We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Akumal Monkey Sanctuary & Rescued Animals
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Ways to Experience Akumal Monkey Sanctuary & Rescued Animals
from US$318.94
More Info
Reviews (986)
Filter reviews
986 results
Traveler rating
767
111
47
34
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
767
111
47
34
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews petting zoo feed goats animal lovers sunflower seeds guide alex bring bug spray money goes spider monkeys different species boa constrictor animal rescue hour tour photo package take pictures per adult mayan culture dirt road
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 986 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2021 via mobile

What a great time. Informative and entertaining. Our guide, I can’t recall his name, was really knowledgeable and did a great job! Highly recommend this experience. So glad we did it!

Date of experience: April 2021
Thank bzimom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 April 2021

The tour was great! We were welcomed warmly by our guide Angel, who was knowledgeable, courteous, and was great with our son.

The sanctuary does important work and it is worth your time to go visit and support them.

Date of experience: April 2021
Thank djdeutch232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oscar A, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Akumal Monkey Sanctuary & Rescued Animals, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hello, djdeutch232, we are very happy to know that your experience at the Sanctuary was great.
We appreciate your visit since with it you help us to continue working for the welfare of animals.
Thanks and regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 April 2021 via mobile

Had a great time at the facility. The guide was very nice and had great knowledge on all of the animals.

Date of experience: April 2021
Thank tigersBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oscar A, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Akumal Monkey Sanctuary & Rescued Animals, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hello, tigersBR, we are very happy to know that your experience at the Sanctuary was great.
We appreciate your visit since with it you help us to continue working for the welfare of animals.
Thanks and regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 April 2021 via mobile

We weren’t sure about spending $55 per adult but we really got our money worth. Plus the money went to a great cause, the sanctuary rehabilitates animals. Our 3 year old really loved seeing the animals and even held the snake, parrots, and loved the monkeys who sat on his head! Our guide spoke perfect English and had a wealth of information about the animals.

The path is not a tough walk and is flat with a ton of shade, though we did have to speed up our kiddo a little to keep up with the group of 19. If you have a 2 year old for instance, plan to do some carrying.

Date of experience: April 2021
Thank 4jfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oscar A, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Akumal Monkey Sanctuary & Rescued Animals, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hello 4jfam, thank you very much for visiting us, we are happy to know that you and your 3-year-old baby had an amazing time at the Sanctuary.
We are also grateful because you helped us to continue with this project and you decided to share your experience and point of view with Trip Advisor users.
Greetings!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 March 2021

Truly an amazing excursion while in Mexico. Our tour guide, Obniel, was excellent and very knowledgeable about the environment, culture and the animals. The cenote tour was absolutely worth the wait as well. Nothing better than jumping in the most refreshing water and enjoying the underground scene with friends and family as well!

Date of experience: March 2021
Thank TinaBarrera11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oscar A, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Akumal Monkey Sanctuary & Rescued Animals, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello TinaBarrera11, thank you very much for your visit and for sharing your experience with TripAdvisor users.
We will tell Obniel about your great experience with his work.
Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews