We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truck lunch”

Basnight's Lone Cedar Cafe
Ranked #9 of 79 Restaurants in Nags Head
Price range: US$8 - US$28
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: At Lone Cedar Café, we specialize in fresh and local Outer Banks seafood. If you're craving the freshest fish, clams, crab, shrimp and oysters from local North Carolina waters, you'll find them at the Lone Cedar Café.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Fresh Fish of the day and Chips by the sea- Although there are picnic table next to the truck, I decided to haul out my beach chair and sit in the back by the sound. So peaceful as I watch brown pelicans soar.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank wisenan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,754)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 1,755 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2021

Had stopped for Sunday brunch. It didn't seem as much brunch as it did just a straight lunch menu. Candice was very knowledgeable about all the fishing decor and the ospreys who were on their nest outside the window. The salad was very fresh with mixed greens, and the dressing was house made. The crab dip had horseradish in it which was a surprising twist and quite delicious. Our order was small and simple, but the plates coming out to tables around us were piled high with seafood. Definitely will return when in the area for a full meal.

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bink516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 April 2021

We are still talking about a dinner a couple of weeks ago at Lone Cedar. They are very Covid-cautious. I could see a "backstage" area from my seat and everyone was masked all the time - glass partitions now separate booths. The food was out of this world. We had stuffed flounder and a special salad with a piece of broiled flounder. Best meals we had in a week of good eating on OBX. Green for the meal are grown on-site. Don't miss this.

Date of visit: April 2021
2  Thank patbL4169DT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 April 2021

My husband and I had dinner tonight at Basnight's as part of the Taste of the Beach events this weekend. This restaurant is an area classic - with a well-deserved reputation for a great experience all around. It was our first time at Basnight's and it exceeded our expectations. What a beautiful spot and great evening! First, it's great that Basnight's always embraces the community and gets involved in many events and so we were looking forward to their Taste of the Beach Land and Sea dinner, which was delicious. We selected the Asian Shrimp and Shrimp and Grits appetizer, and the Pork Chop and Trout dinner. Everything was very tasty with generous portions - we took home a good part of our Trout dinner. I ordered a glass of wine to go with our dinner, and eyed the dessert menu but was too full to order dessert. That Hershey Cake I keep hearing about will have to wait for our next trip to Basnights.

There was a lot going on at Basnights tonight and it was fun to be part of the activity. There was more than one couple enjoying a Tasting for a future large event, there were other special Taste of the Beach dinners taking place (along with the distribution of chowder as part of the Taste of the Beach Chowder Competition) along with the regular Friday Night Specials that Basnight serves. We'll be back on another Friday night for those Specials which looked great as they were carried to waiting tables.

We had a great table overlooking the Sound and a wonderful view of the Osprey Nest during our meal. Our waitress was wonderful! Thank you Basnights for such a great evening!

Date of visit: April 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank HistoryLover2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 April 2021 via mobile

Four of us had dinner tonight. Three of us had been to this restaurant many, many times over the last 25 years. It was always fabulous, with great service, great sides, ample portions, a great experience. Sadly, we were super disappointed at dinner tonight. First, I called to see if they were going to have fried oysters, and they did not. I did call last week, so that is a possible reason. We had to ask for water, we had to ask for salt, which is excusable because of the pandemic. No presentation or garnishes. Crab cake was just OK, portions OK, but not generous. Lackluster waitress. Not sure we will ever go back again.

Date of visit: April 2021
2  Thank Grice-Fearing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basnight's Lone Cedar Cafe also viewed

 
Nags Head, Outer Banks
Nags Head, Outer Banks
 

Been to Basnight's Lone Cedar Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.