We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Rawnsley Park Station Eco Villas(Flinders Ranges National Park)(Great Value!)
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Prairie Hotel(Parachilna)
Free cancellation until 07/27
US$118
US$114
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Windana Cottages(Hawker)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 07/21
US$104
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Free cancellation until 07/22
US$97
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (623)
Filter reviews
623 results
Traveler rating
158
227
142
64
32
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
158
227
142
64
32
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssafari tentwilpena poundflinders rangespowered sitenational parkwine glassesgeneral storecamping groundbar restaurantstandard roommotel stylebush settingbreakfast was includedplenty of hot waterwalking trailsqueen bedbar fridge
Filter
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 623 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018

The lovely scenery and the flight we took over Wilpena Pound made it a worthwhile trip. However, the resort is rather pricey for a pretty run down lodge. Check-in and check-out is pretty hit and miss. They mucked up our pre-booked excursion dates and mucked up the bill on departure. Pub standard meals.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

Stayed in a four bed apartment. Disappointed that there was limited facilities in our room. Only two cups, glasses and wine glasses. Small fridge with all shelving missing, no toaster, microwave, plates or cutlery. For the price I expected more. If there are four beds I would at least expect four water glasses. A bbq area closer among the cabins would be good as well. On the upside comfy beds in a great location.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
Thank Carolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 March 2018

My partner and i booked a last minute stay just after New Years.
The room was clean and no real issues. A little dated. We moved the table and chairs from inside to outside each night so we could sit and enjoy 'the great outdoors'.
The staff were all lovely albeit a little ill informed at times. We asked about places to go for lunch and we were advised about a pub about 60km up the road. All good off we went. Unfortunately once we got there the whole town was shut, as was every other nearby town.
Great location for being able to walk the trails (the ones that are open),
The restaurant - I hate to say, the food was terrible, and overpriced.
Buffet breakfast - also terrible. A muesli bar and OJ from our room would have been nicer. I wouldn't bother......and at $25 per person you'd expect something to actually be available to put on your plate. Also there were still beer bottles at the tables outside from the night before.
Sunset Tour - beautiful view and the guide was very knowledgeable, but the spread was pretty basic for what you're paying.

  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simone M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 March 2018

Stayed here for two nights after the drive up from Adelaide. The area is very beautiful, bit not a heap around it, but that was to be expected. Tent was nice, comfortable, and clean, was Lovely waking up in the morning to the sunrise and cool breeze. Dinner at the restaurant was okay, I really fancied a salad or something light, it was a very meat based menu. Cannot wait till Australia gets over its burger focus and the need to serve everything with chips. I had felafel, which did not taste like that’s at all, was more like pumpkin. And the salad was just some spinach leaves placed on the plate and yogurt, quite disappointing. Breakfast was average too, with cheese kranskys, not so nice scrambled eggs. All in all though staff were amazing and terribly polite and helpful. Not a resort by any means but a descent camp site with cool tents. Glad I got a groupon deal and didn’t pay full price.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled solo
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 March 2018

My husband and I had stayed in the Ikara Safari tents a few years ago and had the most wonderful experience with both the tents themselves and wonderful breakfast in the large function tent in the middle of the safari tent area.
So, when I received an email from Wilpena Pound with the fabulous offer of stay 3 nights, pay for 2, we snapped up the deal. Friends came with us as they had heard how much we enjoyed it.
We were greeted by a lovely woman at reception who was extremely helpful and answered all our queries. She unfortunately advised us the kitchen in the communal tent was being upgraded so we would have to come to the resort for breakfast.
When we got to our tents, the disappointment hit. The floor in the tent was covered in a fine dirt, the door on the cabinet where the mini fridge was behind was missing, the door beside it broken. The glass shower screen and mirror in the bathroom hadn't been cleaned and there were spider webs on the outdoor chairs. A positive point is the bed was extremely comfortable.
The breakfasts were very disappointing too. Running scrabbled eggs, bacon that appeared to only have been warmed up as there was no colour whatsoever to it and we had to wait on the second day over 20 minutes for the buffet to be replenished when we arrived. There was only one person looking after the entire restaurant.
On our 3rd day we were greeted by a very friendly housekeeper as we were leaving our tents in the morning. We were asked if we needed any supplies such as towels and we said no. On our return that evening, we were shocked to see our tent hadn't been serviced and our bed hadn't been made. Very much a let down for what is supposed to be a 5 star accommodation.
I can only hope the standard of upkeep is improved so no one else will be as disappointed as we were.

Room Tip: Number 9 tent is in the best location
  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomkarAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews