We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
sandykip
Huntsville, Alabama

Great location and friendly staff!

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Dec 3, 2019
I shared a room with my daughter and granddaughter. There was adequate space. The staff was friendly and answered all our inquiries. We returned to clean rooms each evening. Unless we opened our window, there was no noise. The subway was a short walk as well as great pizza.
Date of stay: November 2019
Room Tip: We had a view on the 7th floor but it would have been better a bit higher
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Vue H, General Manager at The Vue Hotel, Ascend Hotel Collection, responded to this review
Responded Dec 7, 2019
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for your feedback! We are delighted that you enjoyed the accommodations and amazing location! We certainly hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you once again, when you visit Newyork again to provide you with a superior Experience.
Sincerely,
General Manager
The Vue Hotel

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
₱9,410
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    ₱9,407
  • Expedia.com
    ₱9,286
  • Official Hotel
    ₱9,410
0.5 km from The Vue Hotel, Ascend Hotel Collection
Free Wifi
Restaurant
₱7,709
  • TownePlace Suites
    ₱7,709
  • Tripadvisor
    ₱7,709
  • Priceline
0.4 km from The Vue Hotel, Ascend Hotel Collection
Fitness center
₱12,822
₱10,880
  • Hotels.com
    ₱10,876
  • Expedia.com
    ₱10,880
  • Skyscanner.com
    ₱10,878
0.6 km from The Vue Hotel, Ascend Hotel Collection
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Exterior
₱10,743
  • Priceline
  • Skyscanner.com
    ₱8,850
  • Expedia.com
    ₱10,743
0.5 km from The Vue Hotel, Ascend Hotel Collection
Free Wifi
Restaurant
₱7,214
  • Expedia.com
    ₱7,273
  • Agoda.com
    ₱6,101
  • Hotels.com
    ₱6,391
0.7 km from The Vue Hotel, Ascend Hotel Collection
Free Wifi
₱19,046
₱15,799
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    ₱15,800
  • Hotels.com
    ₱15,794
  • Hyatt.com
    ₱15,799
0.6 km from The Vue Hotel, Ascend Hotel Collection
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Vista LIC Hotel, Best Western Premier Collection
₱8,798
₱8,119
Fully refundable
  • Tripadvisor
    ₱8,120
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    ₱8,120
0.5 km from The Vue Hotel, Ascend Hotel Collection
Free Wifi
Restaurant
₱11,945
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    ₱11,224
  • Skyscanner.com
    ₱11,849
0.7 km from The Vue Hotel, Ascend Hotel Collection
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
₱7,640
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    ₱6,501
  • Skyscanner.com
    ₱6,659
1.1 km from The Vue Hotel, Ascend Hotel Collection
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Wyndham
    ₱9,287
  • Algotels
0.3 km from The Vue Hotel, Ascend Hotel Collection
Free Wifi
View more hotels in Long Island City
Reviews (111)
Filter reviews
111 results
Traveler rating
40
45
14
2
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
40
45
14
2
10
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 111 reviews
Reviewed November 19, 2019

Stayed here for one night, and was more than adequate. Bed was comfortable and room was clean. Subway station just around the corner so easy to get to, both from Manhattan and JFK. Breakfast was ok, as the breakfast room is pretty small for the size of the hotel. Decent range of cold choices, but only really 1 hot choice in addition to things like waffles. They were kind enough to store my luggage after check out before I needed to head to the airport, so I could squeeze in some last minute sightseeing.

The most frustrating thing was trying to lower the blackout blind in the room. It's an electric blind and there was no obvious buttons near the blind. It turns out it was a small white square panel by the bed that has very faint up and down arrows on it. I had to ask a passing housekeeper on how to operate it! Maybe put a sign or a note for guests on how to operate it.

Good amount of storage, with a nice bathroom including a shower with multiple jets, although most of the water ends up on the floor as a result, as the shower screen really isn't big enough. Would stay here again if I was in the area, and as the building is bright green you can't really miss it!

Date of stay: November 2019
2  Thank andrewmF9815IN
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Vue H, General Manager at The Vue Hotel, Ascend Hotel Collection, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2019

Dear Guest
Thank you so much for your feedback! We are delighted that you enjoyed the accommodations and amazing location! We certainly hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you once again, when you visit Newyork again to provide you with a superior Experience.
Sincerely,
General Manager
The Vue Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2019 via mobile

This is the second time we’ve stayed in Queens and have found it to be a great location with easy access to the subway and manhattan island.
This hotel was reasonably priced and in a good location.

First impressions were great, very clean hotel and we were able to get in to our room early which was helpful.
We had a room with a city view which was beautiful to see at night.
There is currently building work taking place next to the hotel which caused noise, this didn’t bother us but may bother some travellers, ear plugs might be worth taking if you’re a light sleeper.
Our room was compact but had everything we needed. It was beautifully presented also.
Our shower leaked slightly which wasn’t really an issue for us but could become an issue for the hotel in the long run. The cleaner took our bath mat and didn’t replace it so we had to use towels until we requested a replacement. We were told that they don’t usually replace the bath mat which I found strange as all other hotels I’ve stayed in will always replace them.

Breakfast was sufficient. Good choice and something for everyone.
The eating area only holds 24 people so be prepared to share tables with others at busy times.
This is not a bad thing as it’s nice to chat to other travellers but it may not be comfortable for everyone.

The only down side was the attention to detail by staff re-doing the room each day and the lack of customer service skills from staff. I think with a little training for the staff this will fine tune this promising hotel.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Vue H, General Manager at The Vue Hotel, Ascend Hotel Collection, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2019

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback from your stay. We are sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations and have addressed your comments with the housekeeping and guest services staff of the property. I am concerned to learn of what had occurred in relation to your stay and we will take action in remedying these issues.
Sincerely,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2019 via mobile

Following 2 nights in Manhattan, we found an affordable midweek option in Long Island City to extend our stay in NYC. Based on this hotel carrying a decent overall rating and the Ascend branding, we foolishly assumed that it would be a good option.
The good:
- location is brilliant, 2 minutes walk to Metro, within a short walk or Uber of several good restaurants;
- clean
- good black out blinds

The bad:
- a half shower screen that ensures there is water spillage with every shower;
- a terrible damp smell
- a single elevator servicing 10 floors
- appalling air quality
- air con that nukes the room when it is already warm and freezes the room when a window is opened to allow fresh air in

The ponderous:
- an unexpected nightly charge for a safe in the room (we booked direct but apparently this hotel thinks that it is acceptable to just take the charge unannounced after handing over credit card details)
- food containers in the hallways not removed for 3 days during stay
- a need to request replacement coffee pods FOUR TIMES before they were left in a plastic bag attached to the room door handle
- being told that a necessary repair to the automatic blinds has been attended to (when it plainly had not)

I hesitate at placing bad reviews, but this was so disappointing, here it is.

Would truly give a rating of negative 2 if possible. I hope this place can turn it around but there is some ground to be made up.

Made much worse by eating at and seeing a beautiful independent hotel close by and another chain hotel which we were unaware of. Either would have been wonderful.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank 217billye
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Vue H, General Manager at The Vue Hotel, Ascend Hotel Collection, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2019

Dear Guest,
On behalf of our team at The Vue Hotel , please accept my heartfelt apologies regarding your recent stay with us. We understand your frustrations and share them too. We have shared your review with our teams and are working to resolved these issues. Your feedback assist us in our mission to continuously improve our offerings and guest stratification, so we thank you for your time in reviewing our hotel. Thank you for staying at The Vue Hotel, we do hope you'll visit us once again. 
Sincerely,
General Manager
The Vue Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2019

A lot of thought and design went into "The Vue Hotel, an Ascend Collection" -- nicely designed rooms, cool interior layout and decor. But there's something missing. When you walk into the lobby, it feels cramped and messy, the welcome mat is clearly very dirty and hasn't been cleaned in ages. There are many spots on the walls in the lobby where the wallpaper is peeling or there are small dirty spots or little dents. The cleaning staff leaves bags of laundry in the hallways long after the cleaning shift is over.

It seems this is a case of a hotel that was built nicely but is not being maintained well. To keep a hotel at a certain level, you need to put some thought and care into the upkeep. Shampoo the rug in the lobby. Fix the wallpaper, take care of the walls.

This feels like a hotel that started out as a 4.5 stars but is going to steadily go downhill. I hope they can turn it around because the design of the hotel is quite nice, and at least the room I got was very clean. But the overall impression of the hotel from these other details is: not what it should be.

Date of stay: October 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mitsu H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Vue H, General Manager at The Vue Hotel, Ascend Hotel Collection, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2019

Dear Guest
We thank you for sharing your review with us. We would like to apologize for not meeting you expectations. As a team we consistently strive in providing our guests the best in comfort and cleanliness. We dearly regret to learn that this was not your impression. We will surely take your feedback into consideration. We want to ensure the comfort of our guests.
Sincerely,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2019

The room is so structured that everything has a space and a space for everything. The room was clean, the bed & pillows very comfortable and the staff, great. The space between the edge of the king size bed and the desk, two people could not pass through at the same time, but as I said, it is all compacted very well. You can use the breakfast room all day (we had 2 meetings there) - use of microwave, coffee & juice all day. Would def. stay again. And the train to the city is 1 block away. Parking is sparse. We were there for business and vacation. Long Island City is being built up so there is construction, but night is very quiet and the construction did not wake us up.

Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank riki42017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The Vue H, Guest Relations Manager at The Vue Hotel, Ascend Hotel Collection, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2019

Dear Riki,


Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Guest Relations
The Vue
929 208 0006

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews