We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite dissappointing”
Review of The Harbour Inn

The Harbour Inn
Ranked #7 of 12 Quick Bites in Southwold
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I was really really looking forward to this, as am eating generally healthy, I earmarked this lunch as my one fish and chips of the holiday. The fact that the beer batter was advertised as one of my fave mainstream beers, Adnams Ghost ship was so exciting.

The restaurant is nice and we were well received and sat.

The food that came, everybody thought was underwhelming but the fish and chips...ugh. tiny fish that was 90% batter, the fish that was in was little bits like you get in cheap fish fingers. The batter was severely overdone. A massive disappointment. Nobody cleared their plate despite looking forward to it.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank shedsounds
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adnams Management Team, Marketing at The Harbour Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your feedback, we really appreciate it. We’re deeply sorry to hear of your disappointment on this occasion. Fish & Chips are one of our house specialities so we are deeply saddened to hear it was not good on your visit. We have taken this up with The Harbour team to prevent this happening in future. We do hope you visit us again and enjoy a wonderful time next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (821)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 821 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2021

Ate early evening at this pub. Barmaid was very helpful knew all about the menu, size of meals etc. Food came quickly despite the place being busy. Would eat here again on next visit. Recommended

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NeilB427
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adnams Management Team, Marketing at The Harbour Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2021

Thank you for your review. We are pleased that our team were able to assist you with our menu options and we hope to welcome you back to The Harbour again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 August 2021 via mobile

I came here with two friends yesterday, we ordered food which took nearly an hour! My friend went to the bar to query after about 30 mins to ask to be told it will be a few minutes Max & was the the next order out. 20 minutes later it arrived, we were asked if we would like an sauces to which I replied yes but the guy never came back. A group who came in & ordered got there’s shortly after ours when they had only been there 20 minutes, they were also asked if they wanted any sauces & got them. Clearly we just forgotten about & it wasn’t even that busy. We would have order deserts but weren’t willing to wait another hour. Disappointed

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank Kathryn564
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adnams Management Team, Marketing at The Harbour Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your feedback, it is much appreciated. We apologise for your disappointing visit on this occasion, this is not our usual level of service. We have picked this up with The Harbour team to prevent this happening in future. We do hope you visit again to experience The Harbour at its best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 August 2021

We travelled to Southwold last week from South London with our two children and it took us over 7 hours due to traffic. I was obviously pleased we had booked a table at the Harbour Inn months ago for the day of our arrival. I called at 6.30 on our way there to say we might be 10 minutes late due to traffic only to be told some very odd stories about long term bookings not being recorded since restrictions opened and them sending the chef home as they had no bookings. The story changed a few times but ultimately I felt very let down. With starving tired kids in the car and nowhere to go due to everywhere else being booked. The swan hotel were fabulous and went out.of their way to try and help us. I would not come here again.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank JuliaD421
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adnams Management Team, Marketing at The Harbour Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your feedback, we really appreciate it. With the gradually changing of Covid restrictions this year, The Harbour have reverted back to operating on a ‘first come, first served’ basis and not having table bookings, we’re sorry this change was not communicated to you as it should have been. We have passed this onto The Harbour team to prevent this happening again in future. We do hope you visit again to experience The Harbour at its best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 August 2021

Living in Lowestoft we are regular visitors the Harbour, sadly we wont be hurrying back. Had a meal there yesterday following a long day at the Southwold Antiques fair and it was very poor, had we not been with friends would have complained. Cold chips and luke warm burger, scant trimmings ... need to up their game with places like The Sailoft as competition ..

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank paulmS519SO
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adnams Management Team, Marketing at The Harbour Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2021

Thank you for letting us know about this Paul. We are sorry to read your disappointment, we are sorry that you were not able to address this while you were at The Harbour. Your feedback has been fed back to the General Manager and kitchen team. We hope that on your next visit it will be more of a pleasurable experience and up to our usual standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Harbour Inn also viewed

 
Southwold, Suffolk
Southwold, Suffolk
 

Been to The Harbour Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.