We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Official Site
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
CheapTickets
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,462)
Filter reviews
1,462 results
Traveler rating
1,168
152
95
32
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,168
152
95
32
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tasting menu gourmet dinner a michelin starred restaurant wine flight louis roederer birthday treat ribble valley birthday card garden lodge nigel haworth an overnight stay lisa allen seasonal lunch superior room cooked to perfection toast bar area
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 1,462 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2021 via mobile

Visited here today for a birthday - 4 adults and 1 child (4 years old) and we have had a beautiful time. We arrived and as the weather was gorgeous we sat out on the terrace with a drink and appetitisers - so tasty! Inside, for lunch: I must say a massive thank you to Max in particular who made a massive fuss of
Our 4 year old who presented him with ‘Chef Max’ from Northcote who he adored! Other thanks to Liam, our Somalier, and Tom who also superb! The staff who brought out the food - seamless. The food, oh my goodness, thank you to all the chefs/kitchen staff - it was the best meal of my life! We followed food with a drink in the sun before home. This wasn’t a meal, this was an experience! Thanks Northcote Team!

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Buddy1303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig Bancroft, Other at Northcote, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2021

Hi Buddy1303

Thank you very much for leaving a review of your dining experience with Northcote

We are really happy that you enjoyed your time with us and that your children also enjoyed the experience. Hopefully we can welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 May 2021

We spent the weekend at Northcote to celebrate my husband's 60th birthday with our son and daughter in law. The staff were all lovely and quite clearly pleased to be back at work and though the hotel had only been open 2 days everything is running well. Everywhere in the hotel is very clean and looks in excellent order. Breakfasts were fab and the tasting menu was excellent. Some of the courses were better than others and I think we all agreed the turbot course was the least exciting, but overall we thoroughly enjoyed everything, including the wine flight. We stayed in Deluxe rooms which lived up to their grading - the only niggle for me was the sound noise in Room 16. This is a beautiful room on a corner so full of windows and light, but as it is next to the road I found the traffic noise was disturbing - some extra double/triple glazing should sort this out. Failing that cotton wool from the bathroom brought some relief on the second night!! The range of drinks from the bar was very impressive and the cocktails were spot on. A memorable weekend, thank you to everyone for helping Nigel celebrate - we should have been in Australia and Hawaii so it was a big ask!!

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeatherER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig Bancroft, General Manager at Northcote, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2021

Dear Heather

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review following you stay at Northcote to celebrate your husbands 60th birthday.

We are really pleased that we were able to make everything special for your celebrations, it is difficult to compete with Australia and Hawaii ! Fingers crossed you will get to visit there very soon.

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back to Northcote again some time in the future.

Kind regards

Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 April 2021 via mobile

Always a delight. Looking forward to reserving a table with my family as soon as they open again.
The tasting menu is delicious and never disappoints. There are only a number of restaurants in the northwest that offer a tasting menu this one of my personal favourites.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Rjh19722017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig Bancroft, General Manager at Northcote, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2021

HI Bettyfluff

Thank you for leaving your review of Northcote.

We are looking forward to welcoming all our valued customers back to Northcote in May.

Kind regards

Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 October 2020 via mobile

We stayed here for my wife’s birthday. Even though Lancashire is in tier 3 because of covid 19, our stay was still excellent.
The covid secure check-in was straightforward and efficient, but still friendly. The bedroom had everything we needed and was perfectly clean. We particularly liked the covid ‘sealed’ bedroom. All great.

Our original dinner booking was for 8pm but we received a phone call a week before our arrival to tell us that there was only one sitting for dinner - 7pm - and were advised that they were only serving the 5 course gourmet menu, because of the covid situation.

The gourmet menu was excellent and certainly suited us. The food was just perfect - and the service was excellent. The service was friendly and not not rushed. Although everyone in the restaurant had the same meal, served at the roughly the same time, it never felt like a conveyor belt. I can’t emphasise enough how good the food and service was.

Overall, everything was perfect.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank D7867GOianm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig Bancroft, General Manager at Northcote, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2020

Dear D7867GOianm

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review

We are really pleased that you found all the things we have put in place to help keep our guest safe to be re-assuring and also that you enjoyed everything Northcote has to offer.

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back again in the future.

Kind regards


Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 October 2020 via mobile

In the midst of the pandemic and after multiple trips postponed/cancelled , we visited Northcote for my wife’s birthday. We stayed two nights with dinner booked for one night. We’d never been to this hotel or even the area before. On our drive over, the radio news announced that Lancashire was going into even more severe lockdown the next day. My heart sank.I needn’t have worried. Northcote sailed through it all fabulously.
We’d booked a suite in the lodge. Spacious , lovely room on the first floor with its own terrace, great bathroom and views towards the Forest of Bowland. All the usual facilities you’d expect at this end of the market and we’ll worth it if your wallet can stretch to it.
The meal was a five course tasting and was just fabulous. We’ve eaten in some pretty nice restaurants over the years but the standard of food here is right up there with the best. Easily one Michelin star and maybe more. The fact that even under these restrictions, the restaurant and hotel was fully booked says it all.
Service was perfectly paced. There was never a lull in proceedings but there was no rush. A high percentage of diners were staying at the hotel so it’s time to relax and enjoy.
We had the wine pairings with the meal as well. This was perhaps not so great. All were ok but unremarkable. I think you need a bit of a ‘wow’ if you’re letting someone else choose the wine.
Breakfast was lovely as well on both mornings. My wife loved the eggs Benedict and we did our best to try most things over the two days.
Really, Northcote is a ‘restaurant with rooms’. We enjoyed touring the local area as well though. If you live in the North West - you’re lucky. We drove 3 hours to dine here - and it was terrific.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank Rambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig Bancroft, General Manager at Northcote, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2020

Dear Rambler

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a great review of your time at Northcote.

We are so pleased that you felt safe with our Covid arrangements and that you enjoyed your stay and dining experience with us and really do hope that we are able to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards

Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews