We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Came here 8 years ago and loved it. It's still great!!”
Review of The Queens Head

The Queens Head
Ranked #2 of 5 Restaurants in Troutbeck
Price range: US$8 - US$34
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Reopening in April 2017 after a £2 million refurbishment, The Queens Head Hotel is Located 4 miles from Ambleside and Windermere and nestled on the side of the fells which overlook the Troutbeck Valley. The new Queens Head will feature a large drinking area with cosy dining areas and 10 newly-refurbished en-suite guest bedrooms providing the perfect base for guests to Cumbria and, of course, their four legged companions. Renowned for serving some of the finest food in the area, The Queens Head’s new menu will highlight a mixture of homely classic pub food with a Cumbrian flair. So, whether stopping by for a pint of one of Robinsons award-winning cask ales, enjoying some wholesome home-cooked food or staying the night, you are always guaranteed to receive a warm Lakeland welcome when visiting the Queens Head.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I love his pub. Genuinely dog friendly rather than dog tolerant, amazing building and lovely staff. The food is top notch, especially the triple cooked chunky chips. Absolutely fantastic.

Thank Victoriana888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha R, General Manager at The Queens Head, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Good morning

Thank you for your great review, it is always good to recieve feedback from guests that know the hotel before the devastating fire.

We are very pleased you enjoyed the new Queens Head and the services provided , we hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind regards

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (591)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 592 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We enjoyed a delicious lunch here with our young son. Food was delicious, served quickly and well priced.

The staff were all really friendly and hospitable, a great fun.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nicola P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha R, General Manager at The Queens Head, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Good afternoon

Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

We are very pleased you enjoyed your visit and look forward to your return.

Your comments will be passed on to the team.

Kind regards

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This was our first visit since the fire. We loved it before but not now. Ordered two burgers to be cooked medium rare which we were told was not possible (!)We agreed on medium which they definitely weren’t. Didn’t complain but should have. Also ordered lamb kleftiko which was two small slices of poor quality, very fatty lamb with a tin of tomatoes laden with cloves poured over. We complained about the lamb which we weren’t charged for. Then ordered sticky toffee pudding which was a syrup sponge from the supermarket. We told them that this was not a sticky toffee pudding!! All in all very disappointing and we will not return

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha R, General Manager at The Queens Head, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking time to post feedback for our team. We are sorry that we did not live up to your expectations.

Our menu changes throughout the year and items are designed and changed through our executive chefs, your comments will be passed on to them. The sticky toffee pudding is not shop bought, but made for us by Gills Puddings.

We are different from the Queens Head of old, which I am sure you would have read about before visiting.

I hope we will see you again in the future.

If you wish to discuss your visit further please contact me direct via manager@queensheadtroutbeck.pub

Regards

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were warmly welcomed for our overnight stay at this delightful pub with rooms. Everywhere is spotless and the interior decor is gorgeous. We stayed in Pillar, a very spacious bedroom with a huge super comfy bed and a fantastic bathroom with both bath and shower. We ate in the restaurant, but on a future visit would probably eat out for a more exciting menu. Our breakfast was delicious and cooked to order, with options other than the standard bacon and eggs. This was a very enjoyable stay and would certainly visit again.

Thank JVC1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha R, General Manager at The Queens Head, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for the 5 star review. So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Pillar is an amazing room!

Hope to see you again soon.

Regards

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Highly recommend the queens head. I've been several times since it reopened and always had great food and excellent service. The waitress is just lovely, she couldn't look after us more (can't remember her name but she has two teenage sons and she has blonde hair), she's made our visit on 3 occasions now.

On this occasion there were three adults, 2 had fish pie and one had hotpot. All three of us raved about our food while trying to keep my baby under control.

Apparently the beet is good too and believe me my dad knows a good pint.

We will definitely keep returning. Thank you.

Thank Lakes81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samantha R, General Manager at The Queens Head, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for posting such a lovely review for us. I think the team member you are talking about is Jan. I will make sure she sees this review.

Hope to see you again soon.

Regards

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Queens Head also viewed

Troutbeck, Lake District
Ambleside, Lake District
 
Troutbeck, Lake District
 

Been to The Queens Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing