We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
US$104
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$81
Novotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$49
US$44
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Atithi(Guwahati)
US$66
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$29
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dynasty Hotel(Guwahati)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mayflower Hotel(Guwahati)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveler rating
6
12
8
0
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
6
12
8
0
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspan bazaarguwahati railway stationpaltan bazaarrasamkolkataolatoilet
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 15 December 2017 via mobile

First and foremost this property is not listed as Hotel President. Please correct it to OYO 4793 Hotel President, as it took me quite a while to realise it was one and the same. I hope the error is rectified.

Now to the review:

This property is unlike the two OYO affiliated hotels where I previously resided: Parnil Palace in Guwahati and Walson Inn in Kolkata. Hotel President is a proper hotel and not a property that has been renovated from an apartment building or commercial premises.

Practically everything about this property is pleasant - from reception / front office, the room, imperatively the bathroom / toilet and included breakfast. The room is comfortable, clean and so is the bathroom and toilet, which is spacious too. There are many English language cable TV channels.

There is a good sized wardrobe.

Housekeeping is done diligently daily. I noticed painters painting a couple of rooms; obviously the management ensures that it's property is well maintained.

Breakfast is a four course buffet with canned fruit juice and coffee / tea - no limit; unlike OYO Parnil Palace in Guwahati where coffee and butter / jam was charged extra.

There is an in-house bar and restaurant; unfortunately, the prices are costly.

Guwahati railway station is walking distance from the hotel, there is an autorickshaw and bus stand opposite the hotel; besides which, the hotel can be easily accessed by Ola or Uber. The hotel is also very near to Guwahati railway station.

A few minor dislikes:

Occasional disturbance by the trains' horns and so also vehicular noise during the day.

There are occasional visits by cockroaches - the hotel should have intensive pest control done and also provide an anti pest aerosol can for each room. This pest intrusion is to be blamed on the sewerage system in Guwahati, where raw sewage is discharged into road level sewers; some covered, some not. Shocking that Assam does not have a sewage treatment plant setup.

"OYO" has this peculiar stingy attitude at their affiliated properties, wherein bottled mineral water is not provided in the rooms during the stay; rather filtered water is provided in a jug. So be prepared to buy bottled mineral water. In addition, coffee / tea / milk whitener with kettle are not provided. I hope "OYO" gets over their stinginess and provide the above; customers are paying a good price. However, here is a tip - you can collect your daily quota of bottled mineral water from reception / front office.

P. S.: I extended my stay from four days to ten days; rather than change to another hotel, which I normally do while on a long trip.

Please clean the intercom; this is one instrument always neglected for sanitation and cleaning in all hotels.

I will return to this hotel.

Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
Thank Wyatt_Dee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 December 2016

We have stayed in this hotel for one day couple of days back, booked thru OYO. While the location on the hotel is very convenient as we wanted to visit Kamakya temple and some shopping. This is near both Pan Bazar and Fashion Bazar, and walkable too.

The rest of the story is not great, as rooms stinks, bed sheets were not fresh, bathrooms not neat. The restaurant is closed except for breakfast. They food is served in rooms only. Not well occupied.

We had a late evening flight, hence requested for late checkout at around 2:30 (We checked prev day at 6pm). The desk Manager accepted for this timings, hence we planned our next day accordingly. At around 1pm when we are out the desk person called us and wanted us to checkout, as per their 12noon time, else asked us to vacate and keep the lugguage out. This was crazy as we planned to return to room at around 2pm. In the meantime they hurriedly packed our lugguage in our absence and put the Suit cases at the reception. MOST INHOSPITABLE and shocking for us to know this when we returned at 1:50pm. The Manager there was rude, aurgementative. We checked out there and then and vacated the room. I will NEVER stay there and DO NOT RECOMMENT such places in the hospitality industry, with more indecent attitude.

Room Tip: They push you to take backside rooms, do not accept, they stink more.
  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CDMurthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oyorooms, Guest Relations Manager at OYO 4793 Hotel President, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2016

Hi Guest,
We're extremely sorru to know that you had a bad experience with us. We regret the inconvenience caused. This is something that we don't stand for. Guest satisfaction is a core part of our foundation & we regret that weren't able to provide a stay up to your satisfaction. We request you to please let us know your booking ID so that we can look into the matter ASAP and can get in touch with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 October 2016

good and quiet stay. excellent location for those having nearby train catching schedule.
but average service for those who have an early morning schedule. Would advice people to stay here instead of running around for luxury hotels since it is a full mid range packed.

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sumeet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oyorooms, Guest Relations Manager at OYO 4793 Hotel President, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2016

Dear Guest,

Dear Guest, Thank you for staying with us. We are glad to know that you had an awesome stay with OYO and loved our services. We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 September 2016

I had planned a trip with my Girlfriend in guwahati but our main concern was how do we get a room as unmarried couple. The very next day i read an article about oyo introducing couples stay in its partner hotels. I Checked on the app and found a number of hotels which allowed stay for unmarried couples. I paid up and got a room booked at a reasonable rate.
The stay was fantastic. Room was beautiful. Complimentary breakfast was great. Staff was friendly and did not make us feel awkward. Thank you oyo.

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
10  Thank Tom Violence L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oyorooms, Guest Relations Manager at OYO 4793 Hotel President, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2016

Hi Guest,
Thank you for the generous review of your recent stay at OYO. We are glad to know that you had a comfortable stay with us and we are happy to hear that hotel staff looked after you well. It is highly rewarding for our team when our guests have a memorable stay with us. We respect a couple's privacy and believe in a no- disturb policy. Keep travelling and loving us the same way. We would love to host you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 September 2016

Visited guwahati & book a room through oyo. The experience was good. The process of checking in was smooth. The service was also good. The property located in a well communicated location. Would like to recomand people to go for it.

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank egourab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oyorooms, Guest Relations Manager at OYO 4793 Hotel President, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review and feedback.

We are delighted that your stay at OYO was enjoyable and you experienced the gracious hospitality and service that all OYO Hotels are renowned for.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews