We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gleneagles Guesthouse
Nearby Hotels
Muthu Westcliff Hotel(Westcliff-on-Sea)
US$132
US$75
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Premier Inn Southend Airport Hotel(Southend-on-Sea)(Great Value!)
US$76
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Seven Hotel(Southend-on-Sea)
US$121
US$108
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Last Post(Southend-on-Sea)(Great Value!)
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$57
Travelodge
View Deal
US$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
The Welbeck Hotel(Westcliff-on-Sea)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Southend Guest House(Westcliff-on-Sea)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ilfracombe House Hotel(Southend-on-Sea)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (314)
Filter reviews
314 results
Traveler rating
194
79
17
11
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
194
79
17
11
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsparking permitguest houseb bestuary suitetea roomtop floormarmaladefull englishstatue of queen victoriathe cliffbay windowafternoon teajacket potatosingle roomsandwichesbreakfast was amazingtown centre
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 314 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I have stayed several over the past few years and this is a good all round place to stay really. Get there early for one of the two parking spaces to the rear otherwise permits are offered. Top marks for this type of establishment.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled solo
Thank nickrutter2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garry L, Owner at Gleneagles Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear nickrutter2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review . We are pleased you have enjoyed your stays and we wish well in your career move

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2018 via mobile

Got back from a 1 night stay yesterday. The gentleman who greeted us was extremely friendly and informative. Our room was small but had most of what was needed but could have done with a full length mirror. The bathroom was clean and supplied cups, shampoo and body wash. My only negative is the sliding door on the bathroom doesn't give my privacy but my husband and I have few secrets so was okay for us. The guest information book was outstanding and had everything you would need to know. We visited the tearooms which is attached to the guest house and asked the friendly young female staff if we could book afternoon tea for the following day. Very accommodating. Awoke after a good nights sleep to a fantastic full english breakfast with local honey and handmade jam (served by the lady of the house). Both of which were outstanding. Our breakfast even came with celebration candles as it was our anniversary and EVERY member of staff said congratulations which was appreciated. They helpfully stored our luggage while we went for a stroll and shop before we arrived for our afternoon tea. The table was laid ready for us. We each had a selection of 2 sandwiches which were tasty (would have preferred butter not margarine but I hadn't specified and wasn't enough of an issue to raise). 2 beautiful fruit scones, clotted cream and jam (I had to choose a flavour after breakfast). Needed a pot of jam each really but fortunately my husband didn't want any. The last course consisted of 2 lovely little trifles and 2 chocolate cakes. One was a cupcake and one was a sponge. Both equally delicious. We were then able to settle up in one go for the room, previous days drinks and afternoon tea all in the tea room with the attentive male staff member. The customer service was faultless and will endeavour to visit again

Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Alternate87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garry L, Owner at Gleneagles Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2018

Dear Alternate87
Thank you for taking the time to write a review . We are glad you enjoyed your stay and that our team made your stay that much more enjoyable . We were pleased to help you celebrate your Anniversary. We look forward to seeing you soon .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2018 via mobile

Excellent stay, great breakfast
Good nights sleep and great views from our room No 8 top floor...
will be back thank you. Easy parking and great for access to all areas of Southend, great for walks along the front.

Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank janetdooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garry L, Owner at Gleneagles Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2018

Dear Janet

Thank you for taking the time to write a review . We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2018 via mobile

I've got to say that we found the Gleneagles a lovely place to stay.

We stopped in the Pier Suite a beautifully clean and well decorated suit consisting of a bedroom and lounge with small but perfectly adequate shower room.

We really enjoyed our stay and am very happy to recommend this nice little hotel. It's hot to be better than giving your money to the chains.

Stayed: February 2018, traveled on business
Thank rmguk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garry L, Owner at Gleneagles Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2018

Dear Rmguk
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and we exceeded your expectations . Thanks for the tip on the photo its taking some time to get a photo which meets TA criteria

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2018 via mobile

The cafe is in the basement and it’s a little treasure. Great snacks and teas and coffees provided by welcoming and friendly staff. The facilities are splendid and you can sit outside if the weathers nice enough. Highly recommended

Stayed: January 2018, traveled with friends
Thank simongK7499QX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garry L, Owner at Gleneagles Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2018

Dear SimonK7499QX
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are pleased you enjoyed visit to our Tearoom and we hope you might soon be able to enjoy our panoramic terrace

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews