We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WELL WORTH IT”
Review of The Game Cock Inn

The Game Cock Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Austwick
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Welcome to The Game Cock Inn a Traditional Yorkshire Dales pub, restaurant and B&B with a cosy bar, real fire, award winning restaurant, delicious food with a French twist and comfortable, quality accommodation.
Reviewed 13 December 2016

We have been here a number of times meeting family for lunch and have never been disappointed. The menu is varied and the food and service excellent.

Date of visit: December 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank BelisariusUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,425)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

665 - 669 of 1,425 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2016

Food, accommodation and staff all lovely! We stayed the weekend and were looked after really well. Would highly recommend.

Date of visit: November 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nbinks1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 December 2016 via mobile

We visited here on a Sunday afternoon and it seemed quite quiet but there were a few people in. It has an interesting design with a bigger dining room but also a few snugs you can eat in. I had the French onion soup to start which was well presented and tasted fine. For mains I had the game pie and my girlfriend had the beef bourguignon. Both tasted very good. We also had vegetables but on reflection with the large portions we could have managed without. For desert I had the three layer chocolate mouse which was delicious and incredibly rich. My girlfriend had the Tarte du millionaire which she also enjoyed. Both deserts were well presented and we agreed the highlight of the meal.
We both enjoyed our meal and The only slight issue was my girlfriend was a bit chilly but I expect it's hard to heat an old building throughout.

Date of visit: November 2016
Thank Jen_Andy_Lawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 November 2016 via mobile

Haddock and chorizo crumble inedible. Cucumber in salad rotten. Service poor. Only cold water in the ladies. Very disappointing.

Date of visit: November 2016
1  Thank bigamble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 November 2016 via mobile

Had a really good meal at the game cock for my mother's birthday. French onion soup was superb! The waiter was very friendly and took time to laugh and joke with my 4 year old son which was very appreciated! Will definitely be returning.

Date of visit: November 2016
Thank Claire Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Game Cock Inn also viewed

Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 
Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park
Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 
Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 

Been to The Game Cock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing