We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Unscripted Durham
Nearby Hotels
US$119
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$115
Homewood
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
US$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$129
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$169
US$119
Home2.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$156
Residence Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Durham Hotel(Durham)
US$171
US$166
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (369)
Filter reviews
370 results
Traveler rating
195
75
46
31
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
195
75
46
31
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationrooftop poolgrowing painsfun stayretro feelrestaurants and barsheart of downtownparking deckcan't beat the locationboutique hotelwalking distancethird floorenjoyed our staynight's sleepa wonderful staybeautiful hotelwould stay again
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 370 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2018

I booked Unscritped for a night out at DPAC. When we arrived at 4:45 the room was not ready and we were told they were running behind. We had dinner reservations at 5:30 so at 5:10 we asked and were finally given a room. They did give us free parking and a free coffee and breakfast sandwich for our wait. We were then shown to a room with a door that opened to the outside which was not acceptable to us. The room was very small and sparcely furnished. I love Jonathon Adler but the room decor did not portray the best of Jonathon Adler. This hotel reminded me of a place I stayed at Jr/Sr weekend in 1977. Perhapys this hotel is better suited for a younger clientele.

  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Cynthia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 April 2018

We totally enjoyed our stay of 3 nights at the Unscripted. We were there for the Full Frame Film Documentary festival. The rooms were a good size and quiet with all most every convenience; it was lacking a coffee maker. But the Jack Tar diner on the ground floor solved that problem.

  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rqa2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 April 2018

Unscripted in Downtown Durham, NC, is a quirky hotel and a great remake of the old Jack Tar. The garage has fun "graffiti" on the walls as an introduction that this isn't an old stodgy hotel. We had a suite which was oddly shaped but worked for us. The bathroom was huge with a separate tub and large shower. The bed was comfy and temp easily controlled in the room. The staff was delightful and management sent a welcome gift with a nice note. The location is terrific with great restaurants in the building. The pool deck was well appointed with comfy seating areas, a pool table and a bar. It was unseasonably cool during our visit but we enjoyed reading the NYT by the pool, albeit in sweaters! I would have given the hotel five stars but there was no minibar. We were pre-charged $50 a day for potential incidentals but could not figure out how incurring them would have even been possible! Great hotel, though, and we will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank powelllindab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 April 2018 via mobile

Stayed one night for an impromptu business trip. Loved the mid-century modern feel. With the loungey vibe in the bar/lounge/check-in area, it didn't feel like Durham, felt like a Dream hotel in NY/LA. I didn't have a window, but I was so tired, I didn't care - plus, it forces you to go downstairs to make use of the lounge, which is ultimately a more fun place to be anyway. Room was small, but clean, and supercute design aesthetic follows along all the way through the elevators to the hallway to the Jonathan Adler toiletries and cups. Best to check-in before parking the car in the garage, also, $20 a night. Still, nice stand-out for downtown, and a cool place to stay. Will definitely try to stay again. 

Stayed: April 2018, traveled on business
Thank Joy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Perfect place to get a perfect view of mid-downtown Durham. The bed was super comfortable; best night's sleep in a long time. The hotel is in walking distance to great eating places. I felt very safe even on the 4th floor amid the openness.

  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank fcferebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews