We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (16,301)
Filter reviews
16,301 results
Traveler rating
7,887
5,073
2,087
688
566
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7,887
5,073
2,087
688
566
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lazy river mayan beach ice cream parlour el rancho health bar hole in the wall fish a la carte restaurants frosted glass the lion king time share beach bar water circuit quiet pool main buffet each block juice bar
Filter
Updating list...
737 - 742 of 16,301 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

We holidayed here as a couple in October 2017 and we had the most wonderful relaxing holiday ever. The staff can honestly not do enough for you, their customer service is second to none. The rooms were beautifully decorated, we had two large double beds and a sofa/lounge area. The only complaint I’d have about the room would be that the TV was from at least 1998 and could do with being upgraded. The huge whirl pool bath was an absolute delight and we used it lots. The shower was also great as with the rest of the bathroom area. Walls are thin, we could hear the kids next door crying during the night sometimes but you can get that anywhere. The resort is HUGE but there are plenty of guys driving golf buggies willing to give you lifts places if you don’t fancy walking. The pool area is great we always got sun beds. The food was amazing!!! Different themed nights but as you can imagine the “Mexican” night was the best! So much fresh meat and fish every night and plenty for fussy eaters too. Honestly can’t fault the food at all. We got to visit 6 of the a’la carte restaurants. The steak house wasn’t anything special- that was disappointing. The Japanese restaurant was amazing, as was the Mediterranean restaurant. The entertainment at night was also to a very high standard! The all inclusive drinks menu was brilliant, plenty of cocktails to choose from. We used the spa one day it was a bit cloudy and had an amazing day. The wildlife is also so cool, the coatis are super cute and cheeky and will pinch food and drinks from next to your sun loungers (but it’s quite funny). The lazy river is also a fab feature. The beach area is man made but it’s also really nice and the water is crystal clear and there are beautiful coloured fish that swim around your feet. Basically I had the best holiday ever and I want to go back tomorrow please! Thank you for a wonderful holiday Grand Sirenis, we hope to visit again one day.

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
15  Thank TheWonderingScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandrivieramaya, Assistant Manager at Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Hello TheWonderingScot,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya.

We are much honored to know that you enjoyed the kindness of staff members, accommodations, pools, food, the night activities, the beverages, the Spa, the wildlife an the beach.

We like the idea of having you back in our Resort.

Kind Regards
Esaú Navarrete
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 April 2018

We stayed here for 3 days and we really enjoyed the beaches and grounds. The buffet food was good - not top notch but good, the staff were helpful. The booked restaurants were quite good but not easy to get access to. The pools are very large and so you can find less busy areas. The river pool was nice with the kids. The charges for an extra guest were a bit high. The quiet hidden beaches were nice. Dolphin pool nearby is worth a visit.

Room Tip: reasonably priced given quality
  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank Big D Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandrivieramaya, Assistant Manager at Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Hello Big D Y,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed our grounds, beach, food, pools and the staff kindness.

We are looking forward to see you again.

Kind Regards
Esaú Navarrete
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 April 2018

This is the first review we have ever made on TripAdvisor and the first complaint we have made direct to a hotel and to a tour operator following a holiday.

The easiest way for us to collate the information has been with an overview statement and then breaking down specific issues we experienced whilst staying at the Grand Sirenis in Mexico.

We would advise anyone booking this hotel to read this review and anyone who has booked it to be prepared for we feel is fair account of our experience from 1 to 11 March 2018.

Overview

Overall, the hotel had more negative points than positives. The hotel had potential as it was very smart in places. However, the vast size of the Grand Sirenis became its biggest issue, as management and staff were unable to deliver the standard of service befitting of a 5 star hotel.

We were also disappointed in TUI's classification in the brochure as a Platinum holiday. A TUI representative in Mexico explained to us that the 5 star rating in the brochure does not mean it is a 5 star hotel, the rating is given via the results collated from customer surveys. Yet, the TUI rep could not tell us when the last surveys were performed. However, regardless of TUI's rating, the hotel gave itself 5 stars.

Our experience at the Grand Sirenis in Mexico would prevent us from visiting any other hotel they own.

We felt let down by TUI in the UK for how this holiday had been sold to us and also on the flight with how the TUI staff handled a serious issue with three disruptive passengers, which we will be taking up separately with them. We are already tied in to another expensive holiday with TUI and until we meet with them to discuss a number of issues we wouldn't consider booking with them again.

It was wonderful to be on holiday as a family and we kept smiling and made the most of it for our children, as they were far too young to notice all the flaws any older child or adult would see.

The Grand Sirenis is in no way a 5 star hotel and TUI should not sell this as Platinum holiday. There are much better hotels in Mexico, which are superb value for money – even if you pay a little more it will be absolutely worth it to stay elsewhere.

Wrist Band Nationality and Premier Club System

One of the things we disliked about the hotel was the wrist band system. Although it is a very large resort we have been to other all-inclusive hotels in Mexico which did not use such an overt system of identification. We quickly realised the wrist bands were less about identifying us as a guest staying at the hotel but instead denoted our nationality or whether we were members of the elite Premier Club. Premier Club members, Americans and Canadians were all given a more subtle dark coloured band, either black, navy blue or grey; whereas the British are given a bright neon pink one. We are unable to say whether the Americans/Canadians were treated any differently to us – however, it was abundantly clear that those wearing black wrist bands were more valued guests at the detriment to the level of service given to anyone else. Those with black wrist bands had their own members lounge, area on the beach and by the pool; in addition to this they had their own VIP golf buggies which we will cover later.


Accommodation

The standard rooms without paying for an upgrade were dated and did not reflect a 5 star hotel – five stars given both by TUI in their brochure and on the hotel signage. On arriving at the hotel, after a 12 hour delay, in the early hours of the morning, we were taken to our room which had a musty damp smell. The bathroom fixtures were also dated and loose with a large hole in the ceiling above the toilet cubicle and a bent metal ceiling across the bathroom. We moved rooms the following day to an equally dated room which was slightly better. The room was advertised as having a mini-bar which was frankly appalling; containing six fizzy soft drinks, two beers and a five litre bottle of water. We have stayed at other 5 star resorts in Mexico with pristine modern rooms which have a fully stocked mini-bar with beers, spirits, wine and mixers.

Eco-Tax and Departure Tax

We were slightly frustrated on arriving at the hotel in the early hours that there was an eco-tax payable on check-in. We don't recall TUI highlighting this, and in addition, TUI is one of the few travel operators that don't include the departure tax ($260/£200) for a family of four in the price of the holiday. So we would advise you to be aware of this when booking with TUI and check with other operators whether they include this in the holiday price.

Food, Drink and Restaurants

On the whole, both food and drink was well below average unless you paid for a decent bottle of wine at a considerable premium. In a 10 day stay we bought three bottles at $40 each – equivalent to a supermarket standard bottle of wine at home (which would cost approx. £7.50-£9.00 per bottle). The all-inclusive wine was barely drinkable and all cocktails were made with cheap syrup based ingredients and were unpleasant. The Mojitos weren’t even made with crushed ice so you would eat a mouth-full of mint leaves with every sip.

The breakfast was our favourite meal of the day with a good selection to cater for everyone's taste. Lunch was average; with meals being offered at the beach barbecue or the poolside restaurants but with little to no variation on a daily basis. Dinner was hit and miss; we were given four a la carte restaurants visits within a 10 day stay. We selected the Mexican, Thai, Brazilian and the Japanese Teppanyaki. The Mexican was very average with better Mexican food in the "Canteen" buffet restaurant; the Thai was disappointing and lacking in any spice; the Brazilian was good; and The Teppanyaki was the best evening meal of our stay. The most disappointing evening meals were those had in the buffet restaurant. While the whole area of the huge buffet dining room was used on a morning for the breakfast which provided plenty of space, in the evening half the room was closed off which forced the hotel diners into a smaller area and you could hardly hear yourself talk over the noise and bustle. The hotel waiting staff worked hard, but it felt like you were in a machine with little emphasis on service and food was scrapped into bins on the main restaurant floor next to where you sat. Furthermore, on one evening, a bottle of wine we had ordered was cancelled after waiting over 20 minutes as we had finished our main courses by the time it arrived.

Grounds and Golf Buggies

The grounds and gardens are extremely well kept and you see a beautiful array of wildlife in the grounds from Coatis, Iguanas, Sereques and birds. However, there was damage to some of the paths caused by the golf buggies. With the road built around the circumference of the hotel, the buggies didn't need to take short cuts on the narrow paths clearly designed for people. Another issue with the golf buggies is that we frequently saw empty black buggies driving around for Premier Club guests and far fewer white buggies for the majority of non-premier guests. We waited 30 minutes at one of the buggy stops on the monkey trail road while empty black buggies drove passed and ignored us. We stopped the 5th one to explain we had waited a long time and longer than the time stated on the timetable; we asked if he could take us and the children back to our room which was just under a mile away and he stated he was unable to as we were not wearing a black wrist band. He drove off leaving us with two four year old children in 80+ degree heat. It, therefore, became apparent that to get any decent level of service you had to pay more than the £4,500 we had already paid for 10 nights. That was extremely disappointing and frustrating.

Pools and Towels

All of the pools were very large and had the benefit of having plenty of space to get sun-beds. There were two "party pools" which were good fun and also a quiet pool for some tranquillity. Due to the size of all the pools and the lazy river, the key maintenance issue was missing mosaic tiles in all of the pools. The service staff were continually repairing the tiles, but there were simply too many for the job to ever be completed; some of which left sharp edges under foot. Towels were operated on a card system, one towel for each card – therefore, fresh towels were easily available at the huts around the pools. Those with black wrist bands received different towels which were both large and newer. It's important to note that you will be fined by reception if you don't return your towel cards at the end of your stay. It's also worth noting as happened to us one day, when we had left our towels to dry in the sun over lunch one of our towels was missing on our return. In our opinion, no other guest would have had reason to take a towel due to these being easy to collect, deliver and change. It's our assumption that the occasional towel went missing so that fines would be incurred. When we tried to resolve this at the towel hut, who could see where our towels were drying from where the hut was located, we were given the usual response by staff to take this up with reception.

Wi-Fi

The biggest frustration on arrival that as TUI guests we were entitled to connect two devices to the hotel WI-FI for the duration of our stay. The instructions and codes we were provided with didn't work and it took us three days to be able to connect to the WI-FI after spending 3-4 hours at reception and making numerous phone calls. A member of staff at reception instructed us to go on to activate the two weeks paid WI-FI and stated this would be taken off the bill at the end of the holiday. We asked him to make a note on the system to this effect, which he confirmed that he did. Again, it was interesting to experience the free service was sub-standard and didn't work and yet when a premium was paid (even though we were informed we wouldn't be charged for this) it did work. The Wi-Fi continued to work throughout the rest of the holiday. However, this came at a price of us being refused to check-out and board the coach to the airport unless we paid the two week charge ($60).

Reception and Management

If you manage to get through your holiday without speaking to reception, which is located a long way from your hotel rooms, you will probably have a reasonable experience. However, the moment there is an issue of any sort, you are immediately referred to the reception staff. Due to the size of the hotel, you never speak to the same person twice in reception and it seems the system is unable to take notes, which means having to explain the same issue over and over again to different people. This meant we explained the internet cost waiver to three different staff: 1) on paying the wine charges; 2) on paying the gift shop charges; and 3) to the final check-out staff member who refused to waiver the charges and prevented us leaving the hotel as he needed to provide a check-out slip which enables the bell boys to put the luggage on to the coach.

The issue became extremely serious as we were travelling with our twin 4 year old children, one of us had been on the coach with them, yet in order to sort out the situation on reception it required both adults and the children remained on the coach with trusted people we had met at the beginning of the holiday. We requested to speak with two TUI reps to help us resolve the situation; we felt we had spent enough money in the hotel on additional items and we were not going to incur another cost for something we were told was categorically free and an error with their IT systems. The TUI representative took too long with these negotiations and the coach started to drive off without all of us on board, without our cases and with one of us still at reception trying to explain the issue for the fourth time. This resulted in a heated exchange with the only resolve being that we instructed a TUI rep to incur the cost and sort out the situation with management, who we had asked to speak to three times during our stay and had never met with any. The member of staff refusing our departure kept reiterating that he would have to pay the WI-FI charges if we did not and kept trying to negotiate a 50% discount. We had simply had enough at this point and my wife left the hotel on the coach in tears. It was a dreadful way to end what had already been a below average holiday.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
18  Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandrivieramaya, Assistant Manager at Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Hello Adam H,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write your comments about the Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya.

First of all takes my most sincere apologies for all the inconveniences during your recent vacation in our property. Its really disappointed when cannot exceed your expectations.

On the other hand, we are happy you liked our grounds, food, the wildlife, pool and activities.

We are in a constant improving process that never stops; I really hope you can identify these or any other positive changes when you come back in your next visit.

We hope you afford us the opportunity to serve you again in our Resort.

Kind Regards
Esaú Navarrete
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Just got back from a two week stay at the Grand Sirenis. The hotel itself is in a lovely location. The gardens and public areas are kept clean and tidy. The rooms, we upgraded to a superior room and in my opinion it was well worth it. Our room was spacious, bright and clean. The restaurants, the buffets were clean with a good choice of food. The Thai, Japanese and Brazilian were my favourites! The lazy river is a great touch. We stayed around the main pool no 1, it was a great pool. The entertainment staff, especially Christian were very professional, friendly and always smiling. They were fantastic with both adults and children. The beach for me was the only negative, it’s not as nice as most paradise beaches, it’s quite steep and full of seaweed. The staff work hard to try keep this at bay!

Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
6  Thank Juderachdean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandrivieramaya, Assistant Manager at Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Hello Juderachdean,

Thank you for coming to the Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya.

We are glad that you liked our grounds, rooms, the culinary experience in the À la Carte Restaurants, pools, the beach, the activities with the Entertainment team, especially Christian and that you found our Resort clean.

We will share your positive comments with our staff; it encourages them to continue working hard.

I hope to see you again.

Kind Regards
Esaú Navarrete
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 April 2018

This resort continues to be excellent. That is why we became members a few years ago. This review is on the members new beach club which opened unofficially 2 days before we arrived. The building, the pool, the bars are all very good. We waited in line for the club to open at 10.30 am. Then everyone rushed in without any order when it opened and ran to get a covered and shaded spot around the pool. There are only a few of these spots. For the amount of members using this club there needs to be a lot more covered spots.
The beach area is large but has no umbrellas or any covered spots. This is a drawback to enjoying the beach. The snorkeling in front of the beach club is very good. However there are many rocks along the waters edge which make getting into and out of the water very hazardous especially when wearing fins. If we are to enjoy this beach area, these rocks have to be removed.
If these improvements are made, then management deserves to be complimented for providing this beautiful beach club to the SPT members.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
8  Thank scaramouche2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandrivieramaya, Assistant Manager at Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Hello scaramouche2014,

Thank you for your loyalty and and for taking the time to share your comments about the Grand Sirenis Riviera Maya.

We are much honored you enjoyed the new beach club, the pool and the activities.

We would be more than happy to welcome you back next time.

Kind Regards
Esaú Navarrete
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews