We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$152
US$138
Staybridge.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
Country Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$179
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn Rochester-Greece(Rochester)(Great Value!)
US$93
US$89
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$105/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$183
US$179
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$185
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
US$109
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dartmouth House(Rochester)
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveler rating
30
12
10
3
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
30
12
10
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe usual farehenrietta roadnice breakfastyogurtfifth floorfitness centerawesome stayfront deskroom was cleanbreakfast attendantindoor poolmicrowave and fridgebreakfast itemsgreat hotela king size bedconvenient locationair conditioner
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 57 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2017 via mobile

Pleasant staff. Rooms are lacking Lack of space for opening luggage. My wife opened the closet only to have the ironing board fall on her foot. Toilet would not fill without taking the top off. Reported twice to get it repaired. Lack of any selection of gluten free food for breakfast.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Poppopca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VisionsGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rochester - University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Good Morning,

I want to start by apologizing for what happened to your wife's foot. That does not sound like a pleasant experience at all. When staying with us, we want you to feel safe, and not worry about items falling on you! I am very sorry we failed you on that this visit.

I remember speaking with you at the front desk about this as you were checking out, and once again I do apologize that this happened.

I am also sorry to hear that you did not find enough gluten free options. I myself live a gluten free lifestyle, and I agree staying somewhere that doesn't have a large selection of items to choose from can be frustrating.

Overall it sounds like your stay was not the most positive experience and once again, I am so sorry we failed you on that. I hope that if you do stay with us again we can provide a much better experience.

Thank you for your feedback!

Corey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile

Hotel was recently renovated, nice lobby and common area.

Room is on the smaller side. Doors need a facelift. Air filter clogged. Converted from an old La Quinta. Maybe why the rooms are small.

Friendly staff, decent (typical Holiday Inn Express) breakfast.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank TheFarSide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VisionsGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rochester - University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Dear Reviewer,

First I'll start by saying thank you for your feedback! It's great to know that you have stayed with Holiday Inn Express before. That must mean you like the brand, which I am always happy to hear. I am also happy to hear that you were treated well by our team, and liked the lobby and common area.

I appreciate the feedback regarding our doors and the air filter. I apologize that the air filter was not functioning properly. That is not something that we want you to experience ever when staying with our properties. This is great feedback for my housekeeping and maintenance team, and I will be sure to let them know to check them all!

In regard to the doors, thank you for letting us know about the shape of the them. I agree that they need a facelift, and we are currently planning to repaint and finish them.

Once again, thank you for the feedback on what you enjoyed and what we need to work on. Any feedback is useful for us. I hope that next time you are in the area you will stay with us again!

Thank you,
Corey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 August 2017

This hotel is so nice! The hotel was clean and had a great breakfast with excellent staff and real cups and plates to eat and drink from. The pool was very large as well! We will definitely stay here the next time we're in town. The location is great too; many restaurants are within walking distance,

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VisionsGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rochester - University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Good Afternoon Rachel,

I want to first say thank you for providing us with your feedback! I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I am glad we could provide you with a breakfast that you enjoyed and a pool you liked as also!

I hope that you will stay with us again so that we can provide you with a great experience you deserve as our guest next time as well.

Once again, thank you for your feedback!

Corey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 August 2017

I was at first had my reservations about an expess, but this hotel was far from anything to be conserned about. The hotel was very nice and modern. The beds comfortable and rooms spacious. The free breakfast was fantastic, eggs, pancakes, hot cinnamon buns yum! I didn't not get a chance to get to the pool as the hotel was host to several youth sports teams at the time. And other then their noise this hotel was fantastic.

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nhacic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VisionsGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rochester - University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Good Afternoon "Nhacic"

Thank you for your feedback!

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed elements of your stay with us. I am glad you had a good nights rest on our beds, and were able to get a good breakfast to start your day!

Hopefully we will see you again at our property, and next time you will be able to experience our heated pool.

Again, thank you for your comment- we appreciate all feedback!

See you again!

Corey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 August 2017 via mobile

We just wanted a satisfactory place to stay before an early departure from the Rochester airport. Very easy access and most friendly, helpful staff. Early departure meant no HIE breakfast but there is coffee and to go cups in your room. Would we stay again? Of course as it meets Holiday Inn Express expectations

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VisionsGM, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Rochester - University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2017

Good Afternoon Patricia,

I am happy to hear that you were able to access our property easily, and that our team was helpful during your stay.

I do apologize you were not able to try our breakfast, but hopefully next time you are in the area you will be able to!

Thank you for your comment, I appreciate all feedback. I am happy to know you would stay again with us.

Have a great day!

Corey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews