We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly local pub”
Review of The Hound Inn

The Hound Inn
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Frizington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$22
Description: The Hound Inn, is a traditional village pub, dating back to approximately 1854. We are open from 4pm Monday to Thursday, 2pm Friday and Saturday, and 12 noon on Sundays. We serve a range of Lagers, Ciders, Stouts and Cask Ales, along with Wines, Spirits and Soft drinks. There is a dining room which seats 24, which is available for private hire if required. A good selection of home cooked food is available Monday-Saturday, 5pm-8:30pm, and on Sundays you can get your traditional roast dinner, from 12 noon, until 4pm. On the outside of the property, we have an extensive beer garden, with fantastic views of the fells, and surrounding countryside, and a large car park. Dogs are more than welcome to join their owners, when visiting us, but just pop your head in first, just in case there are other dogs on the premises.
Restaurant details
Description: The Hound Inn, is a traditional village pub, dating back to approximately 1854. We are open from 4pm Monday to Thursday, 2pm Friday and Saturday, and 12 noon on Sundays. We serve a range of Lagers, Ciders, Stouts and Cask Ales, along with Wines, Spirits and Soft drinks. There is a dining room which seats 24, which is available for private hire if required. A good selection of home cooked food is available Monday-Saturday, 5pm-8:30pm, and on Sundays you can get your traditional roast dinner, from 12 noon, until 4pm. On the outside of the property, we have an extensive beer garden, with fantastic views of the fells, and surrounding countryside, and a large car park. Dogs are more than welcome to join their owners, when visiting us, but just pop your head in first, just in case there are other dogs on the premises.
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

We visited over the Easter weekend with our Jack Russell(Jack)and really enjoyed the friendly atmosphere and great pub food on offer. Michelle the owner was fantastic and very welcoming. Would definitely recommend if you’re in the area

Thanks again Michelle and sorry we missed the egg smashing-we were both knackered especially after the Sunday Dinner

Thanks
Mat Kate & Jack

Thank Matowen1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleArlecdon, Owner at The Hound Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Hi, thanks for taking the time to leave a review.
You got to the final eight on the egg dump, I think some 5yr old beat you, so not so bad.
Glad you enjoyed your time with us, and special hugs to Jack, as I couldn’t get near him.
Hope to see you again soon.
Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (35)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2018 via mobile

We have a lovely home cooked meal on Saturday night very big portions and very filling cont complain at all about the service we received. Staff was very friendly and very very friendly dogs that loved having a belly rub. Until next time x

Ps love the ladies toilet seat lol x

Thank Rachael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleArlecdon, Owner at The Hound Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2018

Thank you for your review, I’m surprised you managed the fudge cake after that pie
Safe journey home x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 January 2018 via mobile

Stopped in the area for the weekend and visited here for food on Friday and Saturday night. Both meals were excellent. My husband commented on how he can't imagine them selling many desserts as the portìons are so big. Very good value.
Would definetly return if we were in the area again.

1  Thank Chroph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleArlecdon, Owner at The Hound Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2018

Thank you for taking time to review us. Your husband is right too, we don’t sell many desserts. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 January 2018 via mobile

Just spent 5 days visiting the area,called at the Hound Inn and was greeted at the door by 4 lovely dogs!,if you go try the pies the best I’ve had anywhere and I love my pies!!,also a lovely warm greeting from the landlady Michelle,will definitely call again next time we are in the area

Thank André L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleArlecdon, Owner at The Hound Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Hello Andre L, so glad you enjoyed your time in the Lake District. Sorry if Maisie was a bit needy, she always wants to be petted. Hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 January 2018 via mobile

My partner and i have just left after a short break to whitehaven and surrounding areas with our two dogs, we called at the hound inn after being told they were dog friendly and did excellent food, we were not dissapointed. We were greeted at the door by four wonderful dogs who were very keen to engage with ours, food was real home cooked classics and the pies are to die for, michelle the owner is very welcoming and we are already planning our next trip back.

1  Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichelleArlecdon, Owner at The Hound Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Hello Amy, so glad you enjoyed your stay. I’ll have to look at a gluten free pie option for your next visit. Thanks again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hound Inn also viewed

 
Frizington, Cumbria

Been to The Hound Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing