We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,726)
Filter reviews
4,726 results
Traveler rating
3,825
643
190
41
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,825
643
190
41
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews preferred club seaside grill market cafe el patio sea turtles pool concierge coco cafe preferred room tropical view unlimited vacation club escargot room service mexican chocolate secrets property secret box entertainment staff pool basketball
Filter
Updating list...
851 - 856 of 4,726 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018

We have been many all inclusive resorts including many Sandals Resorts in the Caribbean and some really beautiful resorts up and down the Riviera Maya Coast.
This ranks among the very best that we have been to. We have never stayed at a Secrets Resort but WOW! Everything was 5 star. My husband was a contestant on the Voice the second night that we were here and that just set the stage.... His Mick Jagger Honky Tonk woman didn't win but we met a tonne of great people and the back up band was amazing. Actually we have never experienced entertainment in any resort that comes anywhere near to what the Secrets has to offer. The Entertainment is so diverse and there is always some show to go to at night - there is a great video by the drunken tourist that is pretty comprehensive and shows everything about the resort if you do a search online.
We have to say a huge thank you to the following people at the resort that made our stay so memorable - Both Najaida our beach server and Yanely at the 1st Pool and Half Time Sports Bar have the best personalities. They both really made our trip so special. Carlos at the first pool conceierge was exceptional and would help us find a beach lounge anywhere on the resort - his french is excellent!!! Eber the night bartender at the Half Time Bar was amazing, and Roberto at the Martini Bar made the best drinks anywhere on the resort!! The highlight for us was the Chef's Table Dinner that we did for my birthday. We did the Tequilla tasting and it was worth every penny. The service, the food, learning about all of the different tequilla's and just the experience just can't be beat - do it!!! Chef Erick was amazing - we kept running into him at the different restaurants and he would make different items not on the menu it was so very special. We could go on and on - please message us if you have any questions. We were at the resort from March 23rd to the 30th.

Room Tip: We did Building 9B 5th floor room 9519 - had a fabulous view of the entire resort, pools and ocean - ask for it!
  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank wheatie33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SecretsAkumal, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Dear wheatie33,

Thank you for your lovely words regarding your recent stay, but most of all for taking the time to share your Unlimited-Luxury® experience!

Thank for your very detailed feedback! We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed the many culinary delights prepared by our professional Chefs who always strive to offer a wide variety of typical delights in order to please all palates and we thank you for letting us know that we could conquer yours.
We also are very grateful for your highlight on the quality of the entertainment program during your stay and for mentioning the genuine friendliness of our team.

We hope to have soon the pleasure of being your hosts again in your next vacation in the Riviera Maya.

Sincerely,
Fabiola Saucedo
Social Media Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 April 2018

We always find new secrets at Secrets Akumal!

We love how Secrets is becoming more environmentally responsible! No straws are served and cigarette smoking is permitted only in smoking areas, and no flippers in the ocean.

Beach
We noticed the population of tourists on the beach is growing. The native Mexicans do not have to pay to use the beach, only the tourists do. The tourists are extremely disrespectful of the Secrets Resort, they try to sneak in the resort all day long. They throw their cigarette butts and garbage around and they walk through the Secrets guests and belongings, people even had their belongings stolen. The security do an amazing job at watching but Secrets need to put up signs along the beach "Secrets Patrons Only".
We noticed that the Government has closed off areas in the ocean for snorkelling to allow the sea grass to grow back. But the Government should be restricting the numbers of snorkellers every day because we observed hundreds of snorkellers on a daily basis. Sadly, this turtle sanctuary is dying!

Pools
The three pools are gorgeous. We noticed that the first two quiet pools are very clean! The party pool/swim up bar that is close to the ocean gets very dirty at the end of the day! You can get served drinks and food all day long at the beach and the pools. There are various lunch grills daily by the Barefoot Grill. The new pizza oven is a favorite, absolutely the best pizza we have had!

Vegetation
Wow, the gardens grew so thick in one year, Gorgeous! This place is absolutely lush, it was so scarce in the previous years!

Rooms
The massive rooms are cleaned perfectly everyday complete with high quality bedding, etc.

Spa
We had the spa all to ourselves one day. Absolutely stunning place and the massage therapists are so talented!

Restaurants
The food is superb in every restaurant, you can not find any bad meal in the entire resort! Thanks to Victor Castellano/pool server, he arranged a special dinner for us at the Portofino. Then the sommelier Alberto arranged another special dinner/tasting menu at the Mexican. We did not know about this secret room, as we watched the very excellent chef Erick Dominquez prepare our meal behind a glass wall! There were a few special events outdoors complete with buffets.

Staff
We were treated like royalty by every staff in the resort. They are so well trained! Special thanks to all these amazing staff: Gorge/Security on the beach, Michelle at the lobby, Liz at the Martini bar, Hector, Miguel, Rueben, Victor, Fransisco, Effron/ servers, Hugo and Ceaser/beach concierge. The Entertainment staff are so hard working they try to make your stay so comfortable and safe. Thankyou to Chocolate Mexican the boss, Renegade and Jonas, our bike tour guides, Marshmellow and Loreena! Playing volleyball with these entertainers is the highlight of our day, they keep you laughing!

Bars
The Martini bar is a new addition just outside the lobby bar. This is an intimate place for couples and smoking is permitted. This bar takes the pressure off the lobby bar. Excellent martinis made by Liz!

Entertainment
The shows are very entertaining with very talented people! We have seen all the evening shows several times so they could change it up every second week for visitors staying for 2 weeks. We love the lobby especially, there are many talented musicians to listen to complete with a cozy outdoor fire!

We hope to be back!

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank BERJOHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SecretsAkumal, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Dear bjandrr,

Firstly we would like to thank you for choosing Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya once again for your special holidays and for sharing this wonderful feedback of your recent stay among us, it is indeed very rewarding to read that we keep on meeting all your holiday needs and wishes year after year.

We were delighted to read that you have enjoyed all the details we take pride in offering our guests and we are truly happy to know that we have managed to exceed your expectations in regards to hospitality and service delivered and we will not fail to pass your comments to those team members whom you have personally mentioned.

Again we thank you for this wonderful review, it has been a pleasure for us to read and we look forward to have you back at Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya, your home in the Mexican Caribbean.

Sincerely,
Fabiola Saucedo
Social Media Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 April 2018

My husband and I were at secrets Akumal from March 6 - 13 to celebrate our first anniversary. From start to finish, just about everything was perfect.

After going through customs and heading outside to get our bus to the resort, we mistakenly thought that a man in a uniform was directing us to the Air Canada counter. He was, in fact, sending us to meet with some sort of time share type person who wanted us to visit a resort that had not yet opened. She was all sunshine and flowers until we said no, and then she shut down and was very rude. No matter to us, though, as she was not part of Air Canada or Secrets, and therefore did not have any impact on our trip. We found our bus and took the long (about 1.5 hours) ride to the resort.

We booked a Preferred Club room, so when we arrived at the resort, we were ushered to the Preferred lounge for a private check in. As an aside for anyone who was wondering, besides the PC buildings being closer to the beach and access to the PC lounge, we didn't really see a huge advantage of going Preferred vs. regular. This resort doesn't have a separate beach area or pools for PC guests, although I have read that other Secrets resorts do.

Our room was lovely - spacious, with a garden view. We really only used our room to change and sleep, so I didn't care much about the view, although I guess sipping coffee on the balcony in the morning and looking at the beach might have been nice. They decorated our door with a "Happy Anniversary" banner and left a bottle of champagne and some fruit in our room.

On our first night, the entertainment we saw was a rock show. It was surprisingly good! Other nightly entertainment events that stood out are The Voice contest, the Beatles show, and karaoke night. I would suggest that karaoke go on for longer than an hour though, as there were several people who arrive late and seemed to want to sing, but weren't able to because they wanted to put the DJ to work. With karaoke night only being one night a week, it should go on all night, with perhaps some dance breaks in between.

All of the restaurants were great, although it was a struggle trying to get into the Seaside Grill. The first time we went, there was an hour long wait, and the second time, they were closed. We were finally able to get in on our third try, and only because we arrived just as they opened. As far as we could tell, there is nothing to let patrons know which restaurants are closed on any given night, and I think that would be helpful. Being a person of simple tastes, my favourite food probably came from the Barefoot Grill by the pool.

The drinks were generous and delicious. Can't ask for more than that!

What really made the trip so wonderful for us was the excellent customer service. I unfortunately waited too long to write this review, so I've forgotten most of the staff's names, but honestly, there wasn't one employee at the resort who didn't greet us with a smile and help us any way they could. On our first full day, we couldn't find a place to sit by any of the pools. As we stood there, looking confused, Eddie, one of the pool concierges, asked if he could help us and when he found out we didn't have a place to sit, he went out of his way to find some loungers for us AND place them where we wanted. When he found out we would be celebrating our anniversary the next day, he decorated 2 loungers with balloons and a banner at the main pool. The housekeeping staff also left special decorations and card in our room wishing us a happy first anniversary. Later on in the week, another pool concierge, I believe his name was Hugo, also spent some time asking us how our trip had been so far and what the resort could do to improve things. He also asked if we were celebrating anything special, and when he found out it was our anniversary trip, he also decorated our lounge chairs. We ordered room service one night, and in addition to bringing us our food, they also made us a little cake for our anniversary. Little touches like that helped to make us feel special.

Besides our wedding trip last year, this was definitely our best trip ever, and I am happy to recommend this resort to anyone. It's worth every penny.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sarcasmoqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SecretsAkumal, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Dear sarcasmoqueen,

For us it is truly a pleasure to be able to read your fantastic comments and we greatly appreciate your choosing us to celebrate your anniversary and the time it has taken to share every detail of your experience.

Thank for your very detailed feedback! We would like to express our gratitude for the comments you made about your recent visit, they help us to understand how our guests experience their stay with us. It is always our goal to achieve maximum customer satisfaction and we are delighted to hear that your holiday at Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya was perfect. We continuously strive to deliver high standards and to ensure that all our guests leave with beautiful vacation memories. Also, we appreciate your kind recommendation.

hank you for your lovely recommendation to the travel community and we look forward to having you back on your next romantic vacation in the Riviera Maya!

Sincerely,
Fabiola Saucedo
Social Media Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 April 2018

My wife and I spent two blissful weeks at this fabulous resort at the beginning of March.
We actually often remarked to each other that we could find no fault with the whole place, from the immaculate grounds, beautiful surroundings,and the overall ambience emanating from the genuinely friendly staff.
Our suite on the second floor of Building 8 was the best we have ever had; spacious, comfortable,and kept extremely clean by housekeeping.
The beach, food,and service, were all first-class, and the shows at the theatre were all really good owing much to the effort put into them by Jonas, Larena, Marcello, and others.
Playing beach volleyball was a joy and was a great way to meet others from all over the States,as well as England, France, and Austria.
We said, as we others said, that once you have been to Secrets Akumal any other holiday seems pretty second rate, it's that good.
Lastly, Brenda was always a welcoming face at breakfast, and our concierge, Billie, both took the time to speak to us, as did all staff members who greeted us with a friendly "Ola"and a smile as they went about their work.

.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the beach will be quieter during the day if that is important for afternoon naps.
  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keithdowning44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SecretsAkumal, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Dear keithdowning44,

On behalf of the staff and Management of our resort, we would like to thank you for taking the time to post this heartwarming review about your experience with us. It was a pleasure to be your hosts during your recent getaway to Secrets Akumal.

We are glad to know you have enjoyed every detail of our experience and that our efforts and commitment in taking care of our guests have met your expectations. Your valuable comments will be shared with the Operations Committee. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed the staff service and the beautiful facilities. Brenda, Billie, Jonas, Lorena, Marcelo and the rest of the team will be glad to hear your comments about their service. Thank you on behalf of them.

We look forward to have you back at Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya, your home in the Mexican Caribbean.

Best Regards,
Fabiola Saucedo
Social Media Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 April 2018

My boyfriend and I came across this resort since our original resort overbooked our stay, what a pleasant surprise it was. The resort is absolutely beautiful, peaceful, the food is amazing , and the beach is gorgeous. The resort is more marketed toward a more mature crowd as they don't play a lot of music at the main pool, they do about an hour a day , but its a perfect relaxing getaway just wish they played a little more music. Another thing my boyfriend and I was really wanting was a place for just desserts and ice cream. You could not just grab a gelato on the go, which I think would be awesome if they added that feature to the coco cafe. All in all great resort.

Room Tip: Swim up suites don't get that much sun in the day toward the back of the resort, next time we would opt for just an ocean view room.
Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank beachlover2222194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SecretsAkumal, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear beachlover2222194,

We thank you for sharing your opinion about your stay at Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya. It is wonderful to hear that we were able to make a pleasant stay.

It is a pleasure to know that throughout your stay enjoyed our beautiful facilities, the food and beach. We value your detailed suggestions as our guest’s feedback is truly important for us. Actually, at seaside restaurant you can be able to grab an ice cream of different flavors.
We hope that on your next vacation you will choose Secrets Akumal to live an unforgettable experience.

Best Regards,
Fabiola Saucedo
Social Media Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews