We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Whittlebury Hall
Nearby Hotels
Travelodge Towcester Silverstone(Towcester)(Great Value!)
US$54
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
The Saracens Head Hotel(Towcester)(Great Value!)
US$73
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Walnut Tree Inn(Northampton)
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Silverstone(Silverstone)(Great Value!)
US$81
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$78
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Campanile Northampton(Northampton)(Great Value!)
US$39
US$37
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Hilton Northampton(Northampton)
US$93
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$74
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Milton Keynes Old Stratford(Milton Keynes)(Great Value!)
US$50
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,683)
Filter reviews
2,683 results
Traveler rating
809
788
549
298
239
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
809
788
549
298
239
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsheat and ice experiencebuffet lunchclub roomastons restaurantspa facilitiesspa breaksilverstone barleisure clubcourse dinnerhydrotherapy poolwater bedsice cavefull body massageafternoon teaice roomlarge hotelgreat spa
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 2,683 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Should have realised when booking our virgin experience voucher over the Easter weekend that it was going to be busy, but was not expecting the level of busyness it was!

We checked into the hotel on Easter Monday and used the hotel facilities (swimming pool, sauna etc) but enquired when our body massage treatment would be the following day. We were told a specific time (11.30am) and we were even shown this on the computer screen by a member of staff. Sadly it is safe to say that staff members all work independently as when we turned up at our allocated time for the massage the following day we were told that treatment times are not booked in advance and as we were 'late' checking into the spa, our treatments had been pushed back to 6pm, which didn't suit us one bit as we're not local. We finally were told that we could expect a gift voucher (initially not to the value of two massages!) to allow us to revisit another time.. which frankly I feel I'll be amazed to see come through.

Aside from the lack of staff competence, the spa was absolutely heaving.. the heat and ice experience whilst interesting to use was not all that special, with the sauna being far too hot to sit in for more than a couple of minutes. As per what should have been included in the voucher deal.. it's safe to say that the 'iced water, herbal tea and fresh fruit' was definately not being provided which quite a few people complaining about the lack of even 'non-iced' water to drink. The changing rooms were ok, however no fresh towels or robes to hand and showers were pretty grotty.

The room we stayed in was quite spacious, however the sound travels through the walls and floors pretty easily.. we were woken quite abruptly early in the morning with the cleaners just allowing the bedroom doors to slam shut.

Unfortunately the spa deal was a gift and so it had to be used at at Whittlebury Hall, however if I had the option to book an overnight stay with spa facilities, I'm unlikely to be booking here again.

Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Leila T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Whittlebury Hall, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear Leila T,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review. We were so sorry to hear you were disappointed with your visit. Without knowing more details about the situation with your treatment, we are unable to comment/advise however, your feedback as a whole has been shared with all relevant managers. It is a shame we did not have the opportunity to speak with you directly when you were with us, should you visit again, please let us know if there is anything we can assist you with.

We hope you do decide to visit again in the future.

Kind regards,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had never been to a Spa before so this was all new and I was very unsure this was my "thing". I thought the food was exceptional, lunch dinner and breakfast. Plenty of tea, coffee and milk available in the lovely room which was large and spotless and a hug bathroom too. i had a facial too. The girl was so helpful and engaging. I believe her name was Alyson.It was Easter weekend and exceptionally busy but this did not effect the great service, efficiency and quality. Fantastic experience.

  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank finola2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Whittlebury Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear finola2017,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review.

We were so pleased to hear you had a fantastic experience with us and thank you for your kind feedback about your therapist, the food and accommodation.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Kind regards,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Arrived early to make the most of our break, hotel check in fine told room wouldn't be available till between 3-4 - not an issue.

Walked across the cobbles to the spa and checked in no issues, quick tour round told us where everything was, changed into our gym gear and found the gym, small and compact but plenty of machines - sweaty machines come on people if you sweat clean it its not nice someone else doing it! Shame there were no staff in the gym checking people were ok & not in danger of injuring themselves or just simply to show the guests how the equipment worked.

We had treatments booked for 11.30 so got freshened up & changed into our swim wear and relaxed for a little so as not to be overheated for our treatments, we found the water beds in the whisper room BEST THING EVER! Although disappointing to witness that other guests were not taking note of the suggested time limit to ensure everyone got a chance in them.

Treatments were good relaxing had better had worse, as they were part of our package it was reasonable.

We were scheduled for lunch at 12pm, confused as to if this was "from12 or at 12 and as we only finished our treatments at 11.55 we found ourselves at the back of a vey long queue in a very cold corridor in our dressings gowns, I jokes it was like we were in an institution all in white robes and flip flops! We eventually got seated and was told we needed to be finished by 12.45 to allow the room to be turned around for next sitting at 1pm. Food was nice selection of hot and cold buffet items along with soup and fruit salad should you wish, water was on the table and we were never approached to see if we wanted alternative drinks.

Our afternoon was spent in the spa which was packed and the pool was also busy although due to the temperature of the pool few were swimming. As part of our package we had added a cream tea which was served in the pool bar area 3 warms scones and choice of tea or coffee, it was nice but a pot of coffee would have been nicer that our small cups.

We went back to the whisper area after this to relax some more and found 2 seats, again the water beds were been used and again guests were not taking note of the suggested time limit, we know at least four of the beds the guests were on them when we arrived and still on them over an hour later - perhaps some sort of a timer would help move people along and there is no queuing system, you could be waiting on the chairs but someone walk in and get an available bed if they were lucky to be walking in as others were walking out.

We then booked in to our room and found it to be large and clean, a few stains on the carpet but guess that's to be expected with a plain beige carpet. The bathroom could have done with another wipe over & if I was doing a "three in a bed review" they would have let them selves down in the amount of hairs left in the bathroom both in the bath and on the floor & sink tops - not nice!! Bed was firm but ok for one night room was warm and the additional items in room would be useful if staying more than one night.

We took dinner in Ashtons as part of our package, to be honest I would have been happy with a bar meal in the Silverstone bar but that doesn't appear to be an option. Service in Ashtons was slow, emty water glasses shouldn't happen. The menu not to my taste but other half loved his. Desert was good though.

We both slept ok, were woken a few times but other people coming into their rooms noisily and banging doors.

Breakfast next morning again served in Ashtons - lovely self service with tea and coffee served by staff - first pot of coffee cold second a little better. Large choice of cooked continental and pastry items available, found it a little strange that hot cross buns were available but only seemed to be one serving of them - we went to breakfast around 8.30 so not late and if you haven't got enough for a whole service why bother with a little bit of it.

Check out was easy and when asked if I would like to do it again my response was not really, it was nice but there are other closer places I have been to that I have enjoyed more.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cheekyfairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Whittlebury Hall, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear cheekyfairy,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your constructive, informative review. We were pleased to hear you had a pleasant stay with us and thank you for outlining your journey, your feedback will be shared with the relevant managers for their consideration around making any necessaryb adjustments.

We do hope you decide to return to us in the future.

Kind regards,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Aware I had booked the Easter weekend dates but to say the spa was busy was an understatement, the hydro pool was a real squeeze at times & no free loungers at any point during the day due to that annoying habit of “reserving” with towels some people unfairly adopt. Our included 25min massage was pleasant however I would have preferred to have relaxed in peaceful silence not listening to the constant chatter of my therapist, I really didn’t want to discussing my stressful job on my day off!!
The buffet lunch was split over 3 sittings to accommodate the number of patrons that day but the staff was most unwelcoming and abrupt in their manner and tone, I’m sure greeting and seating that many people is repetitive and dull.....but please at least try to remember your guests are hard working people looking for a bit of relaxation and pampering for the day & have saved up to come to Whittlebury Hall.....a bit more than a monotone grunt with no smile or eye contact would have been appreciated. We saw this same lack of customer interaction at breakfast the next morning, again I appreciate coping with that many people can be challenging but if you’re not enjoying your job, which given the facial expressions and communication used I doubt the staff were, either change jobs or pretend for a few hours to at least try to make the guests feel welcome and not an inconvenience.

We had upgraded to a club room and this was pleasant enough, large with a comfortable bed however we found debris from the previous guest so housekeeping could be better and the bathroom was looking a little tired and dated.

The absolute highlight of the stay was choosing to upgrade our evening dinner from the included Aston’s restaurant to Murray’s.
Despite our difficulty locating Murrays due to poor signage we eventually found it tucked away in the back of the hotel, we had to ask a member of staff who was just standing idly by the bar where it was.....being shown in person would have been a nice touch instead of a random hand gestures which still left us puzzled.

Once there however we were greeted warmly and had an amazing evening. The staff were polite, helpful, smiling and attentive.....much more how we would expect hotel staff to be, the sommelier was really helpful choosing a perfect wine for our meal and reasonable price so no being pushed to the overpriced wine which was lovely. Andreaa, our waitress, was a delight, explaining each dish with a smiling, friendly & professional manner. The food was beyond our expectations, absolutely delicious, we left happy and smiling.
This weekend was to celebrate my husbands birthday and choosing the dinner upgrade was the best decision I could have made, making what could have been a mediocre weekend really special. The 4/5 rating was purely for Andreaa and the fantastic staff and chef in Murray’s.

Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
2  Thank PEAtts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Whittlebury Hall, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear PollyAtts,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review and a very Happy belated Birthday to your husband from us! We were so pleased to hear you had an amazing evening in our AA Rosette Fine Dining Restaurant Murray's and thank you for your lovely comments about Andreaa, I will personally pass your thanks to her.

We were surprised to hear your feedback regarding our staff and offer our apologies, this is not typical of the service and standards we provide and pride ourselves in here and this has been shared with our management team.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to us in the future.

Kind regards,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just returned from a night here to celebrate my mum and dad's 80th birthdays. We chose a overnight stay with the Take That Experience Tribute night and evening meal and breakfast. Everything was perfect. The rooms were big and very clean with an enormous bathroom. The food was lovely and the entertainment fabulous. Other than cold coffee the breakfast was delicious too. Unfortunately the weather wasn't great as it would have been good to explore the beautiful grounds. All thoroughly recommended.

Stayed: April 2018, traveled with family
Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Whittlebury Hall, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Dear Julie G,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review. We were so pleased to hear you had a lovely time celebrating your parents' special birthday - a very Happy belated Birthday to them from us!

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to us in the future.

Kind regards,
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews