We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (307)
Filter reviews
307 results
Traveler rating
127
87
48
22
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
127
87
48
22
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubjack russellwinter dealwalking holidayhuge portionsyorkshire puddingfor sunday lunchbeer gardendunstanburgh castlescampilovely mealcoastal pathwarm welcomekippersnorthumberland coastwell worth a visitlamb
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 307 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2018

Really nice place to stay for a few days.
Owners and staff were very friendly, welcoming and did all they could to make it a pleasant and relaxing break.
The pub/hotel is very dog friendly and we met a number of other guests who had taken their dogs and if we had known how good it was we would have taken our dog.
The resident Jack Russell was a bit feisty when we first walked in but within a few minutes it was as daft as a brush and wanted to be fussed.
Food on all four nights was good pub grub, nothing pretentious, but well cooked, tasty and with substantial potions.
Gluten free options were excellent and breakfast offered GF cereal and toast.
Good craic with staff and locals at the bar in the evening and bar prices were very fair, unlike other places in the area who milk the tourists.
Niggles were a draughty window and poor sound proofing between rooms, but these would be expensive issues to address and it would be unfair to overly criticise given the excellent value that the Cottage provides.
Our Winter deal was outstanding value and we will be happy to visit again in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hobbit64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 January 2018

Great place to go after a wonderful beach walk , I always visit here when staying in Craster at least 3 times a year the food is fab as well as the lovely friendly staff and they usually have a singer on at the weekend You can also take in your pets
An extra bonus for us
Thank you again

Stayed: January 2018, traveled with friends
1  Thank Elsa1128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 January 2018

Spent a short break over the New year. Close enough to the sea for a lovely walk to the castle plus the taxi/ bus ride into Alnwick is reasonable if yo want to go out to eat.
The food in the pub/ restaurant is reasonable and very good I am a fussy eater and loved it. Second time here first time we have stayed will definitely be going back!

Room Tip: All rooms similar couldn't see any problems
Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Kate1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 January 2018

After our first walk of the new year our group of 10 walkers descended on this venue for lunch. We were hoping to dine in the conservatory but we were advised that it would be cold there as it was not heated and we were offered seating in the bar area.. After adjusting the tables so that we could accommodate our party together we placed our order for drinks. These were served promptly and we then placed our food orders from the extensive menu. I opted for the liver as did my wife but popular choices were scampi and fish and chips. One of our party decided on the roast of the day which was served with a giant Yorkshire pudding. How he managed to eat it all I do not know. We were all pleased with our choice of meals and particularly with the efficient service. It was just a shame that we had to eat in somewhat cramped conditions due to the conservatory being closed and despite the fact that other , more spacious table options were available, these were not offered to us. Nevertheless we all enjoyed our lunch experience and I would have no hesitation in returning to this venue in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harshman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 January 2018

We had visited the pub previously for Sunday lunch with our West Highland Terrier, the food was fine the only problem was the pub’s resident Jack Russel type terrier who tried to attack our dog. The lady serving the food was very good and controlled the animal, the unwelcoming man serving behind the bar looked at us as if it was our fault for bringing our dog to a pub which advertises itself as dog friendly. So a year later after spending a lovely day walking in the countryside we decided to give the Cottage Inn another try for Sunday lunch. This time we didn’t even get into the pub... a man was in the gardens with the dog. It leapt off a table it had been standing on and attacked our dog. The man just smirked and warned us not to strike out at his dog, when we pointed out that his dog was attacking our pet he said “well I’m not doing it”! What a ridiculous comment but no surprise coming from such a person. Until they are able or willing to control the resident dog, in my opinion they are not a dog friendly pub, unless you want to see your pet attacked without any attempt to stop the other dog or any apology given to you, I would avoid any visit to this pub.

Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
3  Thank GWS796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews