We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely meal in relaxing surroundings”
Review of Pheasant Inn

Pheasant Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Harome
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$32 - US$89
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Pheasant Hotel is a 16 bedroomed country hotel in the beautiful village of Harome in North Yorkshire. Overlooking the village pond the Pheasant's restaurant is open all year round to non-residents. In good weather, the Terrace overlooking the village pond is the perfect setting and the Conservatory, Bar and Lounge offer further non-weather dependent alternatives. Chef Patron Peter Neville is very much a hands-on chef who takes great pleasure in serving fresh, British food with an emphasis on locally foraged ingredients. With fields, river and woods only a quick hop over the garden wall there is no shortage of fresh finds and inspiration. Menus are heavily influenced by changing seasons and the best local produce available. The Pheasant is open to both residents and non-residents throughout the day, subject to planned closures owing to wedding party exclusive use.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A lovely meal from the a la carte menu. Excellent service, lovely surroundings and wheelchair accessible (though no accessible toilet in the restaurant).

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SteveByrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PNeville, Owner at Pheasant Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely review and kind words. Peter, Jacquie and all the Pheasant Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (219)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Recently visited with a group of friends as we were celebrating a special occasion. We were visiting early so met for breakfast at the Hotel. There was a brilliant selection on the buffet including a varied fresh fruit selection and the best Granola I have ever eaten! It was delicious, so much so I have enquired about purchasing some as it’s made at the hotel! The hot food menu was also varied, I had avocado with poached eggs on Sourdough toast which I really enjoyed, although I was a little envious of the full English my friends had which looked delicious! Overall really fab service and excellent food, would definitely recommend, I just need to go back and try the rest of the menu now!

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Triffitt85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PNeville, Owner at Pheasant Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

What a lovely breakfast review - thank you so much! We love our secret recipe home-made granola too! As you say, you will have to come back and try lunch or dinner next time! Best wishes, Peter, Jacquie and all the Pheasant Tam.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 October 2018

This is a delightful venue and you are made to feel special. The most delightful food and magnificent Wine List and service to match. Extremely busy and you will certainly need to book well in advance. Cosy lounges with proper fires, parking somewhat restricted but it is safe outside the hotel on what is a very quiet area.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Roger F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PNeville, Owner at Pheasant Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2018

Thank you for your kind words and great review. We do get busy on certain days (especially Sundays) and when the weather is good so all our guests are advised to book if possible. Kind regards, Peter, Jacquie and all the Pheasant Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 September 2018

Sunday lunch here has a bit of style. The staff are all very friendly and give the impression that they want their guests to really enjoy their visit. From the bread (freshly baked individual small loaves) offered at the start of the meal and through each course our meal was excellent. The starters were full of flavour and having settled for the traditional roast beef it was served perfectly (slightly pink) and accompanied with an excellent selection of vegetables and roast potatoes which were also perfectly cooked.
This was a most enjoyable and relaxing way to spend a Sunday afternoon.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ScottishTourist46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PNeville, Owner at Pheasant Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2018

Thank you for your great review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your Sunday lunch with us and had a chance to relax. We hope to see you again soon. Kind regards, Peter, Jacquie and all the Pheasant Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 September 2018

We popped in here for a drink while staying in the village. It is a charming place. We had food from the bar menu and drinks. A lovely couple of hours spent here. Well worth a visit.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank wendy1777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PNeville, Owner at Pheasant Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2018

Thank you for your kind words and recommendation. We hope to see you again soon, Peter, Jacquie and all the Pheasant Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pheasant Inn also viewed

Harome, North Yorkshire
 
Wombleton, North Yorkshire
 
Helmsley, North Yorkshire
Helmsley, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Pheasant Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing