We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop The Bus”
Review of Lake Placid Chocolatier - CLOSED

Lake Placid Chocolatier
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Artisan chocolates made in small batches using Belgian chocolate, the finest, freshest ingredients, and no preservatives. We offer a wide array of truffles, sea salt caramels, butter crunches, (including our infamous Tamarack Sea Salt Butter Crunch), barks, s'mores, homemade marshmallows, bars and other delight specialty confections. And we offer the best hot chocolate in town made with real dark Belgian chocolate and our own homemade marshmallows.
Reviewed 30 June 2016 via mobile

Wow the chocolate truffles are absolutely excellent. The chocolate used has no wax or paraffin the texture is a 10 out of 10 with that satiny smooth mouth feel. The flavored truffles are subtle they don't over whelm the chocolate another 10 out of 10. This is going to be a regular stop for us in the coming years.

Thank Zman1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate M, Owner at Lake Placid Chocolatier, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2016

We think our customers are "10's"! Thank you for the fabulous review--greatly appreciated .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (52)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Filter

7 - 11 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2016 via mobile

Some of the best chocolates we have ever had. Very beautiful and elegant truffles with some unique flavors. Great gifts. The owner is very friendly and hand makes all the delicious confections. Definitely a place to stop when visiting Lake Placid!

Thank Olidanid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate M, Owner at Lake Placid Chocolatier, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2016

Thanks you for the lovely, descriptive review. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback from our customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 June 2016

If you love chocolate (like I do) you haven't tasted chocolate until you stop here. Don't leave without trying the Tamarack Sea Salt Butter Crunch...buy two bags - it really is addictive. The truffles are equally delicious...we will definitely be regulars! The owner (and chocolatier) is delightful...engaging and very talented. Don't miss this little slice of heaven.

Thank michelenoyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate M, Owner at Lake Placid Chocolatier, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2016

Oh, my! I love that "little slice of heaven" reference. Thank you so much for the grand review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 June 2016 via mobile

The lady that owns it was awesome.. we had a great conversation.. and was awesome at giving advice about local establishments.. the chocolate was absolutely fabulous :)

Thank Jordon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate M, Owner at Lake Placid Chocolatier, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2016

Thank you for the "awesome" review--we try very hard to be awesome in everything we do, especially our customer service--we love our customers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2016

The best chocolates, bar none. Excpetional service by the chocomeister herself. The epitome of a "kid in a candy store." Gives the cliche a whole new meaning. They had to drag me out of there with a tow truck.

Thank cliff g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate M, Owner at Lake Placid Chocolatier, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2016

Wow...a "nonpariel" review! We work hard to give our customers exceptional service, beautiful packaging, a charmingly decorated shop, AND wonderfully devine chocolates. But all that is nothing without our fabulous customers! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Placid Chocolatier also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing