We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ferntree Rainforest Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Cow Bay Hotel(Cow Bay)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Daintree Ecolodge(Daintree)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Club Tropical Resort(Port Douglas)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mantra On The Inlet(Port Douglas)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mantra Heritage(Port Douglas)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (376)
Filter reviews
376 results
Traveler rating
113
139
76
28
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
113
139
76
28
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden loftcommon roombit datedping pongbreakfast was includedsome tlccommon areaswhet restaurantpool tablecommunal kitchenport douglasbeautiful beachpizzapoolstvlodgemiddle
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 376 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The whole place was extremely quiet and just felt run down. There was no one in reception when I arrived at 6pm, jus an envelope with my key and a map. The lodge was not exactly dirty but didn’t feel properly clean. Towels were restocked but the fridge wasn’t and the bin wasn’t emptied or the bed made, The walk to the restaurant in the dark was precarious with limited light. Only half the brief menu was available on the first night and only pizza n the second night. I checked out a day early and nobody even asked why. The pool was nice and the continental breakfast was adequate. Very poor value for money,

Stayed: March 2018, traveled solo
1  Thank anniethomas152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2018 via mobile

Visited Ferntree on a spur of the moment trip. It was the off season so the place was fairly quiet.

The grounds are well maintained gardens set within the rain forest.

There's no tv, radio and no mobile reception so there's nothing to distract you from the surroundings.

A short walk from the beach and the local shop.

The room we stayed in was a good size with a king bed, nice little verandah to watch the birds in the trees.

There's two pools within the grounds and a restaurant although as it was off season the timings were restricted.

The resort has it's own power generation as is the norm here.

A great place to stay, the only bad point was we ordered breakfast and there wasn't a toaster in the room for the bread that was in the tray.

Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Troy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2018 via mobile

The place seems extremely worn down, sure it was top dollar in the 80’s/90’s seems like its run without a heart put into it. Not fully self contained as promised as there is community kitchen, where the camping stove hardly works and pots/pans useless. No privacy as all porches are out in the open. Not very clean garden loft and we were only about 4 guests in all of the ”resort”, many cob website inside, bugs and spiders. Was nests on the outdoor table and on the house, reception didnt bother helping out with it. Restaurant very very basic, breakfast below average and last morning they brought us breakfast to the ‘house’ as there were no guests so no reason for buffet, but it was a plate of old banana bread straight from the fridge, a tiny mini Bowl of youghurt (for 2), same size Bowl with oats, prepacked vegemite, jam and peanutbutter (1 of each for2) and sliced orange and melon straight from fridge, it was yakki!!!
It seems more like a luxury hostel or holiday park would not recommend it or ever go back not worth 165 Per night, instead go to oceans safari 80 mtrs down the road and pay only 80 for same basic cabins. Wifi didnt work either when paid for. Sheets and blanket on bed had spots and lots of mould in the shower.

Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Desiree J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2018

We stayed in a loft room. Getting up the stairs was interesting as they are narrow and steep. No blinds on the windows meaning no privacy from prying eyes in the next bungalow. No screens on windows so if you hate air conditioning, you couldn't open the windows and enjoy the breeze without being eaten by mosquitoes.There were only 3-4 other couples/families staying at the same time yet they put us all adjacent to each other, so when we were on our balcony enjoying a drink, the neighbours complained that we were waking up the kids.(The rain was louder than we were). We went to the communal lounge to watch TV and all the staff were there hogging it. No offers from them to see what we wanted to see. The bar doesn't open, so can only get alcohol from the restaurant which is only open for 2 hours at night. Mostly backpackers working there, average pub food at best, but at restaurant prices. Selection of fruit for breakfast was oranges or oranges.No TV or Wi-Fi in the rooms but good if you want a break from reality.

Room Tip: different room types to choose from
  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank andyb0710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2018 via mobile

This place is very conveniently located in the Daintree cape trib area.

Unfortunately there was a lot of mould in the bedroom on ceiling and in the bathroom. The bathroom had people’s old shampoo and soap cakes (used) still on top of the shower sill. The fridges in the room didn’t get cool enough to store food in safely and ended up putting food in the communal kitchen. The communal kitchen was the filthiest kitchen I have every seen for a backpacker kitchen and I have travelled all over 3rd world cities in Asia. Mould, grime, smelly fridges and dirty floors.

I wouldn’t recommend staying here if you have an allergies or asthma, mould is a common problem in rainforest areas but can be controlled if cleaned properly.

Lovely grounds of the lodge and swimming pools, the rooms would be great if they didn’t have the mould build up and the fridges cooled down.

Stayed: January 2018, traveled on business
Thank Nicjane15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews