We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop from the rain”
Review of Fox & Hounds

Fox & Hounds
Ranked #10 of 51 Restaurants in Lyndhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Your hunt for the perfect pub ends in Lyndhurst, where the Fox & Hounds serves fantastic cask ales and delicious fresh food from an historic former coaching inn. Sink into a sofa by the fire or bask outside in our glorious sun-trap of a terrace; it’s our very own great outdoors.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Nice and cosy with the smell of a log burner. The decor is inviting. Drinks not the cheapest but nice selection of beers.

Thank Travelbuddies100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria C, Manager at Fox & Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Travelbuddies100,

Thank you for your review!! I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent overall experience here at The Fox & Hounds!

Hopefully see you again very soon!!

Kind regards,

Maria Calvet Colome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,025)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 1,025 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We came in a couple of times during our weekend stay in Lyndhurst and were really impressed. Despite the pub being busy, we found places in the nicely decorated pub area to have drinks and really liked the atmosphere. We ate in the table service area on the Sunday and I had one of the best pork belly roast dinners I have ever had (and I’m quite fussy with roasts out having been spoiled with having home roasts every Sunday growing up!) The staff were also friendly and attentive. We will definitely be back.

Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria C, Manager at Fox & Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Elizabeth S,

Thank you so much for your great review!! I am very pleased to hear that you had a (few) great experience here at The Fox when you visited us recently!!

We pride ourselves in providing fresh local food (and yummy!), as well as a good selection of drinks, and helpful & friendly staff. So I am glad we could provide all that in a cozy atmosphere!!

Hopefully see you again very soon!!

Kind regards,

Maria Calvet Colome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just stopped in for a beer - very good. Did not stay long enough to sample the food, but it smelled very good. Nice traditional pub.

Thank 554TonyCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria C, Manager at Fox & Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear 554TonyGo,

Thank you very much for your review!! I am pleased to hear that you recently enjoyed a beer with us here at The Fox & Hounds. Why not try our delicious fresh food when you are next in the area? :-)

See you again soon!!

Kind regards,

Maria Calvet Colome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had a delicious lunch here this afternoon; the service was warm and friendly. We both had roast beef which came with all the usual trimmings and gravy and the meal portion was huge!

Thank LibGro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria C, Manager at Fox & Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear LibGro,

Thank you very much for your review!! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our yummy roast dinners and experience overall!!

Hopefully see you again very soon!!

Kind regards,

Maria Calvet Colome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Brilliant pub for a pint and some good traditional British food. I had fish n chips, best I’ve had in years. Definitely recommend to visitors.

Good service too

Thank Ben A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria C, Manager at Fox & Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Ben A,

Thank you very much for your review! I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our yummy fresh food and experience overall!

Hopefully see you again when you are in the area next!

Kind regards,

Maria Calvet Colome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fox & Hounds also viewed

Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 
Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 
Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
Lyndhurst, New Forest National Park Hampshire
 

Been to Fox & Hounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing