We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sir Sam's Inn & WaterSpa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Silver Maple Motel(Haliburton)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Lakeview Motel(Haliburton)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Halimar Resort(Haliburton)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bonnie View Inn(Haliburton)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Little Hawk Resort & Marina(Algonquin Highlands)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (373)
Filter reviews
373 results
Traveler rating
190
116
41
15
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
190
116
41
15
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater spasir sam'swood burning fireplacemain buildingski hillfrozen lakewarm watershuffle boardmeal planboat tourcouples massagewine cellardining experienceoutdoor poolchange roomsgreat weekendlimited menu
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 373 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed for 2 nights, on a Travel Zoo special, and were very happy with the room, Lakewinds VI, has a comfortable king bed, fire place, great enclosed balcony which had a fantastic view out over the frozen lake. Great selection of satellite channels, and fast wifi. We went to the water spa several times and really enjoyed all the water features, and sauna. The Manager provided us with a kettle, so that we could make our own coffee, but a Kurig was in the room. My wife enjoyed the Jacuzzi tub, and I liked the showerhead. There are many books, magazines and games available. The weather cooperated, so we explored the resort, and would really like to return in the summer, with our boat.

Room Tip: Lakewinds VI was great.
  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Illtakethehighroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan A, General Manager at Sir Sam's Inn & WaterSpa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago


Thank you for the great review! I am pleased to hear you were able to take advantage of some of the resort amenities we had here at the hotel to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back again to our resort in the summer, with your boat.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We spent 1 get away night at this rustic inn. I'll admit it was a Travelzoo promotion so we got a good deal on a lovely room with a wood burning fireplace and great view. It was low season and the restaurant was closed. We brought our own wine and nibbles and there is a mini fridge in the room. What we didn't know was that the water spa is open but not warm water. We paid extra for the water spa as well and were very disappointed. Sir Sam's is a lovely inn but call first to verify what services are available.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan A, General Manager at Sir Sam's Inn & WaterSpa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your review and sharing your experience. I'm sorry to hear that the water temperature from the Water Spa negatively impacted your score as it does appear overall that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel overall. Unfortunately, the water temperature fluctuated and we had a service call and the technicians were on there way from Toronto. The Water Spa problem was addressed as soon as they arrived. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2018

We just returned from a one night stay at Sir Sam's. This will have been our 4th time up. We normally go to Sir Sam's for their delicious food, relaxing environment and to get away from it all. We have always stayed in the Eastwoods cottage because we love the cathedral ceiling, the beautiful wood burning fireplace and it's secluded location with views of the lake. Though all those elements were still there, which we enjoyed thoroughly, they were dulled by other factors.

Eastwood Cottage:
The secluded cottage is large but comfortable, has tall cathedral ceilings, massive windows that overlook nature and a cozy wood burning fireplace. You can't really go wrong there. Unfortunately though, on this occasion, we arrived to dishwasher suds all over the floor, an empty bin without firewood (and an empty beer can next to it), no matches or lighter to get the fire going. We called down and they did come up to clean the floor, bring a lighter and restock the wood (within an hour). Later when we went to cook some food, we found crumbs in the pot drawer under the stove, dried food in the pot, as well as on the utensils. Then when we went to open up the pullout couch to lie in front of the fire, it had no sheets or blankets and we discovered it was actually broken. A real disappointment.

Food:
There was none. We were emailed Two nights before our stay and informed that they would have No food onsite due to 'maintenance'. As we had no other opportunity to come up later this winter, we kept our reservation. Since there are no nearby dining options we brought all of our own food up. This was another let down. On check out we were informed that the Chef and 5 of his sous chefs had just quit. Not so much maintenance as no one to cook.

Water Spa:
Overall lovely. Since it was only us and maybe 1 other couple staying in the entire resort, we mostly had it to ourselves. A beautiful sunset view from the pool area was a nice highlight. Unfortunately there was not a single towel to be found (nor was there signage to direct us to the front desk where it seems they are kept), no spa like music was playing as it normally is, not a drop of soap in the washroom and the degree of repair the change room was in was pretty bad. The baseboard in one spot was completely rotted out.

The Resort Area:
The furniture all looks very tired. The bar doors were closed (even though before we arrived we were told it would be open), restaurant doors closed, not a soul in sight, uncomfortable silence (not the peaceful relaxing vibe), just one tired ping pong ball in the 'games room?'. The staff were walking around in hoodies and track pants. I understand it's a more relaxed environment in the north, but the staff really should fit the part of a quality resort. Overall seemed like the standards had dropped.

Room Rates:
Though the resort is tired looking, the restaurants unavailable and cleanliness not attended too, the resort rate we booked was $100 More than it was in the past when all of these services were available. It seems like they are in desperate need of renovations and funds for staffing, but I don't think that gouging customers is the way to do it. They removed our included breakfast fee since there was no restaurant access, but after telling them about our experience as compared to in the past, no other customer service extensions were offered.

Overall we took everything in stride and made the best of our stay as we always enjoying coming up to cottage country for a relaxing getaway. Who really needs more than a warm fire, a great view and time with your spouse! Unfortunately though I don't think we will be returning to pay luxury resort pricing until Sir Sam's undergoes some much needed changes. We'd love to see the charm return and come back to a once beloved place.

  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travelbug5722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan A, General Manager at Sir Sam's Inn & WaterSpa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for the detailed review on your most recent stay. We certainly appreciate the feedback from valued guests like yourself. My apologies for the challenges with the housekeeping of the room. We will review with our team the cleaning of the room's and the kitchen as a whole and see if there is a step being missed. We now have limited hours in our restaurant as we are in our slow season. We are open on Sunday, Monday & Tuesday for dinner. Monday, Tuesday & Wednesdays for breakfast.
Regarding your concern on the items that are slightly outdated, the hotel does plan to replace some of the furniture's over the next few years. We audit annually to replace necessary outdated, or worn equipment within the rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2018

The Room was tired and not kept up. The furniture is old and stained. We had missing light bulbs in the bathroom, a plywood patch over the floor in front of the shower. There was no phone to call front desk and there was no literature to direct us towards amenities. We also could easily hear the people in the room next door. Oh, and there was no hand towel and the robes looked gross.

We had breakfast at the inn and it was a total rip off. 10 bucks for 2 eggs, 1 sausage, 1 piece of barely toasted bread and some undercooked potatoes.



The only pros where that our breakfast server was really nice and the bar looked pretty cool.

  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Shawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan A, General Manager at Sir Sam's Inn & WaterSpa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear that your stay didn't give you the value perception you needed from our hotel. Our Maintenance team works restlessly on a daily basis to make sure that we do not have any deficiencies in our rooms. All issues you have mentioned has been looked into and has been addressed. We do have a guest service directory in all rooms for our guest so they have all information of our hotel. We are always looking for ways to improve the experience of our guests at our hotel and will keep working in hopes you will try us again and see all the changes made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2018 via mobile

We love coming here to the water spa. Been once before. Hoping to make it an annual thing. Very friendly staff. Super comfortable beds. Beautiful view.
If you are looking for quiet, relaxing winter escape - we would recommend checking this place out :)

Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Stephanie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan A, General Manager at Sir Sam's Inn & WaterSpa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your experience at Sir Sam's Inn & Water Spa and that we have become part of an annual tradition. See you next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews