We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Well Preserved Historic Settlement

The Greenough Historic Settlement is a beautifully preserved village from the 1800s. Interesting... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
TheTravelingGal28
,
Savannah, Georgia
Very Interesting and Spooky

My wife and I visited there today, 23/10/2020 but because my wife is still recovering from illness... read more

Reviewed 23 October 2020
MichaelD835
,
Baldivis, Australia
Read all 78 reviews
  
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveler rating
38
33
3
4
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
38
33
3
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews well worth a visit police station old village alpacas cafe settlement school history restoration wa government goal farms
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 78 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2020

I was really interested in seeing and photographing the old buildings (and seeing the Llama and Alpacas!). It was a nice walk around the area and interesting to look through the old village buildings.

Date of experience: August 2020
Thank KBNZ666
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 December 2019

We stopped in on our way south back to Perth, hoping to find and old (deserted) village charm, but were truly disappointed, as the place does not offer anything to see nor do.
You might as well save your time (and money) and skip this place.

Date of experience: October 2019
Thank TheShis
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 September 2019

This place is amazing,why I had never heard of it before as a once local West Aussie is beyond imagination.After 7 years travelling interstate we decided to once again become visitors in our own state.Imagine our delight when we stumbled upon this amazing limestone township in pristine condition.With a five star brand new cafe, lunches wine,beer excellent souvenirs and service,crazy almost, in the middle of nowhere. The drive and the land and the scenery between Port Denison Dongara and Geraldton is simply amazing.Picturesque,historical green rolling plains.The farms,historic buildings and stops need to seen to be believed.It is a hidden secret please explore.With views reminiscent of parts of Norfolk Island and Rockhampton in Qld you must visit this secret gem.

Date of experience: September 2019
Thank Rockinall
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 July 2019 via mobile

We visited on a Saturday and walked through the old settlement unaccompanied. The houses are all accessible to the public and include churches, a gaol, school house, hall and residences. Knowing the settlement was largely run by religious organisations there is a feeling of gloom . The prison where local and aboriginal people were held in appalling conditions (chained to a wall in a small cell with up to 20 others) was the most eerie and unsettling for me.

Date of experience: July 2019
Thank 93lisat
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 June 2019

This old village is entered via the cafe. There is plenty of parking at the entrance to the village. It gives a perspective on life at that time which would not have been easy.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank Hannover9600
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews