We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of our romantic weekend.”

Secret Forest Walks
Ranked #2 of 7 Tours in Daylesford
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Experience the beauty and seclusion of the Wombat Forest,Daylesford, using our specially programmed hand held GPS units as your guide. No clubs or tours, just you and the company of your choice, or solo if you wish. Choose from a selection of carefully mapped scenic bushwalks to suit your tastes and abilities. Ask for a backpack of walkers essentials to round off the experience, or BYO. We also have fun and challenging GPS Treasure Hunt games (Geocaching) for families and corporate groups.
Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

Brendan was very easy and available to communicate with before we even started. I had looked up hikes around the region and they all seemed very 'touristy' and busy. Brendan gave us many good options. I was with my partner, and wanting seclusion. Brendan delivered. The sat-nav was super easy to use. It was the perfect balance of feeling thoroughly in the forest, without the paranoia about getting lost. By far the highlight of our weekend. We are planning many more re-visits to him and his fabulous local knowledge.

1  Thank nicola w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (107)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"treasure hunt"
in 12 reviews
"off the beaten track"
in 7 reviews
"gps unit"
in 4 reviews
"fun activity"
in 4 reviews
"gps guided"
in 3 reviews
"great fun"
in 6 reviews
"clear instructions"
in 3 reviews
"fitness levels"
in 2 reviews
"local sights"
in 2 reviews
"spend an afternoon"
in 3 reviews
"phone call"
in 2 reviews
"daylesford lake"
in 4 reviews
"beautiful surrounds"
in 2 reviews
"lovely walk"
in 3 reviews
"my partner"
in 5 reviews
"brendan"
in 65 reviews
"blowhole"
in 6 reviews
Filter

10 - 14 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2018 via mobile


We had a wonderful experience geocaching around Lake Daylesford. The children who ranged in age from 6 to 13 all had a great time, Brendon patiently explained the GPS operation and the kids had no trouble following his instructions. I wholeheartedly recommend this activity which is suitable for the whole family.

Thank Eva L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan M, Owner at Secret Forest Walks, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

Thank you Eva.
It is a special joy for me to have three generations in a family out enjoying the Treasure Hunt and having fun together.
Cheers

Brendan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 July 2018 via mobile

Great introduction to geocaching. We’re hooked - will do again. Highly recommended. Brendan was very helpful, very patient and clearly enjoys sharing his passion with others.

Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan M, Owner at Secret Forest Walks, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

Hi Paul.

Thanks for your lovely review.
It was a pleasure to meet you all.

Cheers.

Brendan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 July 2018 via mobile

My husband and I did the Clear Air Walk last Sunday. Firstly have to say that Brendan was very quick to respond to our 9pm email on the Saturday night... and met us the next morning to take us through the options. He is very knowledgeable on the local area, and helped us pick the perfect walk.
It was so amazing walking through the forest and soaking in the serene and beautiful sights in absolute seclusion. This is a path we never would have attempted ourselves without the GPS, as there were no sign posts and barely any trail!!
For 3 hours we felt like the only people on earth. We left the trail feeling completely relaxed and at one with nature. I can’t wait to try another trail! You must try this!!

Thank marzy000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan M, Owner at Secret Forest Walks, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

"For 3 hours we felt like the only people on earth. We left the trail feeling completely relaxed and at one with nature".

Thank you for this most heart warming of reviews. I sincerely look forward to seeing for another walk.

Cheers.
Brendan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2018

The positioning of the posts was exceptional, It combined scenery and hard puzzles to find the posts

Thank AlmondAI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan M, Owner at Secret Forest Walks, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

Hi Almond.
I'm very pleased that enjoyed the challenge of the GPS Treasure Hunt. Thanks for your feedback.
Cheers
Brendan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Secret Forest Walks also viewed

 

Been to Secret Forest Walks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing