We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (214)
Filter reviews
214 results
Traveler rating
186
24
2
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
186
24
2
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the reserve other guests beautiful pool extra activities manager chris special touch romantic dinner spent nights loved our stay great chef every meal excellent hosts great knowledge memorable stay top class went out of her way down to earth
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 214 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nungubane lodge ticked every single box!

We stayed at the lodge over the Easter weekend (4 nights) and from the hospitality, the incredible food selection, the game drives and the beautiful atmosphere that was created, we give them 5 stars +.
The rooms are big and well equipped with everything that you need with a king size bed to rest on every night.

The food is at least a two-course meal for breakfast and lunch and dinner with a three-course meal. There was a variety of dishes at every meal which suited everyone’s palette (even for the fussy eaters, they were satisfied).

Whilst in our quiet time, we lazed around by the beautiful pool side with some drinks which the bar was well stocked with.

Annouchka kept us well entertained and informed on our game drives. With her vast knowledge of the animals, the terrain and plants, we felt that we really had one of the BEST rangers that we have ever experienced. She made our trip so worthwhile by getting the best views of lion, rhino, elephant, buffalo and more.

We even had a romantic setup dinner under the stars - which just made our weekend celebration that more special!

The way the lodge is managed by Chris and his staff is such a treat and we left making not only memories but great friendships too!

Thank you to the great team at Nungubane lodge, we hope to visit soon enough and book out the whole lodge with the family :)

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank megsiesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nungubane Management, General Manager at Nungubane Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are delighted that you had such an amazing experience and memorable time with us. Congeniality is the hallmark of Nungubane experience and our motto is : " A home from home "
The Team looks forward to "welcoming you back home " in the not too distant future.

Warm Regards from The Nungubane Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 April 2021

Our stay at Nungubane was phenomenal, Chris and his staff took great care of us. They were warm, thoughtful and welcoming every step of the way. They provided professional and bespoke service.

They even put on a surprise romantic dinner for us which was really special.

The food was so amazing.

The facilities and room were clean (we have OCD when it comes to cleanliness) and the views from the room were so lovely. Very tranquil escape.

We thoroughly enjoyed the game drives - of the big five we managed to see rhino, lions and elephants .

Rating 5/5.

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank VenusAug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nungubane Management, General Manager at Nungubane Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2021

Hi V

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that it met with all your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Warm Regards

The Nungubane Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 March 2021 via mobile

My husband and I enjoyed a fabulous weekend at Nungubane. From the moment we were greeted at the gate, they were true to their 'home from home' philosophy. The small staff are friendly and attentive. I loved the game drives, the food, the room, the views. They even put on a surprise romantic dinner for us which was really special. We loved the idea of eating with the other guests, and if that's not your thing you're welcome to ask for your own space. Thank you Chris and the team for an unforgettable experience!

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank suedL5827NN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nungubane Management, General Manager at Nungubane Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2021

We are so pleased that you had such a wonderful experience and memorable weekend at the Lodge. Yes we endeavor to live up to our motto : " A home from home "
We really look forward to "welcoming you home " in the not too distant future.

From The Nungubane Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 January 2021

My husband and I visited the lodge for 3 nights in January 2021. Chris and Annouschka gave everything of themselves to make sure our trip was what we had hoped for; so personalized and it made us feel like home. Annouschka is the guide for the game drives. She is super attentive, enthusiastic and filled with so much knowledge about the reserve and the animals. She is so humble with the animals and instinctively knows how to be with them. This ensures us the best animal sitings ever. I was so happy not to drive around like crazy chasing animals. The scenery was so stunning and deserved to be taken in. Both of them also are very serious about safety measures in a relaxed way. We felt truly held and safe...a home away from home. A truly unforgettable experience. THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU.

Room tip: All chalets are wonderfully situated.
Date of stay: January 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank rosetN7116OP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nungubane Management, General Manager at Nungubane Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2021

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review and wonderful experiences that you had during your recent visit to our Lodge. It was a pleasure having you as our Guests and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Warm regards from The Nungubane Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 December 2020

My husband and I stayed at Nungubane 2 weeks ago, and we had the best time. All the staff were so attentive, considerate, and super friendly - they went above and beyond to make us feel at home. Our room was clean and spacious and the size of the resort felt incredibly private and intimate. We also had amazing game sitings in Welgevonden, which was a bonus!!

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Y3169EBmichelleb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nungubane Management, General Manager at Nungubane Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2020

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that it met with all your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Warm Regards

The Nungubane Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews