We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Randolph Hotel(Southwold)(Great Value!)
US$154
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blyth Hotel(Southwold)(Great Value!)
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amber House(Southwold)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Heathside Lodges(Wenhaston)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (138)
Filter reviews
138 results
Traveler rating
80
30
22
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
80
30
22
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscomplimentary bottleroom restaurantteething problemsnespresso machineapple tvbeautiful hoteloverlooking the market placeturn down servicetasting menufront of housegreat refurbloved our staysized showergin tourgreat food in the restaurantoutstanding roommain dining room
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 138 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Woefully disappointing. Too much focus on the design and not enough on the detail and service. The hotel management is hopelessly out of its depth due to the deluge of interest following press. Over booked and over priced. We will not be returning or recommending.

Stayed: April 2018, traveled with friends
8  Thank henron4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adnams S, Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thank you for your feedback Henron4. We are sad to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us on this occasion; it is our aim to delight and impress each and every guest that visits The Swan.

We would be most grateful if you were able to provide more detail regarding the areas of detail and service that did not meet your expectations so as to ensure that we can act upon your feedback. If you would be so kind as to email your feedback through to swansouthwold@adnams.co.uk we can ensure that this gets handled in the appropriate manner.

We look forward to receiving your feedback and hope that we can have the opportunity to improve to ensure that our guests receive the quality of service that they would expect of The Swan.

Should you reconsider, it would be our pleasure to welcome you back to The Swan to share with you our high level of guest service and hope that we can impress you with our dedicated and passionate team.

Best wishes,

The Swan Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

After a friendly welcome we were shown to our table and were impressed that our coats were taken to the cloakroom for us. We were immediately impressed with the refurbishment.
We ordered the chicken liver parfait twice to start, sea trout and ribeye for mains and chocolate fondant twice for dessert and were impressed with the presentation and food itself. The wine was also a great recommendation.
The only downside we felt was the way the menu was interpreted and I hope that they change this as it wasn’t clear what was a starter and what was a main at first, we even had to clarify a few things with the waiting staff. Otherwise a smashing meal with friendly attentive staff. Would highly recommend!!

Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Gail C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adnams S, Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Gail, thank you for sharing your review of our restaurants at The Swan - it is very much appreciated. It is lovely to hear that our service style impressed, it is certainly our aim to delight each and every guest at The Swan and our restaurants.

Your menu choices sound fantastic and it is wonderful to know that you enjoyed your meal with us. Our restaurant staff take great pride in recommending wines that suit the menu items that you have selected and so this feedback will be shared with the Restaurant Manager to pass on to the team.

We do appreciate your feedback with regards to the menu headings and this is an area that does get reviewed on a periodic basis, therefore, we will share this with Chef.

It is wonderful to know that you would highly recommend our restaurant and we hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Swan in the near future.

Best wishes,

The Swan Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

We stayed at the swan for 1 night (290318). The hotel has gone through a refurbishment. The hotel and rooms were beautiful. They have everything you need as well as some nice touches. There are public rooms where you can have a drink, afternoon tea, lunch and dinner. Most of the staff were very friendly and helpful especially the night porter who took us to our room and provided us with information if we needed anything during the night.

The only thing that lets this hotel down is the sub standard food. We had chocolate cake in the afternoon that was dry. We then had dinner in the evening with family. The lemon sole was dry. However the fish board was awful. It came out with a little bread, salmon, an oyster, 2 pots of something we couldn’t taste and cockles that we swore had had sugar poured in instead salt it was so sweet! Following this I had chocolate fondant which again had no taste. I am
no cook but could have served up better than we had that night. I spoke to a waitress who said she would speak to the chef and come back to me but she didn’t.

It is such a shame that a hotel of this standard is unable to provide food at the same standards. We would stay here again but would avoid the restaurant.

Stayed: April 2018, traveled with family
3  Thank Annirmck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adnams S, Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thank you for your review Annirmck; we really appreciate your feedback.

We are delighted that you liked the new style of The Swan following our refurbishment last year.

It is sad to hear that we did not deliver the quality of food that you would expect of the Culinary Team here at The Swan. We will be sure to follow up with Chef regarding your concerns and appreciate you bringing these to our attention.

Consistency and quality of our food offering are certainly two areas that we pride ourselves on in our restaurants so it is disappointing to hear that you have not experienced our usual quality and service level.

We are in the process of refreshing the menu to reflect seasonal produce and we hope that next time that you are in Southwold you would experience the restaurant again and experience the very best that the Tap Room and the Still Room have to offer.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Swan in the near future.

The Swan Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 April 2018

We visited The Swan three times during our overnight stay in Southwold so I guess that tells you how much we loved the place. Have morning coffee in the lounge and had a delicious warm fruit scone and a tasty gluten free chocolate cookie. In the evening we had a meal in the restaurant when we both had the steak burger which has to be one of the best burgers we have ever had.

The staff were friendly and the service efficient. The refurbished property is amazing and is very much a destination venue and is obviously the place to be seen.

We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adnams S, General Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you for your review Ian. We are absolutely thrilled that you enjoyed visiting The Swan during your recent trip to Southwold. Our Pastry Chef will be delighted to hear that you found our sweet treats served in the Drawing Room to be delicious and Chef will be very pleased with your comments regarding the Beef Burger.

It is great to hear that the refurbishment impressed you and that our staff delivered a memorable experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Swan in the near future.

The Swan Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 March 2018

Re-visited The Swan after a very poor first meal post the re-furb (and being offered and refused a free meal!) Much much better, very good, friendly staff, and learnt what skrei cod was - the best I have ever tasted. They have sensibly reduced the menu to focus on better more interesting meals; my chicken liver pate and wife's smoked mackerel for starters were amazing. We will return now.
Niggles? If I were to be a total pedant - the table kept wobbling and our drinks were slopping around; the waiter said there was a screw underneath to adjust but this should be checked before service. Also I could have done without the soil on one of my carrots (not good between the teeth!).

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Reydonsuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adnams S, General Manager at The Swan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you for your review; we are delighted to hear that our team provided a friendly approach to your service. Chef will be very pleased to hear your comments about the cod.

We have recently updated the menu and it is great to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience and would return again in the future.

Your comments regarding the dining tables will be passed on to our Maintenance Team to ensure that any wobbles are made good.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Swan in the near future.

Best wishes,

The Swan Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews