We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
UNICO 20.87 Hotel Riviera Maya
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,356)
Filter reviews
1,356 results
Traveler rating
1,128
161
42
12
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,128
161
42
12
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslocal hostroom servicequiet poolspa treatmentsswim up roomin room diningsignature massagevolcanic stonedinner reservationsthe mexican restaurantocean fronthydrotherapy areaall inclusive resortmayan coffeefiletpersonal butlerpoolside service
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
61 - 66 of 1,356 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Let me start by stating that we are not "all-inclusive" people. I tend to view all-inclusive as unimaginative as you can get for a travel experience. However, we were looking for a short Easter getaway with our 20-something daughters and one boyfriend and Unico was recommended as being a perfect all inclusive for those who hate all inclusives! Staffing is exceptional; we were greeted by any staff we encountered with a smile and a hola!. Any special request (we were seeking three rooms next to each other) was accommodated. The food was plentiful, fresh, with an excellent selection for every pallet. We ordered bottles of wine each night (additional charge) and the selection of North American and European varietals was excellent.

The spa was a treat and the gym has every machine you'd expect (including a spin studio). Rooms are large and well appointed and the cleaning team were superb. We spent time both at the pool and the beach. We appreciated that the loud party music was restricted to a single area at the resort and easy to avoid if you preferred quiet and peace.

As a family we had an observation which has lead us to offer a suggestion to the Unico team, which naturally could be adopted by all resorts; The staff are extremely forthcoming with bottles of water, which of course is appreciated in the heat of Mexico. But at dinner on our last night, we estimated that our family must have consumed close to 250 bottles of water over our five days (10 per day X 5 people X 5 days). We did some simple math taking our consumption and multiplying it by the number of rooms in the resort and felt rather disgusted in ourselves for participating in so much plastic waste in such a pristine environment. Unico being very upscale with a client-base that is educated and worldly, we would love to see you partner with a bottle company such as Yeti, Swell or Stanley to create a custom insulated re-fillable bottle that would be tastefully branded and presented at check-in to all of your guests. The bottle would have a wide enough mouth to allow for ice. You could then work with your bottled water partner e-pura to set up water stations throughout the resort. Perhaps instead of an ice bucket with two bottles of water delivered pool side a small cooler with ice water would be delivered to allow your special edition keep-sake bottle to be refilled. We were very happy to have water bottles delivered to us without even asking, and it was only on reflection that we were a bit shocked at how many bottles of water must be consumed every single day by all resorts.

The hotel has a really cool house pen made of paper. We'd love your manufacturer to source a paper straw instead of a plastic straw. If 25,000 people stopped using straws that would be 5,000,000 less straws used.

Unico being such a beautiful hotel in a magnificent area has inspired our family to look at our plastic consumption and what we can do for the planet.

Lastly, it was nice to see so many people get dressed up for dinner. We were very happy with our mini-break at Unico.

Stayed: March 2018
4  Thank ThomsonTripToMaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando_Garcia2087, Gerente at UNICO 20.87 Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear ThomsonTripToMaui,

Thank you for taking the time sharing your latest experience at UNICO 20°87°. We are very happy to read that you had a wonderful experience and received the VIP service that you expected and deserve. I appreciate so much your suggestion with the bottles of water and I would like to share with you that we constantly have internal campaigns to recollect empty bottles to recycle them. but anyway I will share your idea with our Environment Department.

Thank you so much for visiting us and for choosing our hotel as your travel destination, we are looking forward to welcome you very soon!

Best Regards.

Fernando García
General Manager
UNICO 20°87°

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Usually do not like all inclusives. This one was great! Very good food and great service. Would definitely come back. The beach has a lot of dead corals when you go in to the water at the entrance to the beach but is clearer off to the sides.

Room Tip: The rooms were very clean with great amenities.
Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank irenek0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando_Garcia2087, Gerente at UNICO 20.87 Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Irenek0,

Thank you so much for posting your review about your last stay at Unico 20° 87° Hotel Riviera Maya, we are so glad to know that we changed your mind on a positive way about all inclusive resorts.

Thank you for your time to write about your stay, we hope see you soon to bring you a great experience again.

Best regards.

Fernando García
General Manager
Unico 20° 87°

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We just got back from Unico and it was simply amazing! The service was top notch, the decor was gorgeous and the food was unbelievable. The team paid close attention to all the tiny details. We never had to wait long for anything. There were always spots at any of the pool. The beach was a little windy with seaweed, but the grounds keepers were always cleaning up. The pools were so nice and the drink service was amazing, that we didn't want to be anywhere else! Make sure you download the app for housekeeping, butler service, booking etc! I hope we will have the chance to go back!

  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nikkibk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando_Garcia2087, Gerente at UNICO 20.87 Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Nikkibk;

Thank you for posting your perfect five star review in regards of your last visit to our resort. I'm very glad to know you liked our traditional decor and we could exceed your expectation with our delicious food. Thank you so much for sharing with us your great experience at UNICO 20°87° and for choosing us for your travel destination. We are looking forward to welcome you and pamper you again.

Best Regards,

Fernando García
General Manager
UNICO 20°87°

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Great time at Unico. Sergio (local host) was great!!! He went out of his way to see that we were taken care of! Also Raul at the quiet pool did a great job! We were looking for authentic Mexican food and he made it happen! We will come back to this resort! These two employees made the trip one to remember and a big part of why we will come back here! Beautiful place,awesome food, and lovely beach! Highly recommended

Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank krisb464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando_Garcia2087, Gerente at UNICO 20.87 Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear krisb464,

Thank you for taking the time posting your latest visit at UNICO 20°87° We are pleased to read you received the royalty service you deserve form Sergio and Raul. Also I'm very happy to read that we fulfill your expectations with our traditional and delicious Mexican food at Cueva 7. Thank you for all your kind words and for choosing UNICO 20°87°, as your travel destination to the Riviera Maya, hope we can see you back very soon.

Warm Regards,

Fernando García
General Manager
UNICO 20°87°

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We took a trip without kids to this resort with some other couples, not knowing what to expect. We give it a five star! The staff were all very very friendly! We loved the spa. One unique thing about the resort is the aroma therapy - many areas have a unique and lovely smell. You can also choose for your room. Great amenities in the room. One area in the hallway on the way to some restaurants was not my favorite scent as it gave me a headache but that is the only negative thing I can think of. There were few shopping choices at the resort which made my husband happy. They could probably work on that but the airport served me just fine for treats for the kids.

We've been to many all inclusives and this is top of the list. Many spa services are included with a 20 % gratuity expected. The food at the restaurants is very good. The staff at the pool very accommodating. I didn't feel like this resort was crowded like some others we have been to in Mexico. I can't say enough about the salon staff - try to hot rocks pedicure and at the spa - the couples massage was great. Also the water therapy is nice. We were with several couples and enjoyed just hanging out, not a lot of night life or dancing or shows but we were okay with that this trip. Very romantic two person tub on our balcony. Very quick room service and good choices as well. We all agreed we would come back here!

Room Tip: great spa. most rooms overlook the pool and you can see the ocean. this is not a huge resort
  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Noel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernando_Garcia2087, Gerente at UNICO 20.87 Hotel Riviera Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Noel T,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your last stay at Unico 20 87 Hotel Riviera Maya, I appreciate your comments regarding our staff and service, We are very glad to know that you had a wonderful experience with your party.

Thank you for visiting us, hope we can have the honor to host you in the near future.

Best regards.

Fernando García
General Manager
Unico 20° 87°

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews