
The setting and grounds are beautiful, real British countryside. We even managed to have a bit of sun to enjoy the outside pool!
All the staff were very accommodating, friendly and personable.
The Spa was beautiful and even though we were late and missed our appointments on arrival, they were moved with no problem to the next morning.
Finally, the room was AMAZING! Spiral staircase, bathroom with and amazing view.
Will definitely return and recommend.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Kathryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 March 2018

Awful weather didn't spoil the occasion, the setting is breathtaking and the house with it's decor is inspiring. We loved the plush feel and the cosy but grand rooms. Our meal was very good, the staff were exceptionally helpful and polite. We had a great time and would love to try again in dry weather :)

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank priceey2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

Spent a night in the coach house and I was very impressed with the room. The lounge was clean and well furnished, the bathroom was well spacious with a walk through shower and a roll top bath. The bedroom was on a mizzen level. One of the best rooms we've stayed in.
The bar was nice and the restaurant was nice with a lovely atmosphere. The mini bar was a bit strange as I only wanted one or two JD's but would have to buy the whole bottle not a miniature. My wife had a few treatments in the spa and said they were very nice.
In all not a cheep hotel but a very nice one for a country break.

Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank sngriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 March 2018

I was a Babington believer. I've stayed there regularly over the last decade. And I've always loved it. For me no other hotel came close. Other hotels have better spas. Other hotels have better food. Other hotels have fancier rooms. But whenever I stayed at one of those other hotels I wanted to be at Babington.

Because Babington absolutely nailed the service. (And the water pressure. You can rely on Nick Jones for a good shower.) The staff were relaxed. They were comfortable in their own skins. So they made you feel at home. It was really clever and it looked effortless, although of course it wasn't - but you really had to pay attention to see the technique. They were like your mates without ever being matey and while making sure they'd taken care of everything.

That ship has sailed. Who knows why; perhaps a squeeze on margins, perhaps the predicted Brexodus of hospitality staff, perhaps the A team have gone to the Farmhouse. Whatever the reason, I've seen more assured service in a Crowne Plaza than I saw at Babington this weekend.

No-one really seemed up to it. The receptionist who sort of offered to bring the bags in and then sort of asked me to help him (although better than departure when we were entirely left to our own devices loading the car). The FOH manager at breakfast who forgot to bring the requested paper (and then winced but didn't say anything when he passed me walking back having fetched it myself). The waitress who only noticed half an hour after the coffee didn't turn up that the coffee hadn't turned up. The waitress who brought an unrequested glass of wine and then fumbled the query about it. Whoever decided not to bother with turndown so there was no ice in the bucket in the room, so no point of the cocktail tray; if you've got to call room service for ice you might as well just call for the drink - they should send someone to Berlin to learn turndown.

The dirty table at afternoon tea. The knock-off capsules for the Nespresso machine. Biscuits in the room only on the first night. The poor guest checking out alongside me who, when her partner was presented with an unexpectedly large bill, had to explain to the receptionist that there should have been a large deposit payment already made against the account by a third party. As indeed it transpired.

And the weirdest thing in the pool. After swimming for half an hour we were joined by a pregnant woman. The lifeguard approached her and told her she shouldn't swim in it because half an hour ago a child had vomited in the water. Then sheepishly he told us (having watched us swim for the previous half hour). Five minutes later he put up a sign closing the pool.

So what are you left with? The only thing left that Babington does reliably better than its competitors is water pressure. And it's a long drive and a chunk of change for a good shower.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
16  Thank KennyTinsel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 February 2018

I'd been wanting to stay at Babington House for a long time and wasn't disappointed. We had plans to explore the local area while we were there but didn't leave! We stayed in the Play Room which was fantastic and had some treatments in the Cowshed spa. The whole vibe was exactly what we expected - very relaxed and easy going. Our only complaint was the large number of children staying and monopolising the pools. However, the evenings were a lot quieter and very chilled, although dinner in the restaurant was disappointing. The bar food was much better. I would certainly recommend staying here and next time we will book the Soho Farmhouse in the Cotswolds.

Room Tip: Book a room in the main house rather than one of the cottages.
  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank StreamsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews