We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveler rating
32
10
4
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
32
10
4
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoff the beaten pathboutique hotelpalapa suitecoba ruinsinterior designoctopus tostadasbug sprayoverall impressionone of a kinddirt roadminute walkpastaguacamolemangolagoonmassageproducts
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 52 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2018 via mobile

We love this hotel!!! We styied few nights in Coba and few nights in Tulum. If you are looking into a magical and relaxing place on much slower pace rather than our American fast and stressful everyday routine this place is for you. Unplugged and relax, no schedule, no alarm clocks, no fake news, no fast re heated food....you wake up on your own time, take a bath no shower, breakfast is home made including baked daily bread. Everything takes time no rush. Go over the menu with the chef if you wish for you lunch and dinner dining. Massage, louging by the pool, relax by the lagoon, or in the hammock, stroll along the lake, go see the ruins, climb the pyramids, swim in the cenotes or just be lazy with a good book while sipping on organic drinks.

special thank you to Caroline, Roberto the manager, Ricky, Sergio the chef and Zoila who we fell in love with.

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank Beatacollazo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 February 2018 via mobile

Overall impression:
This place is like nothing I’ve ever experienced before. Unique in so many ways, words are not enough. We will definitely be back and we will most certainly visit all of their locations!

Intro:
This is first time staying at the Coqui Coqui Coba, and we spent our nights in King Palapa Suite (room 2). Coqui Coqui has more hotel around Mexico, however this is the only one in the “jungle”.

Getting to the hotel:
We pre-booked a private transfer from Tulum for about 150 USD. And the ride is approximately 1-1.5 hrs long. The road is nice with little traffic. On the way you will also pass many small shops and cenotes so it’s a good idea to plan for some stops along the way.
Once you arrive in Coba you will see Coqui Coqui Coba across the lake (or lagoon as they call it here), you will turn left and pass the ruins of Coba and just a few minutes later you have arrived.

The Location:
The pictures on internet does not even come close to the reality. It’s absolutely stunning! Coba is super quites and small, and the lagoon is very tranquil. You can easily walk to the ruins of Coba or to any of the small supermarkets.

The Hotel:
The hotel is gorgeous, nothing like I’ve previously experienced before. It’s one of a kind and absolutely stunning. The hotel only has 5 rooms, so a privet and relaxed experience is absolutely guaranteed. My favorite place on the hotel is definitely the amazing pools (they are shared amongst the guests) and the small lounge by the lagoon.

The Room:
We booked the King Palapa Suite, which is breathtaking! We highly recommend it.

Unique details:
There are so many I don’t know where to begin!

. They have the most gorgeous small Chapel that is beautiful.

. They have 2 small shops for perfume, porcelain, chocolate, tisana and honey.

. You will receive an amazing scent gift containing they own scented candle, and a travel kit with tooth paste, shampoo, conditioner, mosqiuto repellant etc

. THE FOOD! Is to die for! A beautifully composed menu taking on traditional street food and making them gourmet! Also don’t forget to try the Mango Gin & Tonic and the Mezcal Marguerita!

Customer Service:
The staff really elevates your experience here. They are personal, professional and inviting. We particularly enjoyed when the chef presents the food, the idea behind it and all the details and history surrounding it! They really take pride in their Mexican heritage! The check-in is super pleasant and the waitresses were awesome!

Stayed: February 2018
2  Thank DustyPink-Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 February 2018

Coqui Coqui in Coba is for sure spectacular, the hotel itself is beautiful spot lost in the middle of the ruins.

When we arrived we've met few workers taking their lunch break, but no one were at the reception. After 10 min a guy showed up. He just gave us the key and called his colleague to help us with the luggage.
We found out at the end of our stay that the hotel had a SPA, I guess it would have been good if the receptionist took the time to inform us about all the facilities.

We get a very beautiful room on the top of the " ruins". Room is clean, we received a box with goodies ( including mosquito spray, really necessary !!!) thank you for that!

What was really annoying is the bed, the mattress seats on a wood structure ( I don't know how to describe it .. but for sure it is not a bed base). The result is that it creaks all the time, its feels unstable, honestly we had a very very bad night sleep.
I guess for a room at 500$ per night the least you want is a good bed.

Overall impression, the food at the restaurant is good, the service is not good enough for that kind of hotel. The waiter was nice but we had to look after him several times!

Also, it is a small thing but even dough, one morning I asked for brown sugar, the waiter brought it to me without any problem. Second morning I asked the same, the young lady reply " no we don't have this here" , she was a bit curt, so I replied that yesterday the other guy found it for me and that would be great to have some if possible. She just walked away and came back 10 minutes later, put it on the table and left. Smile was not included with the bowl of sugar...

This kind of inconvenience shouldn't happened, considering the price this hotel is in the "high rank ".
Honestly we traveled during 4 weeks in various places and we paid much less for much better!

When we left again we waited for 15 min before the same guy...

Again the place is beautiful but for me it didn't worse the money!

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Travelivor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 January 2018 via mobile

It is hard to give only 3 stars because the setting of the restaurant is a dream. It is absolutely beautiful and peaceful overlooking the lagoon, and the interior design is well thought out and rustic while being very comfortable. Sadly the service did not match the setting. The waitresses were very curt and even rude. We felt that in a place as lovely and high end as coqui coqui that the service should feel welcoming and accommodating but the reality was far from it. To the point we felt uncomfortable. The food was good but not outstanding. With some improvements to the service and menu this place will be incredible.

Stayed: January 2018, traveled with friends
1  Thank Reyna2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 January 2018

We went to Coqui Coqui for brunch after we explored the ruins at Coba. It is a short distance, we were able to walk from the ruins. The service and food were both excellent. The watermelon juice was especially refreshing, and the atmosphere was relaxed and exactly what we needed after an eventful morning.

Stayed: December 2017
1  Thank Emily K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews