We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”
Review of The Safari Blue

The Safari Blue
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The original Safari Blue excursion operating from Fumba village and exploring the Menai Bay Conservation Area by traditional hand-built wooden dhows. Includes guided snorkelling with quality kit, dhow and ngalawa sailing, swimming in a mangrove lagoon, a delicious seafood buffet lunch, massive tropical fruit tasting and honest Zanzibar hospitality. Also offering private charter trips with bespoke itinerary and Robinson Crusoe experience. Great days out in Zanzibar since 1996!
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

You’ll be taking a traditional boat to an amazing island where you can swim and enjoy some fresh fruits, after that you’ll be doing snorkeling, there were so many fishes from different kinds (that was my favorite part of the safari), to finish you’ll have sea food as lunch in another island, the food was ok!
A fresh drinks available during all the trip which was great (except beer the other drinks are included).
Don’t forget your sun protection even with that i got a sunburn :p

Thank Ilies D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
safariblue, Owner at The Safari Blue, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We do include beer from lunchtime and soft drinks all day. Wine is the only drink that is available to purchase. just wanted to clarify that as no charge is made for good local bottled beers using recyclable glass bottles.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,419)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"lobster"
in 89 reviews
"sand bank"
in 59 reviews
"blue team"
in 33 reviews
"mangrove lagoon"
in 34 reviews
"baobab tree"
in 29 reviews
"fruit"
in 190 reviews
"day trip"
in 67 reviews
"rice"
in 39 reviews
"captain morgan"
in 23 reviews
"prawns"
in 26 reviews
"small island"
in 26 reviews
"private charter"
in 11 reviews
"seafood lunch"
in 32 reviews
"saw dolphins"
in 43 reviews
"crew members"
in 16 reviews
"soft drinks"
in 22 reviews
"recommend this trip"
in 19 reviews
Filter

82 - 86 of 1,421 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2018

Basically it is a full day trip, mostly spent on the water with traditional dhows. Pay attention to seasickness, you will feel it worst on this kind of boats. You only get to snorkel two times for half an hour each. In my opinion you get to spend to much time on the island for the lunch, like 2-3 hours. It is nice that you can taste all kind of local fruits. The singers and dancers make a nice African experience. Too bad you only spend a few minutes on the nice sandbank.
Personally I would prefer more time with activities, than on the island for lunch.

Thank Petra_Somnea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
safariblue, Owner at The Safari Blue, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

It is always difficult to please everyone all the time. We offer a private charter trip for those clients who want to be able to dictate their own personalised programme and itinerary.

I am sorry that you didn't feel completely satisfied by your day out with us. Fortunately most of our clients are fully satisfied with the group programme and the amount of snorkelling.

Regards from Eleanor and the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

The most beautiful trip in zanzibar it is located on south east of Zanzibar island this is full day trip which gives you nice moment ever had before, welcome now

1  Thank Abdulrauf Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 March 2018

This company is professional and to be recommended to do your snorkeling trip from Fumba, south of the island. Snorkeling was beautiful, as was the swimming. The seafood buffet was beyond expectation as was all the fruit that was cut and offered to us. What an experience.

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank Tercia2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
safariblue, Owner at The Safari Blue, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We do pride ourselves on our professionalism and it is always good to know that this is appreciated. The food we serve is also a source of pride and we take care of ensure it is plentiful and delicious!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2018

In time and nice guide/contact person. The bost trip including snorkling was a disapointment. No good spots for snorkling and too much time on the ”lunch island” (very touristic)

Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank laholm2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Safari Blue also viewed

Stone Town, Zanzibar City
Zanzibar City, Zanzibar Island
 
Zanzibar Island, Zanzibar Archipelago
Zanzibar Island, Zanzibar Archipelago
 

Been to The Safari Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing