We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Sandhurst
Nearby Hotels
US$93
US$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
US$92
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$63
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
US$64
US$62
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$126
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$93
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oaklands Hotel(Weaverham)
US$87
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$214
US$207
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
Reviews (245)
Filter reviews
245 results
Traveler rating
148
36
21
21
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
148
36
21
21
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe owneredwardian stylefawlty towersfour posterfollowing morningfull english breakfastwedding venueset us up for the daythank you very muchlarge roomsaturday nightcooked breakfastbreakfast was excellentlyndhurstthemecharacterperiod
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 245 reviews
Reviewed February 5, 2018

We arrived at our B.B at the same time as the owner. We were taken to our room which was cold but the heating was due to come on in 2 hours.We were informed we were the only guests in the hotel. We went for a walk and returned to our room. The room was clean.The atmosphere in the building was very eerie and felt uncomfortable. We went down stairs to find all rooms locked, including the lounge, except the dinning room which had a chair blocking the door. The sideboard and old fashioned telephone very dusty. We decided to call the owner on her mobile phone. It was engaged but she rang back. We informed her we did not want to stay in an empty house which we found uncomfortable. After a while I felt upset and could not leave quick enough. We were told then that her son would be in at 5.30 pm. The owner said we had to pay £60 cancellation fee for the evening and notify Booking .com of our need to cancel the following nights accommodation We tried to but the Wi Fi did not work. We have paid our cancellation fee and left. We went to another Hotel in the area costing £10 more and it was perfect. We spoke to several locals who told us they thought the B.B had closed down. We are regular visitors to B&Bs but this is the only one we have ever left.

Stayed: January 2018
2  Thank Winterland2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thesandhursthotel, Owner at The Sandhurst, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2018

Thank you for your comments, however as the owner I have to point out some fundamental inaccuracies. I was already in the house when you arrived an hour earlier than stated on your booking form.We are a small family run B and B and don't have a manned reception,
however there is always someone on site should you need assistance, as was pointed out on checking in.The house is over 115 years old and is filled with antiques-not to everyone's tastes and for these people we would suggest a Travel lodge or Premier Inn.
The only door locked downstairs, and there are only 2 doors to choose from, is the bar door for obvious reasons.The door to the dining room is not blocked by a chair as that would be rather difficult to do from the inside of the room!!
The WIFI very much works-perhaps its the operator having difficulties logging on.
I have no problem with people changing their mind if they personally don't feel comfortable ,however as with all other venues the cancellation costs remain the same as per policy.
We are very much open and trading, however it is February and the party season is over and the holiday season hasn't started!.I can't imagine many small family run B and B's in Middlewich and surrounding area being overly busy at the moment.as this is not a holiday destination.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2018

Absolutely brilliant B and B.
Bedroom four was typically Edwardian. Marvellous cozy bed. Everything provided. Tea and coffee making facilities toiletries. Breakfast was hot and delicious.
Our hosts were very friendly . Will certainly recommend .
Thankyou very much we really enjoyed our 3 night stay.

Room Tip: We were in room 4 first floor . Overlooked garden. Very quiet. Very comfortable bed. Slept like two babies.
Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank cypruskitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2017 via mobile

Check in was seamless and the room (number 5) was totally acceptable and clean. The breakfast was excellent. Where this B&B set itself apart, for me, was the concern shown by the owner following me injuring myself while on a friends reunion. The owner was really thoughtful and very helpful. Many thanks for the hospitality. I would definitely return.

Stayed: November 2017, traveled solo
Thank P B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thesandhursthotel, Owner at The Sandhurst, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2017

Thank you so much for your lovely review.I hope you are recovering from your injuries and on the mend and we would love to see you back with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2017

I'd call this a B&B rather than a hotel because check-in needs to be agreed with an off-site proprietor and the only meal is breakfast. This is not a problem as there are various eating options in town, a 5-10min walk.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thesandhursthotel, Owner at The Sandhurst, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2017

Thank you for your lovely comments and yes we are classified as a B&B not a hotel.The town is just 400 meters from us so no need to drive!!We wish you well and hope to see you again.
Rowena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2017

My boyfriend and I stayed in Room 6 and we honestly don't have a single complaint! The room was amazing, the bed was incredibly comfy! The bathroom came with shampoo, shower gel and soap so we didn't have to worry about bringing them, and the TV in the room was perfect for a chilled night in with a cup of tea! Thank you to the wonderful team at The Sandhurst, we'll definitely be back soon!

Room Tip: Rooms are lovely and quiet
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chloe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews