We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“saturday takeaway”

The Beijing Cantonese Restaurant
Ranked #56 of 200 Restaurants in Burnley
Price range: US$14 - US$56
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Now we are allowed to travel ( from Rochdale) we found this restaurant after a long walk. we ordered ribs, salt and pepper wings , then my favorite duck with prawn meat. It was all cooked fresh and we could not fault any of our order. Its the best takeaway we have had in ages. would we go back ? ..... yes please we already have.

Date of visit: April 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bengaminjames1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2020 via mobile

New years eve 2020.
Thought we would treat the family to a take away.
The dishes on the menu were all explained well.
This take away cost just short of £68 for 4 people so far from cheap but we thought it will be good.
How wrong we were !!.
The soups tasted like someone had been painting the kitchen or possibly warmed the soup up in the plastic dishes.
The chicken curry was explained in a nice way on the menu but was the most mediocre I have had in a long time. The chicken was like jelly. The best thing was the prawn toast and that had soaked a lot of fat up.
Sorry Beijing i have been eating in here for over 2 decades but your take aways are awful. And at that cost you should be ashamed of yourselves. Will have to find another chinese now.

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank 903shaunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 August 2020 via mobile

Id like to put some balance to some of the reviews I read on here before going, as they were nothing like my experience.
We visited Beijing on a Wednesday when the eat out to help out scheme was on.

The restaurant was as busy as I've ever seen it, and we go a couple of times a year for various family celebrations.

Most of our party had the all you can eat buffet, where he food was made fresh, well presented, tasty,and served hot.

The service was a little slow, however the place was heaving, even often with half a dozen people waiting to get a table and some coming in to collect take out orders.

I dont mind waiting a little between courses when the food is that fresh, it also allows you a little time to make room, and chat to your party who we had not seen for a while.

A special mention to the waitress Jess too, as she was absolutely exceptional, and couldn't do enough for us, she was like little working be looking after so many tables.

Hopefully people dont get put off by some if the other reviews as this is the best place locally for chinese food, and once again didn't disappoint.
All of our party were happy with the visit.

As always, we will be back.

Date of visit: August 2020
Thank Nathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 August 2020

Spring rolls were good but everything else awful. Ordered Garlic Chilli Chicken, Kung PO Chicken and StirFried vegetables for mains. All 3 meals tasted and looked like they were in a gravy consisting of just cornflour to thicken the soy sauce, no taste of spices ie chilli ,ginger, garlic. Staff were all young people and had to work hard but didn’t always seem to know what they were doing. Chef certainly not trained in Chinese/ Cantonese cooking. Complained on leaving and got an sorry from the young girl. Definitely won’t be going back. Thank god it was only half price.

Date of visit: August 2020
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Brenda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 August 2020 via mobile

Arrived tonight after booking a table over a week ago. Was told we wasn’t booked in even though I showed the girl on reception our confirmation message. Young girl on reception had no idea what to do. She reluctantly gave us a table but told us we would have to be off it by a certain time and was quite rude about it which made us feel really awkward . Our server was lovely and so was the starters, However the main meals all tasted the same and the meat was slimy. We had to rush our meal and had to clock watch throughout to make sure we was out on time. Once it came to paying my friend paid cash and they didn’t even have the right change to give her and said . ‘ can we owe it you ‘ disappointing won’t be visiting again anytime soon

Date of visit: August 2020
Thank aimee1234432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Beijing Cantonese Restaurant also viewed

 
Burnley, Lancashire
Rossendale, Lancashire
 

Been to The Beijing Cantonese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.