We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Footsteps - Walking the beauty of Northumberland
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Ways to Experience Footsteps - Walking the beauty of Northumberland
from US$212.83
More Info
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveler rating
70
3
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
70
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews an excellent guide holy island guided walk walking experience excellent walks caught the bus natural history low tide bird life walk barefoot home made cakes sunny day patrick cheviot pilgrims fauna route
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 73 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2014

We walked the length of the Northumbrian coast this summer and enjoyed it very much indeed. But an undoubted high point was having Patrick Norris as a guide on the pilgrim route across the sands to Lindisfarne. He was a mine of information about the history of the island, as well as about the flora and fauna on the walk. One could have simply driven out or even simply following the poles that mark the route, but there was so much more to be seen and experienced with such a knowledgeable guide, and also a fascinating and very inspiring partner for conversation. We heartily recommend the hike, the experience and most of all this affable and truly interesting guide.

Date of experience: September 2014
1  Thank Famtheman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 September 2014

We have lived in Northumberland for 30 years and have done many walks from maps and books.
We did our first walk with Patrick in 2012 from Bamburgh to Budle Bay and this September I have done 3 more walks with him as a guide.
Our first walk in 2012 was in bad weather yet Patrick made it interesting showing us many local areas of interest which we would have missed on our own.
This September the first walk was along the banks of the Harthope Burn then up to the Cheviot across to the Men of Auchope and stunning views across the college valley to Scotland, back to the Cheviot then down a steepish path enlivened by an adder that did not like being disturbed. A long and quite strenuous walk for legs nearly 70 years old, but very enjoyable.
We met for the next walk at the Tankerville Arms in Eglingham then up a single tracked road for a mile or so to Bewick Moor. There Patrick lead us to Cateran cave hidden in the sandstone, to Blawearie an abandoned homestead where we met an American lady who told us the house had been inhabited until the hard winter of 1962 when she and her 6 or 7 children left, to a bronze age hill fort overlooking the Harehope burn where earlier in the year peregrine falcons had raised their young, to a cairn with 4 burial cists, to 2 cup and ring marked rocks, to a large iron age fort with 2 second world war pillboxes on its flanks, overlooking the countryside, before walking back to the car. A longish walk but with no hard ascents or descents and with magical views across the moor.
The final walk (so far) was to Ros Castle. We met in the forestry car park at Hepburn woods then followed woodland paths up to the view at Hepburn crag, to the hill fort at the top of the crag from which with a small pocket telescope I could just make out some wild white Chillingham cattle and from there to Ros castle with its inscription to Sir Edward Grey and the toposcope showing the seven castles visible from the top as well as other local landmarks - the only one visible being Chillingham Castle as by now the clouds were closing in and the rain was starting to fall. Definitely a place to visit again when the weather is better and visibility good.
I enjoyed all these walks immensely. Patrick is a pleasant, convivial, knowledgeable and enthusiastic guide. The walks are excellent value.
I would say that I enjoyed the Bewick Moor walk most, then the Cheviot then Bamburgh to Budge Bay then Ros Castle. Try them and see if you agree.
Alan Dove

Date of experience: September 2014
Thank houseowner08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 September 2014

My partner and I holidayed for the very first time in Northumberland this year (September 2014), and therefore knew very little about the area. Coming from just outside of London, we knew even less about the "rules of the countryside" insofar as where we would be allowed to walk without trespassing on farmland etc. I came across Footsteps Northumberland just before we came away and was immediately impressed with the website. After making the difficult choice of which walks to book, we decided on The Cheviot and the Harthope Valley and Pilgrims' Way. We were not disappointed! The Cheviot walk was breathtakingly beautiful and Patrick is an excellent guide - he is very knowledgable and, as newbies, we felt safe in his hands. It was incredible to reach the summit of the highest peak, 2000ft up, and see the view. The pace of the walk was good and Patrick encouraged that it was "our walk" and we felt very comfortable stopping to take pictures or just take in the surroundings. Gluttons for punishment, we took on the Pilgrims' Way walk the very next day. For the second day in a row this was a first for both my partner and I and it was awe inspiring taking of the history of the route as Patrick explained it. Overall we had an amazing time on our walks and can't wait to try them all out!

Date of experience: September 2014
Thank HoLLyWoLLy_DoDah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 August 2014

beautiful unspoilt natural coast line with lots of local history lovely little hamlets. Holy Island was beautiful and the Farne Islands were worth a visit.

Date of experience: August 2014
Thank margaret m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We enjoyed a fabulous afternoon walking the pilgrims way to Lindisfarne,barefoot, over the sand and mud flats. A relatively easy return walk through sensations of squelch, fine sand and grass. Patrick was enjoyable company and very knowledgeable about flora and fauna. We even had a quick munch on wild samphire, which was far superior to any I have ever tasted. On arrival at Lindisfarne we put our shoes back on and had coffee and home made cake in the Pilgrims cafe. We then did a circuit of the island taking in the observation tower, Gertrude Jekyll's garden, and a bird Hyde. There was so much to see, including the Northumbrian green fritillary butterfly. We spent 5 1/2 hours in Patricks expert company and felt we had the best ever experience of the delights of Lindisfarne. A truly memorable and interactive afternoon, suitable for all ages and huge fun to boot.

Date of experience: July 2014
Thank KateMcKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews