We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique location, friendly staff, just a perfect setting”
Review of Tan Hill Inn

Tan Hill Inn
Reserve a table
2
Fri, 06/08
20:00
Ranked #1 of 1 Bars & Pubs in Low Row
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Britains Highest Britains Best Pub in the British Isles We have 9 en - suite bedrooms and a wonderful cosy party barn that we use to great effect usually on a weekend for concerts. We can also use the ground outside with a marquee to hold over 500 people for the big band nights we have. We open for breakfast around 08.30am and then serve brunch from 10.30 am. We do food service from 12.00 right through to 20.30 pm . We remain open for drinks and seldom close before 11.30pm in the evening mid week and well past midnight on a weekend and bank holiday.
Reviewed 31 May 2021 via mobile

Visited today as part of a group fitness challenge but wanted to see this place for so long. The outside space is incredible and full credit to the owners in these tough and challenging times.

Anyone complaining needs a reality check and should embrace it for what it is... unique! The staff are so lovely and welcoming and the venue is just charming and quirky So what if service is a little slow it’s trying to cope with the pressures of lockdown restrictions surely it’s better to be served safely than not at all, and with views like this what’s the rush anyway. Every single person I met today was incredibly professional and welcoming and the chicken and ham pie was awesome (if they sold them to take away I’d be even happier)

I wish Tan Hill every success for the future and I can’t wait to return.

Date of visit: April 2021
2  Thank dionne2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,271)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 136 of 1,272 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2021 via mobile

This weekend was originally booked in 2019 for spring 2020, so it is an understatement to say we were looking forward to it (we could have cancelled due to COVID). Unfortunately the poor service, or lack of it especially in the dining room clouded our experience. Yes it was busy but all tables had been reserved, therefore, Tan Hill knew how many covers to service. Waiting 1 & 1/2 hours to 2 hours for an evening meal is unacceptable, some people walked out after 2 hours!
We stayed over in the B&B , the room was modern and clean, however, only just serviceable for two people, the en suite was tiny, the smallest shower cubicle I have seen! Also the water pressure was not good.
Following morning we went down to breakfast with trepidation, our experience was slightly better than our evening meal but other diners were still waiting for their breakfast when we left. The quality of the breakfast food was quite good but everything apart from the eggs had obviously been pre cooked and kept warm (some items far too long!)
Such a shame because the Tan Hill is in beautiful location.

Date of visit: April 2021
5  Thank janeth49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike 4444, Marketing at Tan Hill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2021

thank you for your feed back. Customers should have been able to order food and drink via a QR code on each table speeding up the delivery of service . however it fell over due to an internet linkage -something we had been reassured would not happen. That and one chef down and no agency chefs available all contributed to issues this bank holiday. To understand is to forgive and to forgive is Godly (I think that's how it goes ) PS Gus cooks all breakfasts from fresh... you cant really complain about late breakfast service and then say it was all pre-cooked ...obviously you see that as two statements that dont sit together. We are pleased you love our location. You would not love the fact we are totally off grid, generate our own electricity , pump and clean our own water, and occasionally have no internet due to connectivity being Briatain"s highest pub. Your view of our newly refurbished room is unkind ... we leave that there

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 May 2021 via mobile

Under the current circumstances we weren't expecting too much but we were very happy to be proven wrong. The staff at Tan Hill have pulled it out the bag when it comes to making your visit as comfortable and easy as possible. Things will change once restrictions are lifted, but for the time being remember to book your table before your visit, it helps things run smooth. The staff are doing a cracking job and yes there may be a little wait for your service,remember, they're waiting on ALL tables. We just gave a wave and someone was there as soon as they were free, patience is key until we can get our own drinks. The menu isn't massive at the minute which suited me best because I always struggle to choose, we ordered from the grill and were not disappointed. Toss up between lamb and steak for tastiest. Good selection of ales and Old Rosie on tap was a welcome surprise. Tan Hill is well worth a visit, indoor and outdoor dining. Free entertainment. Lovely food and cold beer. Best of all the staff smile. To finish off, until things change, book ahead, be patient, tip your servers . Have a great visit, will be back soon.

Date of visit: May 2021
1  Thank Rhysben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 May 2021 via mobile

Total disappointment and rip off.
Parking and facilities :
£40 for the night with no allocated parking, some people had to park on the road side or up the hill away from the pub as no saved spaces for those that had Pre booked. Campervans very tightly packed in, and no staff organising so some vans taking up 2 spaces.
One toilet snd shower for everyone camping / campervanning. Clean in the evening but dirty in the morning as so many people using it. However Toilets in the restaurant were totally disgusting.
Dinner:
Long wait for food 1hr + , an already limited menu further limited as they had ran out of a lot of food. Response we got was they had 200 for lunch and 150 for dinner, all had booked. So they expected these numbers and still allowed walk ins, leaving not much food for those coming for pre booked dinner.
Food expensive but ok, but vegan pie was spiced which wasn’t described on the menu, an issue for someone who doesn’t eat spicy food. They did refund us for this.
Breakfast:
despite booking breakfast snd a time when we arrived in the evening we had to reorder and they seemed surprised that people we coming for there take away breakfast at the times they requested last night.
30-60 mins wait for the breakfast as well. The food itself was edible just about, not great.
Over all very poor management and organisation, felt very sorry for the waiting staff who had to bare the brunt of many annoyed clients, snd remained polite but were clearly drowning.
Greedy and poor organisation. All these problems have a easy solution and nothing was unexpected. They just let too many people book and then still accepted walks ins.
They have prioritised profit over people experience and I fear have lost MANY customers this weekend.

Date of visit: May 2021
6  Thank soozk86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike 4444, Owner at Tan Hill Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2021

Ok ...we have to keep saying this although calling it a Rip Off sort of excludes any reasonable conversation.

You pay for the use of our facilities . Thats £15 pp Monday to Thursday . and £20 pp Friday and Saturday. I'm pretty sure you knew that when you booked ? Park anywhere....that's what we charge for our facilities to cover costs, the rest goes to Charities. The charges assist us in dealing with all the rubbish that is left from camping and camper vans. ( that costs nearly £400 per week ) Full English breakfast. cleaning the outside toilet every 2 hours, replacing the toilet rolls that get pinched and the occasional shower head, perimeter security and helps us pay for Live bands, errection of stage and sound system outside.

Greedy ? We just donated £1000 to Swaledale Mountain Rescue, and currently burning cash at around £5,000 per week just to remain open.........If only you could talk from informed facts rather than ignorance......last thing yesterday we stopped taking in walk ins , and then got complaints for turning people away who just wanted a beer. Can't Win, But when you use words like Rip off and Greedy we are delighted not to have any further exchange with you and not have you back that"s for sure ,,,,,,happy to lose you , Prioritise Profit LOL.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 May 2021 via mobile

My Business partner and myself came here for a 24hr stay to have a break from work and discuss business away from work( No chance of any interruptions once you’re here!)
What a brilliant place, staff are great, chatty, friendly and very helpful. The pub is just how you would want it to be, the food just what you want if you’re miles from anywhere and hungry, and the rooms are clean comfortable and modern.
Besides our own businesses we both also run a pub together although he does the lions share as he lives there. Ours is a nice country pub but only about five mikes from a town/ supermarket.
I know how difficult it is to keep a pub on the rails so the logistics of running The Tan Hill are mind bending. There’s no nipping to Bookers Cash and Carry/Tesco’s if you run out of anything and clearly there is no mains gas and electricity. I bet you can’t just get extra staff in a hurry either.
Some of the recent reviews are shocking. Do these cretinous people not realise you’ve been shut for nearly a year and then allowed to open with one hand tied behind your back. There’s going to be some problems, bear with them, don’t give unjust reviews just because it makes your own pitiful life seem more important. And those who Moan about the cost of their food. How much does bottled gas cost, what does a generator cost to run, use your brains!
Anyway I love the place and will be back any opportunity I get. Special mention for Anya and Oliver who looked after us all day as we got steadily drunker and steadily louder.
Cheers Tan Hill

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank Toonyteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tan Hill Inn also viewed

Muker, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Gunnerside, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 
Low Row, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Arkengarthdale, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Tan Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.