We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$102
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/11/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
US$102
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/11/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
FindHotel
US$97
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/11/21
Hotels.comUS$102
Booking.comUS$102
ZenHotels.comUS$115
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (383)
Filter reviews
383 results
Traveler rating
252
108
12
3
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
252
108
12
3
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bedroom apartment courtesy bus conference facilities whole complex onsite restaurant outskirts of town steak great place to stay only stayed one night great restaurant comfortable stay room service large bathroom good nights sleep comfortable rooms easy parking definitely stay here again
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 383 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2021

The Reception staff were delightful and explained that the restaurant was shut due to staff shortages. But after a 6 hour drive having to get in the car again to search for a meal was not what we had wanted hence our choosing Explorers Inn. The state premier in QLD is constantly asking people to visit rural areas but the facilities are just not up to it.Very sad.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Petercamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard Condon, General Manager at Roma Explorers Inn Motel & Function Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2021

Thank you Peter for your review. We currently have 10 positions available and despite continuous advertising no reply's. Whilst we have had to close our Restaurant on SUNDAY NIGHTS only. WE DO OFFER ROOM SERVICE FROM OUR FULL RESTAURANT MENU ON SUNDAY NIGHTS. Your comment about the state premier is pathetic. The whole of Queensland hospitality Industry are suffering from staff shortages and are trying to cope with the lack of staff. It is very sad Peter that in your perfect world some industries are doing it tough due to the Pandemic, the Premiers border closes ,etc, etc.
Cheers,
Richard
JILL GORDON & RICHARD CONDON

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 May 2021

Large room with all the facilities you need for a restful night. Great location as you enter town from the East. Plenty of parking, restaurant with room service. Staff were courteous, professional but not very friendly.

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard Condon, General Manager at Roma Explorers Inn Motel & Function Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2021

Thanks Brad for taking the time to post a review. We do appreciate your wonderful comments and note the not very friendly staff. Our staff are stretched to the limit due to acute staff shortages. The Pandemic has caused many problems for the Hospitality Industry and no Backpackers has made it worse. Thanks for staying with us.
Cheers,
Richard
JILL GORDON & RICHARD CONDON

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 May 2021

This motel is cuts above the rest. Spacious room with warm bedding and all the facilities. Traffic noise is not bad considering it's on the main street like most motels. Restaurant is amazing - I had the beef tenderloin starter which was one of the best meals I've had recently.

Room tip: I chose a back room away from the main road
Date of stay: May 2021
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CSDEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard Condon, General Manager at Roma Explorers Inn Motel & Function Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2021

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review. Firstly our apologies for the delay in replying. We like nearly all Hospitality Businesses are suffering from lack of staff, thereby management are having to work exceptionally long hours to keep the business open. On behalf of all our staff we would like to thank you for your wonderful comments. The staff were really pleased your acknowledgment of there efforts to make your stay enjoyable and the Restaurant team very happy with your comment "Amazing". Thanks for staying with us and we hope when we get back to normal we can welcome you again in beautiful Roma.
Cheers Richard JILL GORDON & RICHARD CONDON

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 May 2021 via mobile

Hey guys DO NOT EAT at Roma Explorers inn..!!!!

The kitchen has been taken over once again, it is truly disappointing.
No Eye fillet waiting on the butcher. Lol
asked for salad & extra chips, got roasted veg.
When we reordered the chips, they arrived 15 minutes later they were wrapped in cling wrap!

My wife’s duck breast was like a piece of leather!
Couldn’t cut it with a steak knife!!!!

Breakfast was very very average!
When I order toast, I expect 2 pieces, unfortunately not here!

Deserts were very average!!

Richard the manager & his lovely wife were amazing as always.
We are regulars & the service from the reception staff is always second to none.

WE WILL NEVER EAT HERE AGAIN...
Probably won’t even stay here again....

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank apposmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard Condon, General Manager at Roma Explorers Inn Motel & Function Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2021

Thanks Brett. Your comments should be clarified. You might be a regular to Roma , however 2 visits before this visit over two years is hardly regular. We don't use a butcher prefer the paddock to plate , and our supplier Maranoa Beef didn't have any fillet Steak available for a few days. After your 3 phone calls with apologize from chef and myself you wish to continue, having consumed all meals and got what you wanted a free meal with extras. This night we cooked 41 steaks and 16 duck dishes. Next morning after your comments we asked each departing guest if they had eaten dinner and didn' receive one bad comment on the contrary all were excellent. Your statement "The kitchen has been taken over again" is totally inaccurate. Brett you have achieved what you set out to do. Cheers Richard JILL GORDON & RICHARD CONDON

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 April 2021 via mobile

Amazing find - room was great but the absolute highlight was the restaurant with the most talented chef - she was brilliant - highlight of the trip was the overnight in Roma at this little gem - highly recommended either to stay or just to dine at the restaurant

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Nomad24332958802
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard Condon, General Manager at Roma Explorers Inn Motel & Function Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2021

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review. We do apologize for the delay in reply, however we are currently searching for 12 staff , which has meant very long hours for management. We do thank you for your wonderful review. We share all reviews with our staff and our new Sous Chef was very pleased to read your comments. Our Industry is going through a very tough period post COVID due to lack of suitable staff and your excellent comments were pleasing for all to read. Thanks for staying with us.
Cheers, Richard JILL GORDON & RICHARD CONDON

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews