We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (302)
Filter reviews
302 results
Traveler rating
178
90
28
6
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
178
90
28
6
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshigh peaks resortcool hotelplay board gamesthe bar lounge areain townpaddle boatsdog friendly hotelmain streetlocation is greatalarm clockindoor and outdoor poolshouse keepinglodge feelshops and restaurantsprivate balconyadjoining roomsski lodge
Filter
Updating list...
107 - 112 of 302 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2016

I stayed here in July after staying elsewhere in town earlier in the month. This was a much better choice at about 40% of the cost. I had a view and small balcony that over looked the lake. The lobby is simple and invites people to hang out and gather in the great room. Staff was gracious and helpful. Breakfast snacks were simple and just laid out on the honor system - take it or leave it as you please. Compared to the price that I paid up the street for a run down and ragged place, this was a dream. Lake House isn't luxurious, but very appropriate for its setting in the mountains.

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view
  • Stayed: July 2016, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eliza1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighPeaksResort, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2016

Dear Elizabeth, 

Thank you for sharing your experience! It is wonderful to read your enjoyed your stay. I hope you'll join us again the next time you visit Lake Placid and enjoy the amenities and facilities offered at Lake House and our sister property High Peaks Resort! 

Warm Regards, 
Matthew 
General Manager 

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 September 2016

We chose to stay at Lake House after taking a day trip to Placid to look at hotels and we met Adam (with dark hair) when we came to the hotel to check out rooms. Adam showed us around and was very friendly & knowledgeable about the hotel and rooms. Adam also suggested a place to take a hike up the road. When we arrived on 09/02/16 our room was available earlier then normal check in time. We saw Adam and he was very welcoming. We also met "Cousin" Vinny and he was also very friendly and welcoming. They both made our much needed weekend away a little better. When we were getting ready to bring our bags to the car "Cousin" Vinny offered to help us and also asked my friend where I was and how I was doing. We are actually thinking about coming back because of the awesome hospitality of the staff at Lake House. The only complaint I had was the bathroom needed a fan and we were not aware of the fire pit rules! We enjoyed our chats with "Cousin" Vinny and Adam with the dark hair!!

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ppangburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighPeaksResort, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2016

Dear ppangburn, 

Thank you for sharing your experience! Our team is truly passionate about providing an excellent experience to our guests and I know they will love reading your kind words. 

I hope we'll have the opportunity to welcome you back soon! 

Warm Regards, 
Matthew 
General Manager 

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 August 2016

The Lake house had some pluses and minuses. First, it has been updated and the rooms looked good. The rooms had this retro vibe and nice color scheme. This hotel is part of the High Peeks Resort and also had a lot of amenities, because you get to use all three resorts when you stay at one of them. For instance, you had your choice of three pools, spas and a beautiful workout room at the main facility. Also, lake front amenities which included paddle boarding, kayaking and canoeing. The main building was beautiful and well appointed with an outside deck and restaurant that was very good. So what was wrong? First, the bathrooms were outdated and in need of obvious updating, but that in itself was not a problem. The problem was that bathrooms were not clean! There was hair behind the door and in the tub, and on the sconce over the light. Also, the pool and jacuzzi at the Lake House was very old and in need of remodeling. We brought this to the attention of the manager that was on duty at the Lake House, but it was being run by summer help, in my opinion they were not supervised properly. These were young college students hired for the summer probably on internships. I asked him to step into the office and explained what had occurred and he promptly thanked me and that was the end of the conversation. He did not ask if we wanted to have our rooms cleaned and did not offer to take anything off the bill, or offer any kind of compensation. In addition, the lake front amenities were poorly handled. We want to go paddle boarding but they had only two paddle boards and they could not be used because teens were on the boards for hours at a time. They had no system for handing out equipment and so it was first come first serve, even if you used them for half the day. When I said something to the girl at the lake side selling beverages, she said it was poorly run and that guests had stolen a couple of kayaks and several paddles. So in short, what should have been a 4-5 star stay ended up being a 2 star stay.

Room Tip: Get a room on the second or third floors so you have an unobstructed view of the lake.
  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kterry8600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighPeaksResort, Marketing Assistant at Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2016

Dear kterry8600,

Please allow me to apologize for your experience; we are disappointed to read to read that your visit is not in keeping with our standards.

Our General Manager, Matthew Wheeler, would like the opportunity to speak with you at your convenience and hopes you will contact him at High Peaks Resort.

Thank you for sharing your experience. We hope we will have an opportunity for a second impression!

Best Wishes,
Anne
Marketing Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

Stayed here with my boyfriend for a day trip to Lake Placid. We loved the Lake House! Quaint and friendly, warm and inviting, we would stay here again. We utilized the sister High Peaks Resort amenities, took a dip in the lake side pool and hit the indoor jacuzzi after. The Lake House definitely has more of a hipster feel to it, which we like. We arrived during happy hour and had a welcome drink on the house, which was a nice touch. But if you're looking for more of a resort feel, I'd stay across the street. Thanks Lake House!

Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Katypick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighPeaksResort, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2016

Dear Katypick, 

Thank you for sharing your experience! It is great to read you were able to use all of the amenities our properties provide and that you enjoyed your visit as much as we enjoyed hosting you. 

I hope we'll have the opportunity to welcome you and your boyfriend back! 

Warm Regards, 
Matthew 
General Manager 

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 August 2016

We loved it, so much so, we absolutely plan to stay here again. Great location, great style and a great staff that was very attentive. The Great Room was spacious and comfortable with great views of Mirror Lake. The property is right on the edge of town which made everything close, but still a little removed from crowds.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on second floor of Lake House. It's really the main floor, and the views from second floor balconies best on property.
  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nsidecolab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HighPeaksResort, General Manager at Lake House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2016

Dear nsideecolab, 

Thank you for sharing your experience! It was wonderful hosting you and we are thrilled to see we'll be welcoming you back soon! 

Warm Regards, 
Matthew 
General Manager 

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews