We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good Sunday lunch”

The Little Brown Jug
Ranked #8 of 97 Restaurants in Tonbridge
Price range: US$21 - US$35
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: Penshurst Train station directly opposite.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

good meal today with Glynis Janetta Birtles, Roger Fermor, Pam Fermor & Vivian Corke.
all Sunday roasts & lots of it!
tasty too
neck oil was delightful...
service 8.7
food 7.9
value 7.6
always good @LittleBrownJug

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank alanbirtles13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (814)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 814 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I am so disappointed the last couple of times we have eaten from here it was absolutely amazing but this time there was shouting and swearing from the kitchen constantly pressing the bell in the kitchen and then when the food came the triple cooked chips were definitely packet bought and the burger was still pink very disappointed

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank Dpdan87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager, Owner at The Little Brown Jug, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Dpdan87,

Thank you for your review.

What is absolutely disappointing is that you didn't feel like giving us any reviews on your previous visits considering they were absolutely amazing, but went straight in with a 1star without giving us a chance to redeem ourselves.

I apologise if there was any form of swearing coming from the kitchen as this isn't standard practice and isn't tolerated at the LBJ. Unfortunately the bell must be pressed as this is an indication that the food is ready to be taken to the table, you will find this in almost all restaurants & pubs. Its a shame you think our triple cooked chips are from a packet as a lot of hard work goes on behind the scenes to make them the best they can be. The potatoes are peeled and chopped by our very hardworking kitchen porters, they are then steamed, roasted and deep fried. Our triple cooked chips were a big contributor towards our award winning fish & chips back in 2019.

If you do decide to dine with us again, you are always welcome to request a table away from the kitchen. You can do this through opentable, which gives you the option to give a review of your experience even if its a good one.

Kind Regards
Gareth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 May 2021

Came here for lunch and I was taken back by how incredibly warm and lovely the staff were. Alice and George were exceptional. The vegan options are wonderful, the 'fish' and chips is absolutely amazing, and they even have vegan mayo. I will definitely be back! and thank you again George and Alice, please know that you are valued! th

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Carla F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 May 2021

We met some friends for lunch and took the dog too! We were all welcomed and shown to our table outside and a water bowl was supplied for the dog. Our drinks and food order was taken quickly by a very efficient and friendly member of staff. Our food arrived after a short while. It was fresh, very hot and tasty. Several times we were asked by more than one member of staff if there was anything else we needed. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal and the atmosphere of normality. We will be back! Thank you!

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 394sharonp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 May 2021 via mobile

We visited the little brown jug for breakfast at the weekend. Due to the covid restrictions we sat outside in the marquee, which had heaters, blankets and cushions. The service was good, the staff very attentive and the food was excellent. We both had cooked English breakfast which used all local produce. We will certainly return and I definitely recommend!

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank hayleyb730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Little Brown Jug also viewed

 

Been to The Little Brown Jug? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.