We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More unique than most "authentic" Mexican restaurants”

Zocalo Street Food & Tequila
Ranked #90 of 266 Restaurants in Jacksonville
Price range: US$7 - US$45
Description: Zócalo Street Food and Tequila brings a modern version of cooking traditional Mexican street food, and combine these perfected recipes with excellent presentation. A modern concept in Mexican Cuisine that bridges the old school tradition with a twist of innovative cooking and an upscale presentation.
Restaurant details
Description: Zócalo Street Food and Tequila brings a modern version of cooking traditional Mexican street food, and combine these perfected recipes with excellent presentation. A modern concept in Mexican Cuisine that bridges the old school tradition with a twist of innovative cooking and an upscale presentation.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The menu is a lot more varied and slightly more upscale than most Mexican restaurants. The refried beans were made with black beans which I liked. Their queso and tortilla were very good.
I had duck carnitas street tacos and my only complaint was that they left huge chunks of the very fatty skin on. It wasn't crispy but rather quite slimy, picking that out made them a lot better.
Service was competent although a bit off, had to ask for silverware, napkins, etc.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MrFrump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenifer G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Zocalo Street Food & Tequila, responded to this reviewResponded today

MrFrump, thank you for your review, We are glad you liked our menu options and appreciate the authenticity! Regrding the issues with food and service, thank you for your comments, It help us to improve, we promess you to check on that so next time everythign will be perfect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (9)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 9 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Fantastic! The food was absolutely amazing! I had the shredded beef chimichanga and my wife had the chicken tinga chimichanga, both were amazing! The service was pretty good, not the absolute best, but it was a fairly busy night. We will definitely be back!

Thank Douglas O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenifer G, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Zocalo Street Food & Tequila, responded to this reviewResponded today

Fantastic review Douglas! Thank you for visitng us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2018

Came here to lunch as it was new. The sanitation rating was 98.5? We had the carne asada and the calamari. The carne asada was good. The calamari had a hair in it? Manager gave us a $5 coupon? Oh, did not charge for the calamari! Very disappointed for such a high end restaurant!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gtadennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenifer G, Guest Relations Manager at Zocalo Street Food & Tequila, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dennis, we are really sorry to hear about your recent experience with us at Zocalo and we want to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. We will definitely use this review as a teaching point for the kitchen staff so they can learn and improve. We hope in the future you will consider to come back and give us another chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2018

We loved the clean, open feel of the restaurant. I ordered the vegetarian quesadilla with beans (black refried beans) and Mexican rice. The ingredients tasted very fresh. My husband has the beef chimichanga and declared is "quite delicious". We were also served chips that were different from other types of chips we have had, but wonderful none the less. The guacamole was excellent, as were the three different salsas that came with the chips.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NCTraveler107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenifer G, Guest Relations Manager at Zocalo Street Food & Tequila, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Gracias, we appreciate the review and comments. Please visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2018 via mobile

We decided to pop in for dinner and drinks. Glad we did.

Everything is made from scratch and the flavors are outstanding.

We each got the dinner trio that included two sides.

The cilantro rice was outstanding, as well as the black beans. Haven’t had good fried plantains since Puerto Rico.

The margaritas was delicious too.

Service was great.

This is not a chain restaurant. Family owned. Highly recommend.

Thank bctm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenifer G, Guest Relations Manager at Zocalo Street Food & Tequila, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Gracias bctm, glad to hear your recent experience with us at Zocalo was a great one! We look forward to seeing you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zocalo Street Food & Tequila also viewed

Jacksonville, North Carolina Coast
Jacksonville, North Carolina Coast
 
Jacksonville, North Carolina Coast
Jacksonville, North Carolina Coast
 
Jacksonville, North Carolina Coast
Jacksonville, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Zocalo Street Food & Tequila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing