We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
TVNZ
Ngongotaha, New Zealand

Good but airport pick up very bad

Review of LIC Plaza Hotel
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed May 25, 2024via mobile
We booked this on reviews. The hotel was close to the subway, the room was clean and tidy. The bed quite hard. The only issue we had was we booked the airport pick up but it took us two and half hours from notifying the hotel we were at the airport to arrive at the hotel. If we'd known that we'd have chosen a different option
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
₱9,408
No prepayment needed
  • Official Hotel
    ₱9,408
  • Agoda.com
    ₱8,379
  • Expedia.com
    ₱9,408
0.4 km from LIC Plaza Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
₱11,877
  • Hotels.com
    ₱11,864
  • Expedia.com
    ₱11,877
  • Priceline
    ₱11,867
0.4 km from LIC Plaza Hotel
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Exterior
₱14,184
  • Priceline
    ₱14,171
  • Expedia.com
    ₱14,184
  • Hotels.com
    ₱14,168
0.3 km from LIC Plaza Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
₱11,621
Fully refundable
  • Aloft.com
    ₱11,621
  • Hotels.com
    ₱11,608
  • Expedia.com
    ₱11,621
0.5 km from LIC Plaza Hotel
Free Wifi
Fitness center
₱14,184
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    ₱15,400
  • Hyatt.com
    ₱9,303
  • Expedia.com
    ₱15,417
0.5 km from LIC Plaza Hotel
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
₱10,453
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    ₱10,442
  • TownePlace Suites
    ₱8,676
  • Expedia.com
    ₱10,453
0.7 km from LIC Plaza Hotel
Fitness center
₱8,322
  • Expedia.com
    ₱6,978
  • Priceline
    ₱8,314
  • Hotels.com
    ₱7,875
0.8 km from LIC Plaza Hotel
Free Wifi
Vista LIC Hotel, Best Western Premier Collection
₱8,701
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    ₱8,693
  • Skyscanner.com
    ₱7,388
  • Expedia.com
    ₱8,701
0.3 km from LIC Plaza Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
₱11,037
Fully refundable
  • Wyndham
    ₱11,037
  • travelup.com
    ₱9,861
  • Hotels.com
    ₱11,025
0.6 km from LIC Plaza Hotel
Free Wifi
  • Trip.com
  • Official Hotel Site
    ₱6,014
  • Algotels
0.9 km from LIC Plaza Hotel
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
View more hotels in Long Island City
Reviews (74)
Filter reviews
74 results
Traveler rating
41
22
4
4
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
41
22
4
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews safe area the hotel is clean easy access yogurt new york subway station breakfast square jfk manhattan
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 74 reviews
Reviewed December 18, 2023

Subject: Unpleasant Experience at LIC Plaza Hotel on December 13th
Dear Hotel Management,
I trust this message finds you well. I am writing to express my dissatisfaction with the hospitality service I received on December 13th during my stay at LIC Plaza Hotel.
Upon my arrival around 6:30 pm, I encountered an unwelcoming experience with the Asian front desk worker, later identified as Andy. Despite my flight delay with Delta, which led to the issuance of a voucher, Andy insisted on either a credit card or a $100 deposit due to the hotel's no-smoking policy. While I understand the policy, Andy's approach was less than accommodating.
Moreover, when I asked for his name, Andy seemed reluctant to provide it and questioned, "Why do you want my name?" It struck me as unusual, as I believe it is customary for guests to inquire about the names of staff members for reference or feedback purposes.
Andy then greeted me with an accusatory statement, stating, "You smell like smoke." I had just come from outside, adhering to the no-smoking policy within the hotel premises. Andy's lack of understanding and unhelpful attitude left me with a negative impression of the hotel's customer service.
I would like to emphasize that I initially refrained from mentioning Andy's name, but the overall experience, including his reluctance to share his name, compels me to share my disappointment. Unfortunately, based on this encounter, I cannot recommend LIC Plaza Hotel to others.
I appreciate your attention to this matter and hope that steps will be taken to address both the service issue and the staff's approachability for the benefit of future guests.

Room tip: Do not book this hotel! Not recommendable! Look for a better one with a restaurant and better service!
Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank seniorita l
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 28, 2023

Great room, clean. Bathroom also good, large.
Good breakfast, enough choice to start the day.
Perhaps not too cozy, but a very functional room/lodging with very good service and very friendly staff.
We were able to leave the suitcases (guarded) for a few hours for free, handy service!
The subway is nearby, you can reach Manhattan in no time.
Environment feels safe and quiet, no busy traffic.
We also slept in Manhattan, in retrospect we could have stayed here all nights. Much better, cheaper and quieter. Price-quality is top notch by NY standards.

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Levak333
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 27, 2023 via mobile

It’s a quirky boutique hotel close to the subway. Our room was spotless but the quirkiness did lead to some deficiencies.

Firstly, English is clearly not the first language of most if not all employees and communication can be problem.

Our room had a coffee machine but we didn’t use it. We asked the reception person if there was any milk or creamer and was told not available. Similarly, there was a microwave in the room but no utensils.

The control for the shower was poorly placed with the result that turning on the tap ran the risk of getting blasted with cold water or scalded.

There was no light above or near the desk.

The breakfast was adequate. Everything was single use disposable. The so called hot offerings were cold and in any case inedible. Revolting.

There was a delightful sign in the breakfast room - clearly written by Google translate on steroids - warning of dire consequences if you took food back to your room. I found the sign amusing but other English speaking people could find it offensive.

Despite reservations

Room tip: No parking. Local streets occupied by pathed cars. Easy access from JFK airport by SkyTrain and E line subway to Queens Plaza station.
Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Paul_in_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 4, 2023 via mobile

A small clean hotel with helpful staff and breakfast inkluded in the prize. The location is close to Manhattan but there is much to see in Queens as well. Close to at least three subway stations and if you go north you will end up in a distrikt with several good restaurants. New York is so much more than Manhattan.

Safe area and we felt secure walking around after dark.

Room tip: If you walk a little bit north east from the hotel towards 39av-dutch kills station you will find several bars and restaurants. We saw it on our last night.
Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank fredrik0306
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 26, 2023

Budget hotel to see NYC without having to spend a lot of money on a hotel in Manhattan.
Location is close to the subway. The area may look al little bit industrial with some workshops not far but generally it is safe to walk at night to the hotel.
The hotel is clean, but nothing extra everything is very basic. No USB ports for charging phones, but plenty of sockets. Microwave is a plus but they do not provide any complimentary bottles of water.
The room is basic and clean.
The walls are very thin, one night we had noisy neighbours watching TV and laughing all night, it was a torture. Luckily they stayed just for one night.
Having a buffet breakfast with good coffee and juices saves you a big morning hassle before hitting the roads. I liked the breakfast, most of the supply is good quality stuff purchased from Costco. The breakfast variety and freshness is superior to other budget 3 star hotels in USA/Canada.
They do not have parking on site, but with some luck you can find free parking on the streets nearby, just make sure not to park during street cleaning times. There are also garages for paid parking not far from the hotel.
I wouldn't recommend the hotel for first time in NYC with kids, but for someone who knows his way around, it is a a good affordable option.

Date of stay: March 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 985minay
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews