We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Lovely little cafe x

Lovely little cafe and great when walking the pig top. Good variety of drinks and snacks. Staff... read more

Reviewed 1 October 2020
Kay E
via mobile
Thought provoking environment

I'm so glad I live local to this, every time I look at this old colliery site it makes me happy... read more

Reviewed 8 August 2020
nx611
Read all 144 reviews
  
Reviews (144)
Filter reviews
144 results
Traveler rating
94
36
11
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
94
36
11
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews run by volunteers industrial heritage knowledgeable volunteers lovely little cafe fabulous place mining pit winding nottinghamshire land
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 144 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2020 via mobile

Lovely little cafe and great when walking the pig top.

Good variety of drinks and snacks.

Staff helpful.

Date of experience: September 2020
Thank Kay E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 August 2020

I'm so glad I live local to this, every time I look at this old colliery site it makes me happy & sad at the same time, happy that it's been saved and sad because every other colliery has now closed in Derbyshire/Nottinghamshire.

There's a cafe at the Pit now, not yet been to the cafe but looks ok.

If riding around the old pit land on bikes, be extra careful of the many unnecessary narrowed off sections to stop motorcycles.

Date of experience: August 2020
Thank nx611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 August 2020

This place is tucked away and its a real Gem of a place; it certainly doesnt seem to be well advertised and if it was they would be run off their feet it is so well done.

The site is obviously the old Pit and you can take tours around it with knowledgeable volunteers; we were a little late the day we visited but were able to wonder underneath the winding wheel and noted the very interesting bricks from all over the UK (doesn't sound as interesting as it was).

Its very well worth a visit, the visitor centre and cafe are excellent.

Date of experience: August 2020
Thank B9730YJpaulf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 March 2020

What a find ... fabulous museum and fabulous people bringing both the history of mining in the area, and a social history of Britain. Nice visitor centre with its own cafe, good tour, and so much to see. Mainly run by volunteers which makes it even more impressive.

Date of experience: March 2020
Thank MalcH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 October 2019

Tucked away in the Nottinghamshire countryside, Pleasley Colliery offers an insight into a disappearing world. Fifty years ago almost every village in this area had a pit, and the vast majority of people living in those villages were, one way or another, employed in the industry. Today they've all gone, and only Pleasley is left to show future generations the life their forefathers once lived.

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank KevinSadler2364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews