We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (158)
Filter reviews
158 results
Traveler rating
30
81
24
12
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
30
81
24
12
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe busgreat locationrooftop terracesmall hotelnice staymain squareblockwifimapcollectivo
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 158 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2017

The location is perfect. The staff is not too communicative. The breakfast was nice -they prepare you some eggs in the moment-, but it was lacking some milk or juice. The room was ok. However, the A/C is noisy and the mattress was not excessively comfortable. But for the price that you pay, I guess is good

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Su T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 March 2017

I picked this hotel on TripAdvisor because of the price and the reviews. When we got to the bus station, I was happy to see on my map that it was only two half-blocks away.

Someone had a lot of fun designing this place. There's bright and fun color everywhere. I really liked the room numbering. It isn't the usual "1", "2", "3", etc. It's "." (one dot), ".." (two dots), and so on. After four or five dots, a dash "--" is added. One of my two photos shows the toilet paper (which is covered with green hearts!), and our four-dot room key, on the bathmat (unusual in low-priced hotels, but very nice for preventing wet-floor slips!).

My other photo shows a bit of the room's unique lighting: headboards with built-in bright white LED lamps. (There are other fun LED fixtures on the walls.) The headboard lights are great for reading (vs. overhead lights, which are hard on the eyes.) But they're so bright that they're harsh and almost blinding. (Research has shown that blue or white light tend to wake you up. I wish that they'd made these lights red or orange instead.)

The breakfast was tasty. You can have all of the sweet bread, coffee and tea that you want. (If you'd like tortillas with your breakfast, though, you need to ask.)

The hotel is small enough that the front-desk staff got to know us right away. When we had to leave early because of a bus scheduling problem, the very helpful man bent over backwards to give us a credit-card refund for our last day. Wonderful!

By the way, paying with a credit card costs extra. If you want to save money, bring cash.

We'd go back tomorrow if we could!

Room Tip: Our quiet room (four-dot) was near the back, away from the stairs.
  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank An0nyMs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 February 2017

Ignore all previous reviews about poor breakfast, to the pastries, coffee and banana they have added four freshly cooked hot options , with fruit, which turned this into a great breakfast. On our first morning we'd booked tickets to Chichen Itza at 07.30, despite breakfast only starting at 07.00 we had two different breakfasts in plenty of time to walk to the bus station which is very nearby.
The overall location was great, as was the decor, the almost too hot water and the wifi. There was even a small book exchange.

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

Was wary of the stay but was pleasantly surprised. It's super clean, safe , well staffed and friendly at that . In a decent location and the strange decor in the hallway has its charm ! It's a decent price too. Only downside is the breakfast , they shouldn't even bother to be honest . Can't even remember now what it was, a banana and a stale biscuit I think. Needless to say , don't even bother going up the stairs to get it , just head out and get something tasty elsewhere.

Overall I recommend the place!

Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank TheTruthfulTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IsraelAE, Propietario at Hotel Maria Guadalupe, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2017

Thank you for your stay with us and for your kind comment. We are about to start serving hot breakfasts that will include tasty choices.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights as we felt so comfortable here and did day trips to Coba and Chichen Itza. Staff are helpful and rooms very clean, water and a basic breakfast are served upstairs on the terrace and there is a fridge and kitchen area. It always felt very safe

Stayed: October 2016, traveled with family
Thank edandsuet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews