We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Save
Review Highlights
Fun packed day out with teens

Absolutely fun packed day out for us here with teen boys. The queues were almost non existent... read more

Reviewed today
Harjkaur80
Wow what a lovely member of staff

Myself and my husband visited adventure island Just of the cuff as we was in Southend for a day... read more

Reviewed today
RPHATWH
via mobile
Read all 3,850 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Southend-on-Sea
from US$49.10
More Info
from US$47.70
More Info
from US$189.40
More Info
Reviews (3,850)
Filter reviews
3,850 results
Traveler rating
2,376
953
286
85
150
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,376
953
286
85
150
Show reviews that mention
All reviews all ages theme park thorpe park green band half price green scream alton towers indoor area roller coaster great value value for money go karts great fun an adult great family day soft play area annual pass
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
194 - 199 of 3,850 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2021 via mobile

The play facility are excellent but the number of visitors were overwhelmed. We would’ve enjoyed it if it was moderate people

Date of experience: May 2021
1  Thank michaelmT2648AQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy T, Customer Service, Bookings and Sales team at Adventure Island, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our rides, however it is regrettable that you felt we were too busy. As we are a free admission theme park this means that you are able to assess the park before purchasing anything. We also are based outside which means that our capacity is a lot larger than expected.

To avoid busier times, you can check our website calendar and the low season days will be our quieter days.

I hope that you take advantage of these quieter times, and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 June 2021

Was not happy. Having called in advance to enquire about waiting times due to having a child with additional needs I was assured it would be no longer than 15-20 minutes. We were waiting much longer and only managed 2 rides due to my son not coping. Over £80 for 2 rides and being squished in an open area like sardines in a tin. Even after not being able to move they were still admitting people. What happened to covid restrictions?
So we left with 2 unhappy children and no value for money at all.

Date of experience: May 2021
1  Thank Jacqui P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy T, Customer Services, Digital Marketing & Sales Team at Adventure Island, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review.

We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your trip at Adventure Island.

Here at Adventure Island, guest safety is paramount to us. This is why we have introduced many safety measures, such as track and trace as you come into the park, social distancing in queues as well as spacing bubbles apart onto rides. Whilst this does mean that the queue times are slightly longer, it is necessary to keep guests safe.

As we are a free admission theme park, people are able to judge the park before making a purchase. This means that they are able to judge how busy we are and if they feel that they do not want to any purchases they do not have to. It is regrettable to hear that you didn't take advantage of this. If you do not find value in our wristbands, we also offer individual ride tickets, these are at £2.50 each and each ride only takes one ticket.

We hope that we will see you again, and that we can restore your faith into Adventure Island soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 June 2021 via mobile

Visited bank holiday Monday we new it would be busy but inside the park itself was ridiculous. We waited until 6pm for half price tickets, covid measures in place before entering
The park such as doing track abs trace, then from there it was a free full. It was heaving, no mandatory masks to go on rides, did not see rides get wiped down once, ques were crazy, even inside eating areas no one was wearing a mask( YOU NEED TO CONTROL THIS) even staff were not wearing masks making the food. Got a ice cream paid for it, then the machine broke a girl walked all the way through the arcade through a crowd of people came back after filling the cone up god knows where from, I simply asked if a new one could be done as the machine was now fixed she just walked away scraped the ice cream she got from the machine into the fixed machine. Did a new one didn’t even acknowledge me basically just shoved it at me.
We only got 5 rides done as it was way to busy. Loads of people were moaning. Just seems the park are trying to cram as many people into there as possible, everyone was shoving passes each other it was that busy. SOMETHING NEEDS TO BE DONE!!!!!!

Date of experience: April 2021
Thank michaelap523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy T, Customer Services, Digital Marketing & Sales Team at Adventure Island, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review.

Whilst we do enforce social distancing throughout the park, as well as mask wearing through inside sections of the park including our restaurants, as well as inside based rides we are unable to police the public to do anything.

Our guests safety is paramount to us, so every two hours, the rides are wiped down - however we also use a long-lasting antibacterial protective layer called "Zoono" which is also used in hospitals. This kills pathogens as they come into contact with the surface. This means that we do not need to wipe down every ride after use because of this, however as a secondary precaution we still wipe the rides down every two hours to ensure the safety of our guests.

As a free admission theme park, this allows our guests to walk through the park to make a judgement on the rides before buying wristbands or tickets. We are sorry to hear that you didn't find the value in doing so.

In regards to our capacity, as we are in such an open area, our capacity is much larger than expected, and if we ever did reach the capacity we would work on a one in one out system so that everybody gets a fair chance into the park.

Once again we would like to thank you for your review. We hope we can restore your faith into Adventure Island soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 June 2021

The only downside is the high prices of food and drink and the park is quite small when compared to others. Although it still offers hours of fun for everyone. There's an arcade play area in the arcade, there's big and small rides. Plenty of fun and a lot of good memories

Date of experience: May 2021
Thank Yelingun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy T, Customer Service, Bookings and Sales team at Adventure Island, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review.

We agree, our theme park does offer hours of fun for everyone! We hope to see you soon to make some more good memories.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 June 2021 via mobile

It’s difficult to leave a review and it be focused on the fun element when the pandemic isn’t fully over.
To be fair to the staff for friendliness, helpfulness etc they were great.
The rides were good fun and a good range of choice.
The Covid safe guidelines were definitely not as they were advertised.
No face masks worn by the public (95%) inside the arcades, toilets, food areas etc. Spacing on rides didn’t happen.
Limit on the play centre seemed to be disregarded or was too high.
The amount of people allowed into Adventure Island seemed to be limitless.
Bank Holiday was crazy and we spent very little time there due to these reasons.
I hope to return after buying an annual pass and look forward to there being a better experience.

Date of experience: May 2021
Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy T, Customer Service, Bookings and Sales team at Adventure Island, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello Tracy, thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you appreciate our staff and their friendliness and helpfulness. We are also happy to hear that you bought an annual pass, and we do hope to see you again soon.

Whilst we do enforce social distancing and mask wearing where necessary, we are unable to police anyone to do so.

In regards to our capacity, as we are in such an open area spread over a wide section of the seafront, our capacity is a lot larger than can be expected. If we ever did reach the capacity, we would then work on a one in one out system so that everyone gets a fair chance into the park.


Once again, thank you for your review and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews