We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$320
View deal
Free cancellation until 30/04/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
WIOL.com
Priceline
US$337
US$271
View deal
SAVE US$66
Free cancellation until 29/04/21
Booking.comUS$337
Hotels.comUS$320
eDreamsUS$337
View all 21 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,984)
Filter reviews
5,984 results
Traveler rating
4,752
796
258
90
88
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
4,752
796
258
90
88
Show reviews that mention
All reviews royal pool la boheme private pool lobster royal section helios restaurant cabaret show grand palladium bali beds butler service other resorts zentropia spa travel club cart drivers cart service the salt water pool palladium group
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
96 - 101 of 5,984 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2021

When we visited TRS Coral last year, everyone who had been to both Mexican TRS hotels raved about Yucatán.& made it clear that it would put Coral to shame. Well, I’d take Coral any day over the mess called TRS Yucatán

Check in went smoothly but took way longer than it should have. After getting up at 4am and arriving at 4pm we were ready for a quick check in & an escort to our room. It didn’t happen. First we were handed off to a Vacation Specialist who tried to introduce us to the resort and vacation club sales. Give me a break. We just got here. Finally we were put on a cart with our luggage in tow and taken to Suite 6407, a 1 bedroom suite with private pool that over looked the tram road and the side of building 65. I don’t think so. After calling the front dest we were directed across the hall to 6406. View of the gardens and private. It’s Ok.
Now the shortfalls of the suite. Since we were the only guests in the building at the time, it took (no exaggeration) 25 MINUTES of running the shower to get hot water. It never got any better for our 10 day stay. We just would wake up, turn on the shower, have a few cups of coffee, then take a WARM shower. It never ever got hot.
Next problem was the sliding door leading to our private pool. We found out very quickly that the slider, when closed automatically locked whether you wanted it to or not. Great for security but if you close the door so that the marginal air conditioning stayed on, you were locked out of your room. Pretty dumb in my opinion.
Upon examination, we found our private pool littered with leaves and debris. Next to our pool was an abandoned extension ladder which apparently had been there for quite a while as small trees were growing through the rungs. The pool was not heated but stay comfortable from the sunlight. We had to have the bathroom treated on 3 occasion for ants. As previously noted, the A/C barely keep the temperature comfortable & never did remove the moisture from the suite. Our clothing, which is hung on open poles in the room, was taken home damp & with a musty smell.
The supplied toiletries were of good quality & replaced daily. Our housekeeper was great & replaced the sheets when we left the required note on the bed. The room was cleaned early in the day & turn down was done early in the evening. The wristband room key was great. No way to forget your key. The lighting in the suite is fair as there are many bright & dark spots but uneven in general. The suite refrigerator failed to keep drinks cold UNLESS the doors to the cabinet were left open. The sitting room cabinetry was put together with unmatched doors. Very strange. The mattress base is approximately 12” wider than the mattress. This difference creates two hidden wooden corners which easily find your shins often. The floating shelf under the bedroom television is pulling away from the wall & is drooping at a 20 degree angle. Items slide off the shelf & fall on the floor. You can’t make this stuff up.
Infinity pool is a beautiful design. It is not heated nor cleaned often. A flock of seagulls station themselves almost all day on the mid pool ledge. They bath, shed feathers and poop in the pool all day. No one nets out the debris on a daily basis.
If you haven’t visited Mexico before, the sun can be hot. That being said, there are approximately 100 lounges at the infinity pool and ONLY 2 umbrellas when we arrived. Only 2! We were fortunate to use 1 of them for 6 days. On the seventh day the 2 umbrellas were removed and never replaced. Wait service around the pool was hit or miss. One day the service was great & the next day it was absent. Whenever there was bike riding or stretching in the pool, the music speaker was placed at poolside & the music blasted for 1 hour at a time, for 6 participants. It forced us to move to a temporary location daily. As an example of craziness, one day the pool bar ran out of plastic cups at 2 pm. Instead of having some delivered from storage, the bartender used paper insulted coffee cups for wine, champagne, & cocktails. They used the espresso cups for tequila shots. This is NUTZ. when a certain brand of liquor was used up, the bottle was not replaced for days. The bartenders were friendly and hard working but need some help from management.
Except for breakfast & lunch at Helios, dinners were a nightmare. There were too many crappy issues to relate them all. In general the steak is tough & almost inedible. The lobster, complimentary in Helios only, is served mushy & cold. The chef in the kitchens decides what you will eat regardless of the menu descriptions. We were served different entrees on several occasions not by error but by chef direction. How dare a chef decide what I want to eat. The low quality of food is blamed on COVID. In my opinion, if you can’t supply your best to your paying guests, remain CLOSED.
The tram drivers were excellent and shuttled us all over the property safely.
Being in the property management business I was shocked with the absence of management out on the property overseeing their employees & interacting with their guests. You CANNOT run a resort from an office. I will not be returning to this resort ever. Be forewarned!

Room tip: Check out your room & don’t settle.
Date of stay: February 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank almtyr0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenia Rodriguez, Atención al huésped/Recepción at TRS Yucatan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2021

Dear almtyr0b,

We would like to thank you for choosing TRS Yucatan Hotel as your vacation destination and for the time you have invested in sharing your detailed opinion.

It is a pity to read that your expectations were not met, especially regarding the food quality and accommodations. We would like to take the opportunity to mention that the facts that you have kindly shared, in no way reflect our renowned TRS hospitality and that is why we want to offer you a sincere apology for the inconveniences you experienced.

Rest assured that we will do our utmost to ensure that situations as the ones you highlight in your review will not be repeated with any other guest.

Again, we apologize for the situation that you have experienced, and we thank you for the time invested to post your opinion.

Kind regards,

Kenia Rodriguez
Hospitality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 March 2021

I'm not sure if it's related to a shift of service model but the food was not the caliber that is expected by a resort of this rating. Also, alcohol options seem to have been downgraded from when previously opened. Will not return - but loved our room and private beach area.

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank kara b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenia Rodriguez, Atención al huésped/Recepción at TRS Yucatan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2021

Dear kara b,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of TRS Yucatan Hotel.

While I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the beach and your suite, it is deeply disappointing to hear of the challenges you faced throughout your stay.

We strive to deliver an extraordinary experience for all our guests and sincerely apologize that we did not meet or exceed your expectations.

It is a pity to read that you will not return, but we do sincerely hope that you will give us another chance to offer you a more charming experience.

Kind regards,

Kenia Rodriguez
Hospitality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 March 2021

This was our second time at this property. We were there January 2021. COVID protection was excellent. Customer service was excellent. The low capacity resulted in the closing of restaurants, leaving a rotation of only 3 open nightly. With our previous visit 7 years ago, it was amazing to have all the dining options and entertainment open. However, we still really enjoyed our stay. Ramiro at the Helios restaurant went out of his way to make our meals enjoyable. Transportation via golf cart was provided to all locations, the property is enormous! Romeo in particular, was so much fun as a driver. He is always happy and engaging with the guests. We stayed in a private pool suite, which was excellent. We cant wait to return once the COVID restrictions have been lifted.

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 672jamiec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenia Rodriguez, Atención al huésped/Recepción at TRS Yucatan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2021

Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your second stay at TRS Yucatan Hotel.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback, and we are delighted to read that you had a lovely stay with us. Your recognition is the best reward for our hotel, and we are most grateful for your recommendation.

I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous ones.

Kind regards,

Kenia Rodriguez
Hospitality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 March 2021

We were traveling during covid and the resort was maybe at 10% capacity. This was great for us! Due to covid, each evening there were one to two restaurants open, but it was easy to get a reservation. The food and service were excellent in most cases.

We stayed in a SUITE JACUZZI TERRACE POOLSIDE. We would normally never choose to stay in a room or suite that overlooks the pool due to the noise factor. Our suite was perfect as it sat at the back of the building and had a lovely view of the river and the jungle. It was quiet and private, but still right by a pool so we could take a quick swim without walking the whole resort.

Before I forget, the on-site covid testing was set up upon check in and th

The suite was spacious and was also very clean. One thing to note is that the hot tub/Jacuzzi on the terrace is not really a hot tub (and the jets did not work). It's just a big bathtub. We took that particular suite because we like to sit in the hot tub to help work out the kinks after a day of diving/hauling dive gear around. If we go back to the same resort, we'll take a bungalow instead. It won't be long before more people start to travel and we'd prefer a bit more quiet.

Check-in and out were easy. Covid testing (for our return to the US) was set up when we checked in. It was very fast and easy process. We received our results in a couple of hours. I will note that you should print and bring along your reservation info. Our name was left off of the security list and gate security did not want to let us into the resort. I did have my printed confirmation which helped push security to call the check-in area. Before I pulled that out, security was trying to get us to leave.

The resort was very accommodating as far as letting our daily ride pick us up at the main check in area. I know some resorts don't always let outside groups in, but all we had to do was let the front desk know that we were expecting our dive guide every day. Also, we appreciated that we weren't bothered about buying a time share or attending the "club tour". We were asked upon check-in, but never again. We declined, no issues.

I'd be curious to see how the resort usually is with more people. Having spoken with a some couples who stay there yearly, I get the impression that it's generally pretty crowded in some of the public areas, but when we were there it was quiet and lovely just to walk around the grounds and to the beach areas.

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank diverlady13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenia Rodriguez, Atención al huésped/Recepción at TRS Yucatan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2021

Dear diverlady13,

We would like to thank you for choosing TRS Yucatan Hotel as your vacation destination and for sharing your detailed feedback.

We are glad to know that regardless some aspects you did enjoy the attention provided by most of the staff members and our gastronomy. On the other side, please accept our sincere apologies for the incidents occurred in your room, we can assure you that they are not common as we are committed to our guests’ satisfaction, and we always do our best to keep improving our services.

Likewise, we will review all your observations and do our utmost to make sure that situations as the ones you highlight in your review will not be repeated with any other guest.

We are already looking forward to welcoming you once again, in order to have the opportunity to surpass all your expectations. We are always at your service in this your home.

Kind regards,

Kenia Rodriguez
Hospitality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 February 2021

It was our first trip since COVID entered the world and it was awesome. The staff was helpful and friendly everywhere we went. The food is great. The pool is awesome. The beach was one of the nicest beaches we've ever been on.

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank ryanmP6648WW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenia Rodriguez, Atención al huésped/Recepción at TRS Yucatan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2021

Dear Ryanm,

We're happy to hear that you enjoyed your getaway with us at TRS Yucatan Hotel.

It was an absolute pleasure hosting you!

Thank you for taking the time to write an excellent review!

Kind regards,

Kenia Rodriguez
Hospitality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews