We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Le Petit Chateau
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$163
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The George Hotel(Chollerford)
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$158
US$118
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$122
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Langley Castle Hotel(Langley-on-Tyne)
US$219
US$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Matfen Hall(Matfen)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eshott Hall(Eshott)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (136)
Filter reviews
136 results
Traveler rating
97
22
10
5
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
97
22
10
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswedding venuecocktail makingmaster of ceremoniesamazing venuecopper bathgold voucherhalf pricemagical weddingfunction roombox of chocolatesto celebrate our wedding anniversarylovely trayhuge showerpleasant atmospherebalcony overlookingjoiners armsspecial night
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 136 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Before I begin to highlight the bad points of our stay, I think it only fair to commend the good points. The staff are very friendly, the rooms are very nicely appointed and quirky and the food is very good. Why then you ask would I give only 3 stars and say I was disappointed with our stay? After arriving we ate dinner in the restaurant and midway through our meal a chap approached our table and announced that there would be a ‘Pub Quiz’ starting shortly. Having traveled over 5 hours by road and looking forward to a quiet relaxing evening and, given the fact that we were still eating still we weren’t particularly excited at the prospect to say the least. The quiz started sure enough and to make matters worse the quiz master began to ‘shout’ the questions throughout the restaurant as there was no microphone! We finished our meals as quickly as we could and retreated to our room so we could enjoy a drink without further interruption. Shortly after returning to our room we noticed that you could hear everything from the bar downstairs - literally every question of the quiz! Then there was a loud whining noise, something akin to a compressor kicking in to life from either the adjoining room or the area above. I waited several minutes to see if it would stop but then went to seek assistance. I was told someone would come and have a look for me - nobody did so I returned downstairs a second time after 15mins or so and was told again someone would come and attend to me. What made matters worse was that in addition to the noise from the bar downstairs and the intermittent compressor noise we could also hear and ‘feel’ every time someone walked past our room. Granted the hotel is an old building but there is literally no soundproofing at all and so we heard everyone in the bar for the rest of the evening into the early hours in addition to everyone who walked past our room on the way to theirs. What with the bar noise, the compressor kicking in several times an hour and then the noise of everyone coming and going made the whole thing farcical. Needless to say we got little sleep and we were woken again at just after 7am when people started to get up. We left feeling disappointed with our stay and that the owners clearly cannot have stayed in the hotel to experience what we did as otherwise they would have addressed the noise issues. This place could be fantastic, clearly lots of care and attention has gone into the design and appointment of the hotel and its facilities but regretfully the lack of soundproofing means we will not be returning. I have had much more peaceful, quieter nights staying in city centre hotels in London!

Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
2  Thank JHolyhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenueManager, Manager at Le Petit Chateau, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for your kind comments with regards to the staff and food.

We are very sorry to hear of your disappointing stay with regards to the noise of the quiz and your over night accommodation.
I have passed your feedback onto the company owner and will be reviewing the sound proofing of the building. Could I please ask you contact our reception team on accommodation@apartment-group.com so we can establish the room you have stayed in to help us with the improvements..

We look forward to hearing from you

Kind regards

Venue Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had an absolute great time at this beautiful place. We were given a gold voucher as a Christmas gift, and we had 3 months to book it. We decided to pay an extra £25 to upgrade our room, to number 12.. well worth it. The view over looked the gorgeous garden, with a water fountain. We also had a stunning bathroom. We got ingredients to make cocktails in our room and a bottle of champagne. Our five course meal was delicious, with drinks and more cocktails. We had a great time. A big thank you to Demi who looked after us in the evening, Cameron in the afternoon and Emma for checking us in.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenueManager, Manager at Le Petit Chateau, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello

We are so happy to hear you had a great time at Le Petit Chateau and thank you for the great feedback on our gold package.

Hope to see you here again soon we will be sure to pass on the positive feedback to the mentioned staff members.

Kind regards

Venue Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2018 via mobile

This is an amazing wedding venue. The staff were fantastic and very helpful. The master of ceremony’s (Tim) made the couples day go so smooth and ensured the whole day went without a hitch. The rooms are something else. Great stay and would recommend.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
1  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenueManager, Manager at Le Petit Chateau, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Michael

We are so glad you had a fantastic time at Le Petit Chateau. We love to hear the positive review about our Masters of Ceremonies Tim and will be sure to pass this on.
We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Thanks
Venue management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2018

My husband and I have spent a night in this amazing chateaux ,celebrating our wedding anniversary. Wow! We spent the night in room 17 and were bowled over by the standard of our room....luxury at its best. Their was a lavender gift bag and chocolates ,huge variety of teas,coffees and hot chocolate to enjoy and even a treat bag for our chihuahua! The patio doors led to the beautiful well kept gardens. Our bathroom was gorgeous....the whole decor is breathtaking. We had a wonderful meal served by friendly knowledgeable staff and had an added surprise of a bottle of bubbly organised by the owner Duncan, whom we had met during the afternoon. What a lovely gesture ! We had a substantial breakfast next morning, smoothies,warm pastries,cheeses and meats,and then a very tasty Hadrians wall breakfast too.... We can't wait to visit again ......My husband and I have stayed at some luxurious places at home and abroad ,but Le Petit Chateaux tops the lot.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Colleen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenueManager, Manager at Le Petit Chateau, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2018

Hello Colleen

We are so happy to hear of your amazing stay for you wedding anniversary (Congratulations from all the team) at Le Petit Chateau for your Sons wedding.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Venue Mangement

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2018

Visited the Le Petit Chateau for my sons wedding in March 2018. It was amazing.
We stayed for 2 nights - the first night we had a standard room and the second night were lucky enough to have one of the larger rooms just along the corridor.
The standard room was really nice and we had no complaints about it whatsoever but the larger room which we moved to on the second night was awesome. Had everything you could wish for (including your own cocktail making kit).
The staff at the Chateau and the adjoining William De Percy were polite and really friendly and made our stay really enjoyable. Special thanks to the army of cleaners that helped us move rooms - they were quick and went the extra mile to help us settle into our new room for the second night.
Food was really good throughout our stay and venue was out of this world.

Would highly recommend this venue for a wedding or if you just want a romantic night away.

Ample free parking at front/side of hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MikeyToonArmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VenueManager, Manager at Le Petit Chateau, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2018

Hello Mike MikeyToonArmy

We are so happy to hear of your amazing stay at Le Petit Chateau for your Sons wedding.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Venue Mangement

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews