We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favourite Lunch Stop”
Review of The Potting Shed

The Potting Shed
Ranked #1 of 61 Restaurants in Letchworth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$9
Description: Set in the grounds of a delightfully individual garden centre, The Potting Shed cafe serves breakfast, lunch, snacks and drinks at very reasonable prices. We are constantly reviewing our menu choices to include new options and specials. We have outdoor seating which is very popular in the spring and summer. There is plenty of free parking and our staff are always pleased to welcome you.
Restaurant details
Description: Set in the grounds of a delightfully individual garden centre, The Potting Shed cafe serves breakfast, lunch, snacks and drinks at very reasonable prices. We are constantly reviewing our menu choices to include new options and specials. We have outdoor seating which is very popular in the spring and summer. There is plenty of free parking and our staff are always pleased to welcome you.
Reviewed 4 April 2018

The Potting Shed has a warm, welcoming feel. We love to walk across the fields with our dogs and stop off for morning coffee, lunch or afternoon tea. The food is always excellent, the service friendly and nothing is too much trouble for the staff. For years we have been content to sit outside with our dogs but now there is a cosy extension to the cafe which is dog friendly - just pawfect! The chickens and lovely plants in the garden centre add to the appeal of the venue. Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s w, Manager at The Potting Shed, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hi Julie, Thankyou for your kind review, we are so happy that you have found our dog-friendly room to be a useful addition to our cafe, and look forward to seeing you again soon...regards, The Team@Thornes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 22 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2018

My wife and I have been coming here for years for hens - both for the hens themselves and for the food to feed them. The Potting Shed Cafe has always been a hidden gem behind the nursery, but after a recent overhaul, is now a real destination in itself. Locally sourced food, cooked on site. And for us, the best part is now a dog room! Complete with water bowls and dog blankets. What was once a once a month trip for us to buy hen food will become a once a week place to take the dog.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s w, Manager at The Potting Shed, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Hi Brian, many thanks for your kind review. We look forward to seeing you soon...regards, The Team@Thornes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

Recommended by DogFriendly as welcoming dogs and it does! The cute cafe has a separate “dog friendly” room.

We enjoyed good coffees and toasties for lunch and then a wander around the garden centre - will be back.

Thank Dogfriendlyinfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s w, Manager at The Potting Shed, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Hi, thankyou so much for your kind review, we are so happy to see our dog-friendly room being used, and that you found it a pleasant experience. We look forward to seeing you (and your 4-legged friend) again very soon...regards, The Team @ Thornes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 March 2018 via mobile

It's cute here and the staff are nice but it was a bit col (we got there as soon as it opened) and there was a very limited breakfast menu. Did overhear the lady explain to another couple that they only do breakfast in the week? Since we had gone based on the TA breakfast recommendations this was a bit of a disappointment really. Bacon sandwich was nice though.

Thank Planningmyhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3
Reviewed 6 March 2018 via mobile

It's quiet at this time of the year so perfect timing to drop into the Potting Cafe for a cup of tea and light lunch. Then a look at the chickens and the garden centre; how they used to be and not a boring chain affair. Do hope they keep going as it is such a charming place.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s w, Manager at The Potting Shed, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Hi, Thankyou for your kind review, we look forward to seeing you again soon...best regards, The Team@Thornes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Potting Shed also viewed

Letchworth, Hertfordshire
Hitchin, Hertfordshire
 
Letchworth, Hertfordshire
 

Been to The Potting Shed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing