We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vegan heaven ”
Review of Cafe Masala

Cafe Masala
Ranked #173 of 731 Restaurants in Southend-on-Sea
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

We went as a family of four and the manager recommended dishes for us based on what we normally like/order. We were all thoroughly satisfied. All dishes were colourful, fresh and not swimming in oil like many Indian restaurants. Spoilt for choice with a full vegan menu too! Will be returning for the events that the manager also informed us about: 2 for 1 cocktails on Thursday night and a Sunday vegan roast. Fantastic food and friendly service, cannot recommend enough. Great decor too!

Thank Christina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (145)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2018 via mobile

Best Indian restaurant in southend; honestly! Great ambience, great food and great service! Adnan did us a really good dish and my father-in-law loved it!! We get a takeaway every week when the family is down. Adnan always looks after us and that’s why we come back!

Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 March 2018 via mobile

Delivery service slow as - called repeatedly just to be fobbed off then Delivered £30 worth of cold food
I do a lot of business with you - sort it out !!!!

Thank richf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cafe M, Manager at Cafe Masala, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Hi Richard,

Thanks for stating your name as the subject. However, we have not quite recognised who you are.

It would be widely appreciated if you could state who you are so we can ensure you a smooth experience for next time. Please feel free to email us at cafe.masala187189@gmail.com so we can resolve this. Also please state the exact order, time it was placed, name and address.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 March 2018 via mobile

We sat down and got given popadoms straight away. Although we was never asked what we wanted for drinks until 15 minutes later when we got a waiters attention. The night carried on like this. No one came to take our food orders. Once again we had to get 3 waiters attention, until someone came over to take the order.

Our first course didn’t come till an hour and half after we had sat down. The food itself was really nice and thats why i’ve given 2*s and not one!

It was clear the restaurant was understaffed. They could have just apologised and said ‘we’re understaffed and thats the reason the service was so slow.’

Overall, the service was really poor but food was very good. I hope if i ever do return they have alot quicker service.

Thank Luke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cafe M, Manager at Cafe Masala, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Hi Luke S,
Thank you for your kind words about the food being very good and receiving poppadoms straight away. Also, thank you very much for offering 2 stars as opposed to the 1 you wanted to give originally. From all staff at the Café Masala (Indian/Tandoori restaurant based in Thorpe Bay) we are very appreciative.

I must be completely honest with you in saying I am very sorry to hear your experience at the Café Masala on Saturday night was not very pleasant. As you could see on the night, we were extremely busy with large queues forming. However, this is no justification as to why you were poorly treated. We also see you made it known on other social networking platforms on how your evening went hence we have offered you a fair method of making it up to you. We understand you are very busy so a response would be much appreciated when you have time.

We would love to see you again and if the next time is not up to standard, well I'll be damned. We have taken note of your name and have even remembered how you look so should you return, you can bet that you will feel completely different about the service.

As to your regards on our staffing, we must agree to disagree there. Fortunately for us, we are heavily praised on service. Had you read other reviews you would have noticed this. Unfortunately for you, this is an isolated incident. We have exactly the right amount of staff needed, however we will take your comments into consideration and deep thought. We were thrilled to see so many new faces who all left very happy, pleased and extremely understanding on how busy it was, t'was a good night for most.

Once again, thank you very much for coming and thanking you kindly for the lovely words about our food. We aim to keep customers coming back with our service with a smile and great food and we are glad to see your optimism as you are contemplating returning to the Café Masala. We look most forward to seeing you again

P.S to all customers who are in a rush and are on a strict time frame, if you could let us know beforehand; it will be greatly appreciated. From this knowledge, we can determine the best place to seat you. Knowing who is in a rush and who isn't is vital information for all staff at the Café Masala. It helps us avoid any feeling (not that it ever occurs) of rushed service or otherwise. Giving us a time you would like to be walking out the door and en-route to your next place of interest is something we would love to know. By doing this, we can list your order as high priority and ensure you are well on schedule.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 March 2018 via mobile

Great night, great food and best host in town. He recommended the best dishes and really looked after us. Look for ADNAN or Ads as I call him, he never disappoints. Used to go over the road to Masoom but now I know where the best is. See you next Saturday.

Thank Stacey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Masala also viewed

Southend-on-Sea, Essex
Shoeburyness, Southend-on-Sea
 
Rochford, Southend-on-Sea
Leigh-on Sea, Southend-on-Sea
 
Southend-on-Sea, Essex
Southend-on-Sea, Essex
 

Been to Cafe Masala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing