We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Fish Friar”
Review of The Fish Friar

The Fish Friar
Ranked #29 of 784 Restaurants in Syracuse
Price range: US$9 - US$22
Description: Our mission is to bring super-fresh, wild-caught seafood from the coast of Maine to Syracuse, combining culinary flair with thoughtfully curated wines, exclusive craft beer and an inviting New York City-style atmosphere.
Restaurant details
Description: Our mission is to bring super-fresh, wild-caught seafood from the coast of Maine to Syracuse, combining culinary flair with thoughtfully curated wines, exclusive craft beer and an inviting New York City-style atmosphere.
Reviewed 17 November 2017

We stopped in before the Cirque Du Soleil show. I got the hot lobster roll with rice pilaf and roasted carrots. It was all just so delicious. Every aspect of the meal was perfection. It was all seasoned very well. I truly loved this lobster roll more than any I've had in Maine! I really could not improve on anything. My husband got the fried haddock -it was huge! He said it was the best he ever had. Our friends had the Lobster Bisque and calamari and haddock bites. We all enjoyed our meals.
Service was fantastic, very pleasant waitstaff, building and atmosphere were very, very nice. I would eat there again! In fact, I am going there again tonight!!

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank szerphey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek S, General Manager at The Fish Friar, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Thank you so much for stopping out and dining with us. We're humbled by the kind praise and look forward to delivering more great meals in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 52 of 70 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2017 via mobile

Finally got a chance to try the fish friar and was not disappointed. Initially went because of the impressive draft and can selection, but left wowed by the dinner. Highly recommend the lobster roll and the lobster salad. Will definitely be back.

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank 476kevinp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek S, General Manager at The Fish Friar, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Kevin, we're glad that the thought and work we put into both our craft beer and our menu is being recognized by gentlemen like yourself. Thanks so much for coming in!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 October 2017

We love the fried haddock. The fish itself is fresh and flaky. The fried exterior is crunchy without being greasy. The dill sauce that can be put on the fish or used with the fries is a nice twist on traditional tartar. The fries are good but seem like they are frozen from a distributor. I think a place like the Fish Fryer should have great and special fries. Having just spent two weeks in England and Scotland we were thrilled to see the inclusion of mushy peas. I am always searching for restaurants who know what they do well and do it. Lots of places try to have too much on their menus. This is a great example of a focused and successful menu!! We will be back here. I think owner should advertise so everyone knows what a great restaurant is downtown!

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JSyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek S, General Manager at The Fish Friar, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Thank you so much for your thoughtful review. We love our mushy peas and appreciate when customers who know the original English version get to try ours. We hope to see you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 October 2017

Stopped in late afternoon for a sandwich and drink.Server was attentive and friendly.Place was clean and decorated in a minimalist way giving it a hip,big city feel.We had a fried haddock sandwich and lobster roll.Haddock was expertly fried and the lobster roll was a step above what you might expect in cny.A handful of craft beers both on tap and bottled are available along with a selection of cocktails.Appropriately priced.Recommended.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 September 2017 via mobile

The food here is delicious and staff are most attentive. Excellent value for money. Just wish I lived nearer to visit more often.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Belle321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek S, General Manager at The Fish Friar, responded to this reviewResponded 20 November 2017

Thanks so much for stopping by!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fish Friar also viewed

Syracuse, Finger Lakes
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
Syracuse, Finger Lakes
 

Been to The Fish Friar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing