We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
"Fabulous Sunset Cruise"

Great way to spend the end of the day. Loved the sunset cruise with a very informative commentary... read more

Reviewed 2 days ago
dennisfD7021QT
,
Nambour, Australia
Great way to spend an afternoon and evening

Loved everything. The minute we got on the bus our driver’s humour was appreciated and the tour was... read more

Reviewed 3 days ago
LizG548
,
Cleveland, Australia
Read all 728 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Longreach
from US$99.94
More Info
from US$99.94
More Info
Reviews (728)
Filter reviews
728 results
Traveler rating
641
76
6
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
641
76
6
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews day tour cape york torres strait the river savannah tour excellent tour an amazing experience winton kathy oat entertainment station dinner outback meals aot punctual
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 728 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Amazing experience for the family of all ages... picked up from the hotel, followed by a relaxing and pleasant cruise down the Thomson river at sunset. The meal and entertainment were top notch aussie hospitality. The kids enjoyed themselves immensely- thanks for the trucks made available to keep kids engaged while we all enjoyed the evening

Date of experience: April 2021
Thank Gmilligan2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Wonderful tales of the history of the area with loads of entertainment and delicious meals. It is a must do.

Date of experience: April 2021
1  Thank 484genen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 April 2021

Thomson River cruise with Outback Aussie Tours on the Saturday night.

Picked up from any number of destinations in town, we boarded the bus just up the road for a short trip out to the Thomson River.

Onboard there was a seating arrangement for all. Up on the top the boat, on the front bit (stern, bow???) and inside. Part way into the trip and we got a little container of snacks. Think antipasta in individual serves to go with whatever you choose to drink from the bar.

We choose the longer tour which meant we cruised, for I think, an hour and a half. A nice slow chug with commentary and entertainment from new skipper Alex. This included some of his stories, some local stories and history including the sight of some shield and canoe trees fom indigenious culture.

We turned around and headed back, a pit stop at Sunset Bend with amazing views and a posse of turtles, the largest (Rafaella) who is estimated to be over 80 years old. When the turtles first turned up the company did some research with turtle experts and found they could give them Sao biscuits when they came to the boat. Local sodium, low something, something but all it means is it won't hurt their diet, it's just a treat.

Then the sunset put on its show and wow, we live in an amazing part of the world.
Back at the base camp, everyone was ready to treat us to main meal (in our case Lamb stew which was amazing and grilled Barra), then desert.

All the while we were entertained by a local man John Hawkes. Now I am not sure about John's story that he came to performing late in life, because he has written some great songs and his stories and stage presence was fantastic and really helped make the night even more special.

We met a nice couple who sat with us at dinner. So great food, nice new company, great enterainment and all in all and incredible night.

When you come to visit Longreach, do yourself a favour and book to cruise down the river.

Date of experience: April 2021
Thank Madam_Muck70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 April 2021 via mobile

had a fabulous evening on smithy’s Drovers Sunset Cruise great staff service was excellent as was the scenery

Date of experience: April 2021
Thank Catiecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 April 2021

This is one for your Bucket list. We had a great time. Well feed & beutifly entertained Corinne. A great night had by all.

Date of experience: April 2021
Thank TuiRoo50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews